Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2006 Toyota Land Cruiser

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.6
Out of 10

Based on 185 Ratings for the 1998 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.7/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Toughest and most reliable vehicle on the road.

By on Saturday, March 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ultra reliable. Rock solid. Great residual value"

Cons: "Gas mileage, acceleration, handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this Land Cruiser new. It was my second one. 15 years and 130000 miles later, it still drives like new. I have had to spend less than $1000 in unscheduled repairs in 15 years. It is bog slow and gets terrible gas mileage, but is virtually bullet-proof, and goes anywhere I need to go in any weather."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best SUV ever made

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "top of the line"

Cons: "gas mileage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"top of the line"

Love my Land Cruiser!

By on Tuesday, February 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Such a well mannered beast! Never let me down, always drove steady and true."

Excellent Investment!

By on Saturday, February 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,368

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Luxurious, durable, reliable, ahead of it's time"

Cons: "Thinking, thinking, thinking…Nope can't find any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I know, a car is not generally perceived as an "investment" but this vehicle breaks the rules. Yes, it was pricey at the outset but its comfort, durability, reliability and ability to remain current even after 10 years make it a standout! I haven't seen any features on the newer vehicles that make me feel outdated, I have navigation, a rearview camera and plenty of luxury! Nice, smooth drive, easy handling and I can cover any terrain without fear. That is why I call it the LandCrusher!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, comfortable, roomy and safe vehicle."

Cons: "gas mileage, but thats a given."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this vehicle for almost a year; purchased it used with less than 90k miles. Ive tried to recondition it back to stock condition; new shocks, leather conditioner, all tuneups and factory maintenance. It is a comfortable truck to drive and gives you a feeling of safety due to its size. Gas mileage is poor, but I was expecting that. It is a reliable vehicle and inspires confidence in inclement weather. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone who is looking for an outstanding SUV that will keep you safe on the road and provide all the four-wheeling capability you could ask for."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great vehicle. The best that I've owned

By on Wednesday, February 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"See above"

Very few problems mainly maintenance, blind spot

By on Wednesday, December 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Loved driving this for, style, comfort, excellent reliability"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

the best

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 274,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great vehicle"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever!

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride after 11 years. Safe and secure."

Cons: "Price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love, love, love my Land Cruiser.I'm 5'2" and don't have a family so I mostly drive by myself, even though there is space for 7. Don't care, I feel safe and secure, here in Northern Michigan where everyone drives a truck or SUV and the deer are everywhere. I know this will likely be my last of 5 Land Cruisers, getting pretty pricey, even for this great vehicle, so I am thinking of a trade in but would like to drive it until it dies, maybe another 100,000 miles or so!!!!!"

14 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Toyota Landcruiser, No Challenger!!!!!!

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive the King of the road"

Cons: "Yet to discover any Cons."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Like a RELIABLE and LOVING wife, so is the Toyota Landcruiser. I have just bought the 2006 TOYOTA lANDCRUISER with 164,000 miles and it drives like new; fully loaded, always ready to go no matter the weather."

12 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Great vehicle, luxurious and tough! Nice!

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "smooth, versatile, stylish"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great vehicle, it looks, drives and feels like a luxury vehicle but it can be used to carry your home improvement and gardening stuff, your camping or road trip necessities, or whatever! I love the additional two seats available in the back, not usually needed but handy when you want to carry up to 7 passengers - say for a mountain trip, snowboards etc. conveniently on the roof rack. This is an amazing vehicle, I call it the Land Crusher!"

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

The Best

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable and Smooth"

Cons: "Expensive, but worth it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Land Cruiser is one of the finest cars I have ever owned. It has never failed me and there have only been normal repairs required. Going on a trip is a joy - this car just owns the road."

8 people out of 16 found this review helpful

BEST CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED!

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives smooth, great 4x4, comfortable, powerful"

Cons: "big engine drinks gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned Ford Trucks, Jeep CJ's and my Cruiser is head and shoulders above in getting around in snow and ice. The ride is butter smooth and comfortable. I have also shopped around and can find nothing that feels and drives as nice as the Landcruiser. Hands down one of the best cars ever made."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

BEST CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED!

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives smooth, great 4x4, comfortable, powerful"

Cons: "big engine drinks gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned Ford Trucks, Jeep CJ's and my Cruiser is head and shoulders above in getting around in snow and ice. The ride is butter smooth and comfortable. I have also shopped around and can find nothing that feels and drives as nice as the Landcruiser. Hands down one of the best cars ever made."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This is the most outstanding car I have ever owned

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, powerful,comfortable, comfortable ride."

Cons: "Not easy on gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best car I have ever owned and I have bought and owned 12 new cars over the years. The Land Cruiser does everything it was designed to do and it does it beautifully. Outstanding RELIABILITY in all it does. I can't speak more highly about this vehicle. My wife also has one and hers has 140000 miles on it. Mine has 130000 miles. Neither car has ever broken down ( we follow the book on maintenance) and have been rewarded with excellent service from the vehicles. They are not however, gas easy. We average 13-15 miles per gallon of regular grade gas. I would purchase this car again if and when it wears out, but it doesn't seem that it will happen any time soon. I will purchase it's big brother the Lexus LX as my next car (built on the same frame as Land Cruiser). My final words are, RELIABLE, RELIABLE, RELIABLE..and it maintains its value."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle for Family on or off road

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "priced to move"

Cons: "no cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Fleet car mainly used intrastate for 150,000 miles rarely used in 4 wheel drive. a solidly built vehicle."

