Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1999 Toyota Land Cruiser

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.6
Out of 10

Based on 176 Ratings for the 1998 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.7/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next

Durable

By on Thursday, April 14, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Will go anywhere in the snow and ice! I pass trucks (4wd mind you) that think they are the end all be all when it comes to getting around in inclement weather. Nothing compares - if you drive a 4wd truck, give this Land Cruiser a try and you'll be blown away at how good it is!"

By on Wednesday, March 16, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Looks Great after 11 years!

By on Thursday, March 10, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car in 2005 with 45K miles with the intention of keeping it forever. One hundred and fifteen thousand miles later it is still a great vehical. My husband and I have recently talked about me getting a new car and I don't want to. I am choosing to replace tbe leather, fix the bumper and take care of a few other cosmetic issues intead. I love this car. It has the wear and tear of 3 children and my neglect. I haven't had any major problems. The body style it is nothing special. Sort of understated, which I like, but super high quality everything."

Best On and Off Road Vehicle Ever!!!

By on Monday, February 07, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I believe this was the last year you could turn on and off 4 wheel drive button electronically from inside vehicle. No getting out and freezing in the snow. Great handling off road and very comfy city driving. Lots of muscle when needed."

2003 Land Cruiser

By on Thursday, January 20, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Awesome vehicle!!! Great layout of cabin, superb acceleration and handling! I love taking a crew of eight for a trip to the snow. Plus, I know that this truck with 145000 miles on it already will give me another couple hundred thousand miles of great performance. I owned a 1972 FJ40 in college and loved it. I knew Land Cruisers had great off-road capabilities then, but now I have heated leather seats, a quiet ride (even over bumpy terrain), and over-engineered components that will keep it going no matter what I throw at it. There is a reason Land Cruisers are a world-wide go to for a great and reliable vehicle. Go LC!!! The only weak point I would point out is the lame key-fob that will break within about 50k miles. The dealer wants close to $500 for a replacement with coding, but I have found a local (great) locksmith that can do it for less than $100!"

By on Saturday, January 01, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought my land cruiser used with 34k and have had it now for 12 years...Had to replace the battery in last 12 months and antenna mast needed a new one...Car has been perfect...no major problems..very satisfied customer...."

By on Wednesday, October 20, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Another Toyota bust

By on Friday, October 08, 2010

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"Unfortunately, I seem to get all the lemon Toyotas, and this one has just proven to be no exception! My wife was just driving it to the store when it suddenly would no longer move when the gas was pressed. Engine ran, but no go. Took it to the repair shop only to find that a snap ring on front axle had broken, causing the axle to pop out of the bearing - $800 to fix! Repair mgr said it was first time he'd seen that problem in 19 yrs of working on cars. We never 4-wheel in it, so no real excuse, Toyota! Also have an intermittent tail light problem that will not be fixed (tried three times now), the hood hydraulic lifts are shot at 100k miles, CD player broken and of course it guzzles gas like a sot downs cheap wine on a Saturday night. I give up on Toys (had a 87 Celica that was just a piece of junk, too), switching to Honda..."

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

rugged luxury

By on Wednesday, September 22, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Currently own a 2000 with 171,000 miles. Purchased with 71,000 miles. Before owned a 1996 that purchased with 60,000 miles and sold with 136,000. Could not be more pleased with Landcruiser. Like the look and ride. Has been extremely dependable. Would highly recommend to people that want a rugged low maintenance vehicle for the long haul. Only drawback would be the low gas mileage (15) and the CD player. Have replaced with original and have same problem-simply quits working."

255000

By on Wednesday, August 18, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Yes my 1998 LC has 255000 miles on it I have raised my 4 children in this vehicle she is part of our family. I have maintained her and she has never let me down. She is still solid,tight and smooth. The LC can take to valet at a 5 star hotel, or any back road. After 12 years she is my baby I Love her!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great long term value

By on Wednesday, August 18, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Okay people, 222,000 miles on my 2002 Land Cruiser. Bought it new, done regular maintenance as required, have it detailed twice a year and keep having it serviced by the dealer. This truck is as tight as the day I picked it up new. I see no end in sight for this great vehicle. Although it was expensive new, it owes me nothing and the cost per mile of ownership has been low overall. Get one of these!"

