Go

2004 Toyota Land Cruiser

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.6
Out of 10

Based on 192 Ratings for the 1998 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.7/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next

Most reliable vehicle ever, bulletproof.

By on Tuesday, January 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliability"

Cons: "It's big."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck will always get your family home, no matter what the conditions. I just do the scheduled maintenance and it keeps going."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This is, by far, the best car that I have own!

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 221,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "durability, dependable, major problem-free for 12y"

Cons: "maint is pricey, but worth it!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It has held up under the constant wear and tear of FOUR boys, 3 huge dogs and many, many trips back and forth to sporting events and school."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Incredible long-term value holder

By on Tuesday, October 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, safety, foul weather performance"

Cons: "no speed demon, size, height in public garages"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just hit 250,000 miles on my 2002. Reliability is beyond believed possible. Nothing but routine maintenance. Truck feels as tight as new. Continually approached to sell vehicle. NOT happening."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Will never buy any other vehicle! The best.

By on Wednesday, August 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Tow, drive anywhere, haul 8 people, comfy, sturdy."

Cons: "Average 14mpg at $4/gal, not fun but pays in other ways."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my fourth Land Cruiser in 25 years. I have put upwards of 380k miles on one before. Simply the best vehicles on the planet (literally)."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

It's a Land Cruiser...'nough said

By on Thursday, July 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned my 2000 Land Cruiser for 9 years and still love it. Drives great, very reliable and a quality car. My mechanic said to expect 350,000 miles from it. I'm at 170,000, so about half way. Highly recommended!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Saved my life

By on Wednesday, May 18, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I was cut off by a driver at high speed and rolled 3 times. There was an ambulance following me that saw the whole accident. They said they all wanted a car like mine. It did exactly what it was supposed to do. The side airbags all deployed. The front airbags did not. The roll bar protected me. I walked away with a broken arm. Thank you for all the safety features that actually work."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This car is part of me

By on Thursday, July 15, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"My father first purchased this car as his gift for himself in December 1999. I was 8 years old when we got it. This car has taken my family everywhere and still drives perfectly. I'm now 19 and can proudly say I'm driving my 2000 Land Cruiser that has been a huge part of my life. When I drive this thing I feel like I have the road at my fingertips the car is extreemly reliable, very smoothe, and like any other Toyota it has held its quality since we first purchased it. I don't think we've ever once changed the speakers and they still work perfectly. It is also huge so I always feel safe in it. I swear it feels like this car will never die. Overall this car is GREAT I'd highly recomend it to anyone who is trying to raise a family as it holds 7 passengers (not including the driver) and is very spacious, however I would not recommend this car to anyone who wants to use this car for themselves as it is a gas eater. I know I said it before but I LOVE MY 2000 TOYOTA LANDCRUISER"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best off road vehicle, bar none

By on Monday, May 31, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"If you live off dirt roads, and need to negotiate steep hills, muddy conditions, large ruts, but still want a comfortable ride, this is the car for you. Our LC everyday goes on about 4 miles each way of deeply rutted, steep dirt roads, crossing a creek, and by far of all the other off road vehicles we have tried, it will go when others can't, go faster, and in considerably more comfort. My husband has had a few 4Runners, still has a 2008 4R, and it feels like you are in a wheelbarrow on that road. By contrast my LC just flies on that road, never skids or loses power on the uphill, and smoothes out the bumps. I love it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The best vehicle on the road!

By on Thursday, March 18, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I am the proud owner of two.If you can stomach the gas consumption,this is the best all-around vehicle on the road. I much prefer the Lexus version. Toyota,reliable is extremely evident in the LC.."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Solid and Reliable

By on Friday, November 27, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned this vehical with 3 kids and 2 dogs so it has been through a lot. I absolutely love the way it handles. Perfectly after 140K. My husband has a new Tahoe and the quality isnt even comparable. After all of these years it still has a smooth ride and is easy to manuver. The only problem I have had is that the bearing in the fan belt broke and subsequently it broke the serpentine belt. This is the only major repair I have had to make. It is smaller than the other full size SUVs but this has never been a problem for me. Personally I like the older body style(95to 98?) better so i game styling 4 stars. I love the Landcruiser! Well made, reliable and totally non pretentious."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Large, Safe and Quality

By on Thursday, October 1, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great car, ours is 2002 and just went over 100k. Nothing besides normal wear has been wrong with it. it drives pretty much like i bought it, maybe more rattles as things got loose over the years. but great highway driving, it loves cruise control in the 80s. we have traveled from Boston as far as Florida and Indiana and never felt unsafe in it. Highly recommended if you need a big vehicle abd you want to cruise the highways!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great All-around

By on Sunday, January 18, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"My 4th Cruiser & this is the best yet. Have had no problems but a cracked windshield. Fuel economy is @12 mi/gal in town & should be much better. But it's great on the road & has been used extensively off-road. Goes through anything & everything. Good nav system."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, January 12, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"have 170k miles on my 2000 landcruiser and only had it in the shop once for something minor, other than routine check ups!!! Great vehicle.. could run to 300k miles and still be wonderful! Im a 20 year old female, had this car since i turned 16 and LOVE IT and i feel very very safe in it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I WANT TO BE BURIED IN THIS VEHICLE!