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Had since new and have found it to be OUTSTANDING

By on Saturday, January 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "RELIABLE, does what it is built to do, comfortable"

Cons: "Low gas mileage, not cheap"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own this SUV since new in 2004 and I have been impressed with it throughout my ownership. It does everything it is designed to do in excellent fashion. It has not broken down in all 130000 miles and is still going strong. I follow the factory book to the letter and the truck pays you back with reliability and power. It is fast off the line and in getting into fast moving traffic. It is comfortable and well appointed inside and out. It gets only 13 MPG but takes regular gas. I took the way back third row seats out of the truck when I first got it to make more room for hauling things for my boat and there is lots of room with the area clear in the back. I an going to purchase another one or it's big sister Lexus LX next. I love this SUV."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

TOUGH AND DEPENDABLE

By on Tuesday, December 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,086

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth, quiet, great off road, dependable, tough!"

Cons: "Nothing will stop it except a gas station."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was on a highway doing about 65 mph. A truck in front of me had an engine block fall out of it and I had nowhere to go except right over top of it. It shot my cruiser over 1 foot into the air and all that it did is put a small hole in my oil pan. Alignment was still perfect. If I would have been in almost any other vehicle, It would be totaled. I love my cruiser!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Hands down, the most comfortable ride ever

By on Monday, December 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, mass, safety, quiet."

Cons: "Consumes gas readily....16 to 17 mph on freeway."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought our Toyota Land Cruiser New and have loved it ever since. With 8 cylinders, it is a bit of a gas pig so we no longer use it daily, but are reluctant to let go of such a wonderful ride. It has been great for hauling kids to sporting events. The leather seats are wonderful for seating 5 people comfortably; the far rear seat is good for up to 3 young folk - too small for true adult comfort, but good when you have a crowd."

Must own one if you want a true SUV

By on Sunday, October 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable/dependable/fun to drive/safe/looks good"

Cons: "Guzzles gas, but then again it is a 4X4"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle rocks! The reason you don't see too many is because most people settle for less. Sure, it carries a hefty price tag, but I bought it ten years old as the third owner. This vehicle is one awesome ride. With seating for up to eight, I shuttle around my family of six, plus a friend or two. Gas is a bit costly, but worth it. The ride is actually pretty smooth, considering it delivers true 4X4 utility. Once when I was driving up by Canada, I was going a bit faster than I should have been on the highway. The roads were icy and it was snowing lightly, and I nearly lost control when the computer's traction control kicked in. I immediately thanked God for giving the Toyota engineers the insight and ability to create remarkably wonderful cars. The 4X4 ability is excellent. This car has been helpful in helping me build life-lasting memories with my family. It is amazing! A zombie-apocalypse vehicle for sure. The only complaint I have that I wish Toyota would address is that the Toyota Land Cruiser costs nearly as much as the Lexus equivalent. These cars are so awesome that I wish they would be more affordable. I wish the Toyota Land Cruisers would cost about $25K less than the Lexus version, but really they only differ by about $10K. More people should experience this ride!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sweet rig

By on Wednesday, October 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "all"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"180,000 one starter, 2 o2 sensors, inner tie rods, and brakes pads. used off road, towing, and as a camper GREAT vehicle. K&N Cone and 40 series Flowmaster."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love my Landcruiser

By on Friday, September 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, interior size, elegant interior style"

Cons: "Can only think of one, wish for better gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is one quality vehicle, of all the cars I have owned this is my favorite. And I have had a Lexus, Infiniti, Mercedes, Corvette, Explorer and Jeep Gran Waggoner. In 8 years I have not had one problem, only new tires and brakes and of course oil changes. I plan on putting another 100,000 miles on it. Love my Landcruiser!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I ever bought

By on Saturday, August 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Quality and reliability"

Cons: "A little Pricy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Almost 10 years old and drives like new. No repairs, only normal service work including oil changes and tires. Would buy the Land Cruiser again only don't know when the current one will ever need replacing."

Simply said this vehicle is still relevant today

By on Tuesday, July 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality that lasts and styling still relevant"

Cons: "It is a large vehicle that consumes gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the original owner of the 2001 LC and was so impressed with its quality when first introduced that I paid cash for it which I have never done with new vehicles. But here I am in 2013 talking to this community about it. There is no substitute for a complete style and engineering design. The vehicle looks still contemporary today, the more weight you ask it to carry actually improves handling, and my wife has refused offers of new car replacements as she is the principal driver. Reliability is exceptional based on running synthetic Mobile oil, hi test gas, and keeping the air cleaner in good condition. Basically it has had no other issues of maintenance....ever. If I had to by my car today even with $168K miles on it is a good value."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

What A Beast

By on Tuesday, July 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Durable, reliable and comfortable"

Cons: "Still looking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Been Great. Cruising all over the country again for family trips this Summer. Black in color, sharp with style, .... Only one out there I've seen in awhile. We are a rare breed my friends! Average gas mileage sits at 17.4 on Hwy. Recommend change of the carbs throttle body and pcv value, air filter and tire pressure helps with MPG. Keep up with scheduled maintenance, tire rotation (Michelin Latitude Tour HP) and oil changes every 5,000. Brakes every 2-3 years. Its expected, heavy vehicle and I brake hard and for deer, bear and goats when in high country."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Land Cruiser near Honolulu. See local deals