By on Tuesday, August 17, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Toyota's Best

By on Thursday, July 29, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my second Landcruiser. I only buy them used and have not been disappointed. My next one will be the 2008 when it is 4 to 5 years old. This SUV goes anywhere, tows with the best, and with the rear A/C is comfortable for the whole family. Even at 10 years old, it has no mechanical problems, is tight, quiet, and the one everyone in the family wants to take on a trip. I have averaged 14.6 mpg over the last 5 years. Only one thing broke in that time, the starter. With regular maintenance this thing will run forever."

Does It All

By on Wednesday, July 28, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"The best commercial 4 wheel drive on the market. Can take this vehicle everywhere and feel comfortable doing it! Tons of haul and luggage capacity. Have 120,000 miles on the LC and will probably go another 200,000."

This car is part of me

By on Thursday, July 15, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"My father first purchased this car as his gift for himself in December 1999. I was 8 years old when we got it. This car has taken my family everywhere and still drives perfectly. I'm now 19 and can proudly say I'm driving my 2000 Land Cruiser that has been a huge part of my life. When I drive this thing I feel like I have the road at my fingertips the car is extreemly reliable, very smoothe, and like any other Toyota it has held its quality since we first purchased it. I don't think we've ever once changed the speakers and they still work perfectly. It is also huge so I always feel safe in it. I swear it feels like this car will never die. Overall this car is GREAT I'd highly recomend it to anyone who is trying to raise a family as it holds 7 passengers (not including the driver) and is very spacious, however I would not recommend this car to anyone who wants to use this car for themselves as it is a gas eater. I know I said it before but I LOVE MY 2000 TOYOTA LANDCRUISER"

By on Wednesday, July 14, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, June 05, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Best off road vehicle, bar none

By on Monday, May 31, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"If you live off dirt roads, and need to negotiate steep hills, muddy conditions, large ruts, but still want a comfortable ride, this is the car for you. Our LC everyday goes on about 4 miles each way of deeply rutted, steep dirt roads, crossing a creek, and by far of all the other off road vehicles we have tried, it will go when others can't, go faster, and in considerably more comfort. My husband has had a few 4Runners, still has a 2008 4R, and it feels like you are in a wheelbarrow on that road. By contrast my LC just flies on that road, never skids or loses power on the uphill, and smoothes out the bumps. I love it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Favorite Car Ever

By on Sunday, May 30, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Even with 161000 miles, I would trust this vehicle on a cross country trip. Never had mechanical problems. Routine manitenance like changing the oil is all it even needed. Absolutely the best car ever!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

NO BETTER SUV ON THE MARKET

By on Monday, May 17, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I had a 98 Landcruiser for 8 years and only parted with it because it was violently ripped away from me through a divorce. 140,000 miles and it was still going strong. Never had a mechanical problem other than normal maintenance. Replaced brakes, battery, starter, tires, & window tint. Thats it! Miss my Landcruiser dearly and am looking to buy another 98-2000. 2001 has Lexus engine which I have been told is not as good. Only thing I would change is adding rear a/c control. We used the third row and it was hard to get the air back there. Other than that, cant go wrong with this car."

adverts not needed

By on Saturday, May 01, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Ever wonder why you NEVER see an advert for LC's? Well, I suppose it's because they don't need any press. Simply THE most reliable, durable, quality SUV on the market in it's class. I've lived in remote areas all over the world and LC's are consistently the corp. vehicle of choice in Africa, Asia, Middle East, South America...to name but a few. Yes, there are better SUV's out there, but for the money, nothing else comes close."

Wonderful vehicle

By on Tuesday, April 27, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My dream car has always been the Land Cruiser and 3 years ago, I was able to purchase a 1998. I love the engineering attention to detail, the quiet power of the engine and just about everything about my car. I would recommend Toyota to anyone - current difficulties not withstanding. My vehicle was actually made in Japan which I equate with higher quality than if it were made in the States."

Land Cruiser number 3

By on Sunday, April 18, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This 2006 with only 28,000 miles is my third Land Cruiser. Just traded in a 1996 with 220,000 miles to buy this one. Awesome family vehicle! So many features and extras! Looking forward to many years and miles with this one as well!"

By on Wednesday, April 07, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

The best vehicle on the road!

By on Thursday, March 18, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I am the proud owner of two.If you can stomach the gas consumption,this is the best all-around vehicle on the road. I much prefer the Lexus version. Toyota,reliable is extremely evident in the LC.."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Land Cruiser near Honolulu. See local deals