Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
Go

2004 Toyota Matrix

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 542 Ratings for the 2003 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

1 owner, low milage, dealer service documented

By on Friday, March 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "1 owner/driver. taken care of"

Cons: "a few minor dents & scratches"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"driving to work 2 miles away, pampered and serviced at dealership. Just passed smog(March 2015). Bought a new car, problem with parking space."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent car

By on Sunday, March 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"More than meets all my needs and very reliable, also very economical."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great commuter

By on Sunday, March 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Not a problem to report."

Cons: "slightly under powered with the AC on."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"bought it used from Toyota dealer with 54K miles on it. Now has 131K, and still feels like a new car. oil changes, air filters, tires, and a battery. that's all I've put into it. It's peppy, but surely not a powerhouse."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Saturday, March 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Safety,easy to manuever,fun car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best in winter. Cuts through the snow and handles so well. Good mileage and so much fun to drive. Good interior space."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This is a GREAT car!

By on Tuesday, March 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great car for manual driving experience"

Cons: "Haven't found any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my car for a little over a year and for a used car, I would certainly buy it again! It has been worth the cost!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Sunday, March 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good mileage, dependable, fair price"

Cons: "Original tires were shot after 25,000 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have 197000 on this car and until recently had only replaced front brakes and battery. I get around 30-32 mpg on combined city/highway driving. The cargo space is great, especially with the back seats being folded. Sorry to see they will stop importing to USA."

best car for the $ bar none

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "still getting 30 mpg 8 years later"

Cons: "a little road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought the car in 07 and have had 0 issues. Easy to Maintain, great MPGs, handles great"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

this car is very easy to drive for women

By on Friday, January 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very easy and fun to drive"

Cons: "I really dont have any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Women who want a nice looking car, this is the one, Very nice size, not too big or too small. and if you keep it serviced regularly it will run for years to come. A very dear friend told me once, If I take care of my car, my car will take care of me. And I found That to be a very true statement. Thanks KIM from Chicago"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Car Still Going Strong

By on Saturday, January 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 267,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfortable and reliable"

Cons: "Plastic exterior pieces that don't last"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this used in 2003 with 11,000 miles on it, and it now has over 267,000 miles on it and still runs great. I have had no problems with the engine or transmission, and the interior has held up very well. My only pet peeves were the cheap plastic bumper extensions on the front and back that served no purpose other than for looks, and which all fell off eventually. The only issue I have had on an ongoing basis has been the difficulty in maintaining properly balanced tires for some reason. If you don't stay on top of it aggressively you end up with terrible front end vibration that wears the tires out very rapidly. The interior was well thought out, and I especially like the circular heater vents which enable me to direct air anywhere I want easily. Also like the inclusion of the outside air thermometer in the dash so I can keep track of when roads are likely to be freezing over. For a small car, there is an amazing amount of space in the back with the seat folded down, and it has done a good job of carting kids to college and back with all their stuff!"

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Thought I'd love it but I only like it

By on Tuesday, December 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, easy to change from seats to cargo"

Cons: "not good on ice, instrument panel difficult to rea"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Dashboard instrument panel is difficult to read during the daylight. Does NOT do well on ice. Seats sit nice and high for good visibility. Love the cargo space it has. Nice that the hatch window opens for hauling. Cute car"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Glad to have owned one

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Roomy, handles well, seats fold flat in back"

Cons: "A little bit chintzy and plastic interior-wise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car was used for my delivery job. The flat seat fold-down feature was the initial selling point, but I quickly appreciated its handling after the first drive on a country road. I passed it on to my kids, and if the the little swine had not let it run dry of oil, they'd probably still be driving it today!"

12 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Great car for the money

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Unfortunately this model is no longer manufactured"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car but did have trouble with the front skirting. It came loose three times. Once with no apparent reason, once after being backed into fairly lightly and once after hitting a bump in the road. Two of the three times portions of it needed to be replaced costing a total of $500 ($250 each time). Otherwise no real problems that were not covered by warranty."

14 people out of 19 found this review helpful

It's just a Corolla Wagon

By on Saturday, November 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, Great Gas Mileage, lots of room"

Cons: "None really"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Meaning, it is a very reliable car. I get 34mpg even with the Automatic. Plenty of room. My only gripe was when I put Studded Snow tires on. I just didn't trust it. Solved that by going to the Studless Alternative Snow tire, Toyo Observe. Problem solved. I hope it lasts the 18 years like the last Corolla Wagon I had."

11 people out of 18 found this review helpful

I will never give up this car!

By on Saturday, October 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great car!"

Cons: "They changed the design in newer models,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased this car about 6 years ago when it was 4 years old. Mechanically I haven't had a day of trouble. I've done routine work, brakes, tires, oil change, but nothing significant. Fortunately, I've only used the car locally, so it is only at 60k, which no doubt contributes to it's longevity. This Matrix is easy to drive, always peppy, maneuvers very nicely. One outstanding feature is the rear storage. Back seats fold either together or individually to create an even larger area for putting things. I can not stress enough just how much storage this car has. FYI even the front passenger seat folds down, which sure makes carrying that Christmas tree a breeze. There is NOTHING that I do not love about this 2004 Toyota Matrix. If all goes well, I plan to keep this one for ever."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Saturday, October 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great car, fun to drive, quick enough, functional."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car, very reliable!!

