Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1998 Toyota Land Cruiser

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.6
Out of 10

Based on 187 Ratings for the 1998 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.7/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next

Simply said this vehicle is still relevant today

By on Tuesday, July 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality that lasts and styling still relevant"

Cons: "It is a large vehicle that consumes gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the original owner of the 2001 LC and was so impressed with its quality when first introduced that I paid cash for it which I have never done with new vehicles. But here I am in 2013 talking to this community about it. There is no substitute for a complete style and engineering design. The vehicle looks still contemporary today, the more weight you ask it to carry actually improves handling, and my wife has refused offers of new car replacements as she is the principal driver. Reliability is exceptional based on running synthetic Mobile oil, hi test gas, and keeping the air cleaner in good condition. Basically it has had no other issues of maintenance....ever. If I had to by my car today even with $168K miles on it is a good value."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

255000

By on Wednesday, August 18, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Yes my 1998 LC has 255000 miles on it I have raised my 4 children in this vehicle she is part of our family. I have maintained her and she has never let me down. She is still solid,tight and smooth. The LC can take to valet at a 5 star hotel, or any back road. After 12 years she is my baby I Love her!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Outstanding Product

By on Thursday, August 06, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The Landcruiser is in a class by itself. Expensive initially, but it will last years and years. The quality, reliability, and comfort is unmatched. I have 84,000 on my 2000 model and it still drives and performs like new. Have only performed routine maintenance, replaced one brake caliper, and a rear A/C line."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

One Hecka of an Automobile!

By on Monday, July 13, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"You just can't beat the ride and dependability. Outstanding for road trips when comfort is a must. If you drive the car resonably you can get decent mileage. I average around 18mpg. Want to feel safe? step into a Land Cruiser."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

LandCruiser

By on Monday, May 04, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have nothing but good to say about this vehicle. The value holds well over time, the components are all quality. With preventive maintenance I feel this vehicle will last another 7-10 years and it's already 9 years old. I have kept all of the interior clean and treated (leather), it's close to new! Got it smogged the other day they were blown away by the age of the vehicle. If it is within your budget, it is money well spent."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

grrrreat

By on Wednesday, December 10, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"super reliability. goes anywhere, indestructible. Better milage than my SR5, could use a better stoage strap for the 3d row seats as they tend to come loose letting the seats flop."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

top of the heap

By on Sunday, January 20, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My third Land Cruiser - FJ40/80/100 ('98); I won't own anything but the Cruiser because it's proven itself to me time and again. Anybody can build an off-road 4x4, but to make it extremely reliable and relatively fuel-efficient (15 MPG w/full-time 4WD @ 6500lbs.) is a major benifit. But best of all, it's a daily-driver vehicle that can take you out on the town w/pride. I absolutely love my Land Cruiser; I've very unhappy with the 2008 redesign, which means I'm keeping the '99 for another 10 years and 200,000 more miles."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

TLC Would drive nothing else

By on Monday, January 07, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Best vehicle on the road - my '98 model looks nicer and drives better than most new garbage out there. I've owned 6 Land Cruisers and would drive no other. Safe, reliable, take it anywhere - literally, anywhere you want."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Monday, December 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"WITH 132K STILL RIDES LIKE A NEW ONE"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

BEST SUV EVER

By on Tuesday, October 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"MY WIFE HAS A LEXUS AND WOULD RATHER DRIVE MY LAND CRUISER.PLAN ON KEEPING IT FOREEVER OR TILL I CAN AFFORD ANOTHER ONE.BEST CAR I HAVE EVER BEEN IN"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Land Cruiser near Honolulu. See local deals