Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
Go

2004 Toyota Matrix

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 542 Ratings for the 2003 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 55 | Next

1 owner, low milage, dealer service documented

By on Friday, March 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "1 owner/driver. taken care of"

Cons: "a few minor dents & scratches"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"driving to work 2 miles away, pampered and serviced at dealership. Just passed smog(March 2015). Bought a new car, problem with parking space."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellent car

By on Sunday, March 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"More than meets all my needs and very reliable, also very economical."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great commuter

By on Sunday, March 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Not a problem to report."

Cons: "slightly under powered with the AC on."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"bought it used from Toyota dealer with 54K miles on it. Now has 131K, and still feels like a new car. oil changes, air filters, tires, and a battery. that's all I've put into it. It's peppy, but surely not a powerhouse."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Saturday, March 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Safety,easy to manuever,fun car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best in winter. Cuts through the snow and handles so well. Good mileage and so much fun to drive. Good interior space."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This is a GREAT car!

By on Tuesday, March 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great car for manual driving experience"

Cons: "Haven't found any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my car for a little over a year and for a used car, I would certainly buy it again! It has been worth the cost!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Sunday, March 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good mileage, dependable, fair price"

Cons: "Original tires were shot after 25,000 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have 197000 on this car and until recently had only replaced front brakes and battery. I get around 30-32 mpg on combined city/highway driving. The cargo space is great, especially with the back seats being folded. Sorry to see they will stop importing to USA."

best car for the $ bar none

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "still getting 30 mpg 8 years later"

Cons: "a little road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought the car in 07 and have had 0 issues. Easy to Maintain, great MPGs, handles great"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

this car is very easy to drive for women

By on Friday, January 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very easy and fun to drive"

Cons: "I really dont have any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Women who want a nice looking car, this is the one, Very nice size, not too big or too small. and if you keep it serviced regularly it will run for years to come. A very dear friend told me once, If I take care of my car, my car will take care of me. And I found That to be a very true statement. Thanks KIM from Chicago"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Car Still Going Strong

By on Saturday, January 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 267,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfortable and reliable"

Cons: "Plastic exterior pieces that don't last"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this used in 2003 with 11,000 miles on it, and it now has over 267,000 miles on it and still runs great. I have had no problems with the engine or transmission, and the interior has held up very well. My only pet peeves were the cheap plastic bumper extensions on the front and back that served no purpose other than for looks, and which all fell off eventually. The only issue I have had on an ongoing basis has been the difficulty in maintaining properly balanced tires for some reason. If you don't stay on top of it aggressively you end up with terrible front end vibration that wears the tires out very rapidly. The interior was well thought out, and I especially like the circular heater vents which enable me to direct air anywhere I want easily. Also like the inclusion of the outside air thermometer in the dash so I can keep track of when roads are likely to be freezing over. For a small car, there is an amazing amount of space in the back with the seat folded down, and it has done a good job of carting kids to college and back with all their stuff!"

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Thought I'd love it but I only like it

By on Tuesday, December 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, easy to change from seats to cargo"

Cons: "not good on ice, instrument panel difficult to rea"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Dashboard instrument panel is difficult to read during the daylight. Does NOT do well on ice. Seats sit nice and high for good visibility. Love the cargo space it has. Nice that the hatch window opens for hauling. Cute car"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 55 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Matrix near Honolulu. See local deals