By on Friday, October 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 271,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "lots of cargo room, fun car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have almost 275,000 miles on my car, still runs perfectly, no oil usage. I did put synthetic oil from day purchased, but this is truly a fun, reliable car. You can haul furniture in it when seats down, zip around having fun ( I have the 5 speed manual). Still gets GREAT gas mileage even with all these miles. Truly recommend car!"

10 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been super reliable. I have had it for 7 years, bought it used with 50,000 miles on it, and it now has 110,000. The only things it's ever been in the shop for were the scheduled maintenance and new brake pads (once). I plan to keep it running for another 100,000"

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great concept; sorry to see production end.

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Plusses: Ease of entry/exit, chair-like seating, front and rear leg room, fold-flat rear seat, huge cargo volume, bullet-proof body and powertrain, good fuel economy, timeless styling; very durable paint job. Minuses: Loose heat and splash shields (noisy, annoying, expensive); carpeting and upholstery not thrilling; vision to rear and rear quarters limited. Verdict: Highly recommend to anyone; a shame TMMC halted production in favor of Corolla sedan."

Awesome Car

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great seats, super reliable, hauls tons of stuff"

Cons: "The paint job is terrible, gets weird stains"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. It drives well, has held up really well, and can fit tons of stuff in the back with the seats down. The seats are really comfortable and are great for long trips, and the speakers are wonderful. The paint job is pretty bad, but the rest of the car is so great that I almost don't care."

Most versitile car owned to date.

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Versatility, decent gas mileage, good head room."

Cons: "Outside cabin noise, no backseat vents."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car brand new in November 2002. It has served me well these past 12 years. It has taken me on several road trips and lugged home plenty of medium to large furniture pieces, lumber, and plenty of messy gardening materials. I love the fact that when the back seats are folded down they are completely flat - same for the front passenger seat (no slight incline) and the backs are covered in durable plastic making dirt and potting soil easy to clean up. However, due to having a child with a bad case of motion sickness that he will not outgrow, I now need a car with air vents dedicated for the backseat. I can also say that I traded in a 1999 Monte Carlo for this car because the Monte Carlo's seats made my lower back hurt and I needed a 4 door car. I have never ever had that problem with the seats in the Matrix. My son is now 4 years old and it accomodated the rear facing infant seat and the next size up in rear facing baby seats just fine. The suspension is a bit hard when on a bumpy road, but that comes with the territory for small cars like this. I still get compliments on it as I went with the dark blue Toyota called at that time "Indigo Ink Blue". Wish they still had that color on their current vehicle line up. It's going to be hard to let it go, but we cannot keep more than 2 cars."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car. I bought it used and have ran this car all over the country. Not one single problem, ever. I love the great gas milage it gets, the comfort, and the room it allows. I recommend this car for anyone."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very reliable vehicle

By on Sunday, August 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 275,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Parts are not expensive"

Cons: "Interior stereo buttons,not the best but they work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car...one of toyotas best vehicles build in that year, toy try to buy back this auto from me at least twice,,,,,30mpg city and 40mpg hwy not bad for a 2004"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

i love this car I have Driv it for the past 8 yr

By on Friday, August 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive but as toyotas go high priced"

Cons: "Too light to drive in wi ter without snow tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love almost everything about this car. Except the drive in the winter, it is too light and seems to get stuck in very little snow. Perhaps snow ties would work, but hubby doesn't want to bother changing tires every winter"

Reliable, great cargo space

By on Thursday, July 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, great cargo space"

Cons: "Ugly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"This car has been great for 114,000 miles so far. It hardly ever needs repair. I bought it because of the versatile cargo space, and it has worked out fine for carrying musical instruments and kayaking gear. The interior is well thought out with rings for attaching straps or bungie cords, seats that fold flat and a front seat whose back folds forward. We can carry an 8-ft. ladder without even leaving the hatchback open. The only downside is that the car is ugly. Later models left off the "whiskers." Sorry to see the Matrix go."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Loved this car.

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Wife could not drive a manual.

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Pros. Gas mileage. 30-35. Never got less than 27 mpg even when I drove it with my foot to the floor constantly. Fun to drive! Always had a blast. And if need be, this thing could go anywhere and do anything. Comfort. Never got uncomfortable on those long drives. Quiet. Quiet inside and out. Not a lot of engine noise or wind noise. Stero. Speakers were great, easy controls. Durable. Everything was durable about this car. nothing ever broke. Price. Car was dirt cheap and great value for money. Cons. Not enough power. Could have used another 20hp for passing. Gearbox. Also could have used a sixth gear. Ran 3000 rpm on the highway. But with a 1.8 it didn't use a lot of gas at that rpm anyway."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Matrix near Honolulu. See local deals