By on Thursday, January 1, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Best SUV in the world! Extremely reliable and very good looking! I did have some minor electrical problems including booth front door woofers blowing out."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome SUV

By on Sunday, January 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Own a '99 Landcruiser from new. Never once had a problem with it. Comfortable, reliable, spacious and will go virtually anywhere. Highest recommendation!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Want another one

By on Friday, January 4, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This absolutely the most reliable vehicle we have owned. Definitely worth every dollar we've ever spent for it and we would buy another one-but probably won't need to!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

'05 Land Cruiser - FANTASTIC for family

By on Thursday, November 1, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Pros - Great for towing, comfortable for highway and local travel, better gas mileage than expected (14.8 mpg around town with lots of stop and go), fits lots of cargo, good handling, nice backup camera. Cons - 3rd row seat only for children, navi functions limited while driving unless you put in the override every time."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle we have owned so far!

By on Tuesday, September 4, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"We purchased our Cruiser with 36,000 miles on it but it looked and drove like new. We have had it for over two years (it's a 2002) and it still looks and drives the same. The only thing we changed was the fuel pump and we're not sure why it went. The dealer and other mechanics I know said that it's not at all typical of these vehicles. We love the quiet drive and amazing interior as well as the ruggedness when needed. We have had to haul a trailer and it was not at all a problem. It's not great on gas but it's right around the same as all of the other large SUV's so we deal with it. We currently have 68,000 miles on it but I know it would go another 100 K without any issues. We love it, love it, love it!!!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

the best

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 274,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great vehicle"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love my Landcruiser

By on Friday, September 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, interior size, elegant interior style"

Cons: "Can only think of one, wish for better gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is one quality vehicle, of all the cars I have owned this is my favorite. And I have had a Lexus, Infiniti, Mercedes, Corvette, Explorer and Jeep Gran Waggoner. In 8 years I have not had one problem, only new tires and brakes and of course oil changes. I plan on putting another 100,000 miles on it. Love my Landcruiser!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

What A Beast

By on Tuesday, July 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Durable, reliable and comfortable"

Cons: "Still looking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Been Great. Cruising all over the country again for family trips this Summer. Black in color, sharp with style, .... Only one out there I've seen in awhile. We are a rare breed my friends! Average gas mileage sits at 17.4 on Hwy. Recommend change of the carbs throttle body and pcv value, air filter and tire pressure helps with MPG. Keep up with scheduled maintenance, tire rotation (Michelin Latitude Tour HP) and oil changes every 5,000. Brakes every 2-3 years. Its expected, heavy vehicle and I brake hard and for deer, bear and goats when in high country."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best truck on the road

By on Sunday, January 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Just a great car, the best SUV on the road"

Cons: "Gas mileage and pricey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"5/5"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Our 4th Land Cruiser and not our last

By on Monday, November 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, great in the snow."

Cons: "Radio reception, cost of tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"These vehicles are incredible. It's got plenty of room for our family of 5, drives great - not like a truck - yet is great in the snow and has a great sense of safety and comfort. The 3rd row seat is actually usable with room left behind it for more storage for trips. I've towed a 21' trailer with it as well as other smaller things in tow and it handles it very well. Very reliable and durable. Once you own one you'll never want to switch to another SUV."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Toyota Perfection

By on Saturday, November 5, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable reliable reliable."

Cons: "Mileage, but knew that coming in."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bullet proof and amazing. Only "con" is that it's full time all wheel drive on a 3/4 ton chassis. Brings the mileage down, but I knew that coming in. I love this vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best SUV Ever.

By on Thursday, October 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great vehicle. Highly reliable."

Cons: "Not good on gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this SUV. It is actually my second Land Cruiser. I also had a 2001 Land Cruiser. Both Land Cruisers were very, very reliable. Gas mileage isn't great, but after all it's a V8. I have not had a bit of trouble out of this vehicle. Through snow and inclement weather, I can always make it to work. It has never let me down. It starts without question. People have asked me to sell it. Not going to happen. You can't go wrong with this one. Well worth the money."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Land Cruiser near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement