Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2002 Toyota Land Cruiser

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.6
Out of 10

Based on 187 Ratings for the 1998 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.7/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next

Outstanding Product

By on Thursday, August 06, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The Landcruiser is in a class by itself. Expensive initially, but it will last years and years. The quality, reliability, and comfort is unmatched. I have 84,000 on my 2000 model and it still drives and performs like new. Have only performed routine maintenance, replaced one brake caliper, and a rear A/C line."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

One Hecka of an Automobile!

By on Monday, July 13, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"You just can't beat the ride and dependability. Outstanding for road trips when comfort is a must. If you drive the car resonably you can get decent mileage. I average around 18mpg. Want to feel safe? step into a Land Cruiser."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

LandCruiser

By on Monday, May 04, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have nothing but good to say about this vehicle. The value holds well over time, the components are all quality. With preventive maintenance I feel this vehicle will last another 7-10 years and it's already 9 years old. I have kept all of the interior clean and treated (leather), it's close to new! Got it smogged the other day they were blown away by the age of the vehicle. If it is within your budget, it is money well spent."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

grrrreat

By on Wednesday, December 10, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"super reliability. goes anywhere, indestructible. Better milage than my SR5, could use a better stoage strap for the 3d row seats as they tend to come loose letting the seats flop."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

top of the heap

By on Sunday, January 20, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My third Land Cruiser - FJ40/80/100 ('98); I won't own anything but the Cruiser because it's proven itself to me time and again. Anybody can build an off-road 4x4, but to make it extremely reliable and relatively fuel-efficient (15 MPG w/full-time 4WD @ 6500lbs.) is a major benifit. But best of all, it's a daily-driver vehicle that can take you out on the town w/pride. I absolutely love my Land Cruiser; I've very unhappy with the 2008 redesign, which means I'm keeping the '99 for another 10 years and 200,000 more miles."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

TLC Would drive nothing else

By on Monday, January 07, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Best vehicle on the road - my '98 model looks nicer and drives better than most new garbage out there. I've owned 6 Land Cruisers and would drive no other. Safe, reliable, take it anywhere - literally, anywhere you want."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Monday, December 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"WITH 132K STILL RIDES LIKE A NEW ONE"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

BEST SUV EVER

By on Tuesday, October 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"MY WIFE HAS A LEXUS AND WOULD RATHER DRIVE MY LAND CRUISER.PLAN ON KEEPING IT FOREEVER OR TILL I CAN AFFORD ANOTHER ONE.BEST CAR I HAVE EVER BEEN IN"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

7 years, one part replaced

By on Monday, September 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Have had this car 7 1/2 years and driven 150,000 miles. The ONLY replaced part has been a water pump at 100,000 miles. Will be handing it over to my son in a year and I already dread it. LOVE this car. I wanted reliable and I got it. Drives like new and still looks great. It was worth every penny."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

225,000 miles still as good as the day I bought it

By on Thursday, June 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability and safety"

Cons: "Gas consumption"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"225,000 miles still as good as the day I bought it. These cars are absolutely amazing they are so reliable they cost a fortune initially but they earn their keep! Amazing in the snow amazing in every single way this is my favorite car I want to be buried in it"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Must own one if you want a true SUV

By on Sunday, October 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable/dependable/fun to drive/safe/looks good"

Cons: "Guzzles gas, but then again it is a 4X4"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle rocks! The reason you don't see too many is because most people settle for less. Sure, it carries a hefty price tag, but I bought it ten years old as the third owner. This vehicle is one awesome ride. With seating for up to eight, I shuttle around my family of six, plus a friend or two. Gas is a bit costly, but worth it. The ride is actually pretty smooth, considering it delivers true 4X4 utility. Once when I was driving up by Canada, I was going a bit faster than I should have been on the highway. The roads were icy and it was snowing lightly, and I nearly lost control when the computer's traction control kicked in. I immediately thanked God for giving the Toyota engineers the insight and ability to create remarkably wonderful cars. The 4X4 ability is excellent. This car has been helpful in helping me build life-lasting memories with my family. It is amazing! A zombie-apocalypse vehicle for sure. The only complaint I have that I wish Toyota would address is that the Toyota Land Cruiser costs nearly as much as the Lexus equivalent. These cars are so awesome that I wish they would be more affordable. I wish the Toyota Land Cruisers would cost about $25K less than the Lexus version, but really they only differ by about $10K. More people should experience this ride!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Most reliable vehicle ever, bulletproof.

By on Tuesday, January 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliability"

Cons: "It's big."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck will always get your family home, no matter what the conditions. I just do the scheduled maintenance and it keeps going."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This is, by far, the best car that I have own!

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 221,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "durability, dependable, major problem-free for 12y"

Cons: "maint is pricey, but worth it!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It has held up under the constant wear and tear of FOUR boys, 3 huge dogs and many, many trips back and forth to sporting events and school."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Incredible long-term value holder

By on Tuesday, October 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, safety, foul weather performance"

Cons: "no speed demon, size, height in public garages"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just hit 250,000 miles on my 2002. Reliability is beyond believed possible. Nothing but routine maintenance. Truck feels as tight as new. Continually approached to sell vehicle. NOT happening."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Will never buy any other vehicle! The best.

By on Wednesday, August 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Tow, drive anywhere, haul 8 people, comfy, sturdy."

Cons: "Average 14mpg at $4/gal, not fun but pays in other ways."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my fourth Land Cruiser in 25 years. I have put upwards of 380k miles on one before. Simply the best vehicles on the planet (literally)."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

It's a Land Cruiser...'nough said

By on Thursday, July 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned my 2000 Land Cruiser for 9 years and still love it. Drives great, very reliable and a quality car. My mechanic said to expect 350,000 miles from it. I'm at 170,000, so about half way. Highly recommended!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Saved my life

By on Wednesday, May 18, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I was cut off by a driver at high speed and rolled 3 times. There was an ambulance following me that saw the whole accident. They said they all wanted a car like mine. It did exactly what it was supposed to do. The side airbags all deployed. The front airbags did not. The roll bar protected me. I walked away with a broken arm. Thank you for all the safety features that actually work."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best off road vehicle, bar none

By on Monday, May 31, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"If you live off dirt roads, and need to negotiate steep hills, muddy conditions, large ruts, but still want a comfortable ride, this is the car for you. Our LC everyday goes on about 4 miles each way of deeply rutted, steep dirt roads, crossing a creek, and by far of all the other off road vehicles we have tried, it will go when others can't, go faster, and in considerably more comfort. My husband has had a few 4Runners, still has a 2008 4R, and it feels like you are in a wheelbarrow on that road. By contrast my LC just flies on that road, never skids or loses power on the uphill, and smoothes out the bumps. I love it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The best vehicle on the road!

By on Thursday, March 18, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I am the proud owner of two.If you can stomach the gas consumption,this is the best all-around vehicle on the road. I much prefer the Lexus version. Toyota,reliable is extremely evident in the LC.."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Solid and Reliable

By on Friday, November 27, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned this vehical with 3 kids and 2 dogs so it has been through a lot. I absolutely love the way it handles. Perfectly after 140K. My husband has a new Tahoe and the quality isnt even comparable. After all of these years it still has a smooth ride and is easy to manuver. The only problem I have had is that the bearing in the fan belt broke and subsequently it broke the serpentine belt. This is the only major repair I have had to make. It is smaller than the other full size SUVs but this has never been a problem for me. Personally I like the older body style(95to 98?) better so i game styling 4 stars. I love the Landcruiser! Well made, reliable and totally non pretentious."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Large, Safe and Quality

By on Thursday, October 01, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great car, ours is 2002 and just went over 100k. Nothing besides normal wear has been wrong with it. it drives pretty much like i bought it, maybe more rattles as things got loose over the years. but great highway driving, it loves cruise control in the 80s. we have traveled from Boston as far as Florida and Indiana and never felt unsafe in it. Highly recommended if you need a big vehicle abd you want to cruise the highways!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great All-around

By on Sunday, January 18, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"My 4th Cruiser & this is the best yet. Have had no problems but a cracked windshield. Fuel economy is @12 mi/gal in town & should be much better. But it's great on the road & has been used extensively off-road. Goes through anything & everything. Good nav system."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, January 12, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"have 170k miles on my 2000 landcruiser and only had it in the shop once for something minor, other than routine check ups!!! Great vehicle.. could run to 300k miles and still be wonderful! Im a 20 year old female, had this car since i turned 16 and LOVE IT and i feel very very safe in it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I WANT TO BE BURIED IN THIS VEHICLE!

By on Thursday, January 01, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Best SUV in the world! Extremely reliable and very good looking! I did have some minor electrical problems including booth front door woofers blowing out."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome SUV

By on Sunday, January 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Own a '99 Landcruiser from new. Never once had a problem with it. Comfortable, reliable, spacious and will go virtually anywhere. Highest recommendation!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Land Cruiser near Honolulu. See local deals