Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1996 Toyota Land Cruiser

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 120 Ratings for the 1991 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Solid, reliable, safe, a tank with nice seats

By on Friday, February 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Engine, gearing (crawl ratio 50's), tank-like"

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned two FJ40's and thoroughly enjoyed them off road. They weren't the best riding on the roads in traffic though. I got a 1995 Landcruiser with 120K in 2007. Got it for my son who just started driving. Reason was that it is a very safe vehicle, a tank with wheels instead of tracks. I finally got it back in 2012 due to numerous maintenance issues, which are normal for the Landcruisers, especially at 175,000. Exchanged it for a 2004 Toyota Corolla, 40 mph highway, perfect for him. Hog heaven for me, I got my Landcruiser back. This vehicle is the most solid, off the showroom vehicle made. Without modifications, it can off road with the best and still deliver you to a high-class restaurant in a tux without missing a step. The 1996 landcruiser had basically no changes because the 1995 version got everything right. The motor and drivetrain will be considered legendary in time if not already considered one of the best. It is rated up there with the Landrover and Mercedes SUV, quite excellent company."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best SUV ever made!!!! Hands down!!!!

By on Monday, August 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "STURDY. Reliable. Comfy. Powerful."

Cons: "MPG. Hard to work on. ALTERNATORS>:("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought mine in 92. Have had it since! Have changed oil regularly (every 10k, filter 5k) Had plugs replaced @ 150,000. It's been a car that I plan to keep until I am buried. It's gas mileage isn't great, but for a tank, it's not bad. I have driven it through a creek/small river. I take it to Snowshoe mountain about 5 times a year and it absolutely has no problem making it up the mountain. Absolutely the best SUV ever made."

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Toyota's Tribute to Quality and Reliability

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A true all purpose vehicle"

Cons: "I forget"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned a 1987 4-runner and I still own a 1984 4x4 truck. However my 1992 landcruiser eclipses them all in comfort, reliability, utility. I have owned my 92 landcruiser for 6 months and even with 205 thousand miles it starts, drives, and performs like a vehicle half its age. My wife told me the other day that she is getting sentimental about the cruiser when I suggested selling it for a newer one.....she doesn't want to let it go....a first for her. She prefers to drive it over our 03 maxima! Its crazy but we just might become a 2 cruiser family! I have nothing negative to say about the cruiser because its many positives make any negatives disappear. It has become a member of the family."

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

very reliable and safe feeling

By on Sunday, January 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "15 mpg at 65 mph"

Cons: "19 mpg at 55mph"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"have had since 2004 when i bought it with 150,000. towed trail manor collapsable trailer like it was not there. wife feels very secure and it is up where we can seee ahead third two seats not that confortable but we can take seven people square dancing all year"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

The most duriable and reliable vehicle ever own

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "overall just a great vehicle"

Cons: "Gas mileage not the best for city driving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our vehicle has been everything and more we could have expected through to present. Currently still have the vehicle and only considering getting rid of it because of gas mileage in city traffic is about only con to owning it.Certainly, the price increase in gas has made it more of a focus point than previously. Otherwise, just a great vehicle to have especially with a 4 plus family."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle made!

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 246,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "trouble free, goes anywhere"

Cons: "slow power windows when really cold"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my FJ80 after someone t-boned my 85' BJ-60 diesel cruiser (which had 725,000 miles on it!). I have owned several 60's and 62's and absolutely love this 80 series. I have owned it for 6 years and done nothing but change the oil and other fluids as recommended. The millage is kind of poor, the power windows are slow when it gets below 0, but otherwise no complaints. I will stick with the cruisers till they put me in the ground!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Tank

By on Saturday, January 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe"

Cons: "Windows are slow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is a monster it will go anywhere!!"

GREAT vehicle that justs keeps on going

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 256,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "RELIABLE. Great in snow or rain."

Cons: "No cup holder."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a used 1992 Land Cruiser with over 115,000 and this SUV has proven reliable with low maintenance costs."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This is my Dream Car - Best Vehicle Ever Owned

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability"

Cons: "Gas mileage and the wear and tear on the brakes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my LC new September 1996 which cost almost as much as the first house I purchased in 1988. I am approaching 265K and the engine still turns over like it is brand new. The most money spent on this vehicle has been for BRAKES! Replaced the radiator and fuel pump 2 years ago. Did CV joints on front at about 150K. But now we are getting into some major repairs due to its age... brake booster, EGR, more CV joints. Never had a car that would remotely last 15 years. Will be making some major decisions in the near future on whether I am going to keep my dream car, the Toyota Landcruiser."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Owed since new, the best car we have ever had.

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very, very reliable."

Cons: "Power is not great for passing. No cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owed since new, the best car we have ever owed. Never had a major breakdown. Have done all mainetenance, timely. This vehicle will climb amazingly, in steep country, snow, ice and mud."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Land Cruiser near Honolulu. See local deals