Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2011 Toyota Highlander

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 343 Ratings for the 2008 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next

Excellent!

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great value, fun to drive, reliable"

Cons: "little storage when third row seating is in use"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We've owned this car for almost 5 months. We all love it! Gas mileage is very good. We usually don't use the third row seats, but it's nice to have (with the third row, it has as much seating as our minivan). The only downside is the storage when the third row is up. There is almost no room to store anything behind them. Other than that, no complaints!!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent!

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great value, fun to drive, reliable"

Cons: "little storage when third row seating is in use"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We've owned this car for almost 5 months. We all love it! Gas mileage is very good. We usually don't use the third row seats, but it's nice to have (with the third row, it has as much seating as our minivan). The only downside is the storage when the third row is up. There is almost no room to store anything behind them. Other than that, no complaints!!"

Great road vehicle

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Hybrid-great mileage, good ride"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We use this vehicle to travel from upstate NY to all over the east coast. It rides well, is quiet and has enough room to take all of the stuff we need to carry. We will replace this one with another Highlander."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great road vehicle

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Hybrid-great mileage, good ride"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We use this vehicle to travel from upstate NY to all over the east coast. It rides well, is quiet and has enough room to take all of the stuff we need to carry. We will replace this one with another Highlander."

2013 Limited 4wd - AWESOME!

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Total peace of mind, excellent value!"

Cons: "Winters will have to be worse! :)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The peace of mind that we have after buying and now owning for over a year really can't be overstated! Two rough winters and no problems, just power through it. I really think we "upgraded" from our 2003 Land Rover, nothing but headaches and repair bills. We are happy with the mileage, as it is nearly double what the Rover got. Not getting 4WD was never an option, so we knew that the mileage wasn't going to be stellar. Looking strictly at MPG for any auto is a pretty poor way to make a decision, just my 2 cents. Again, it is all about peace of mind, and this Highlander has that."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good SUV no Problems

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Navigation. Bluetooth to your phone. Speech button"

Cons: "Not really bright yellow lights"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have this car for 3.5 years now. I like this car for the spaciousness and third row sit. I like how it driving on the snow and have “snow” button. I did not use moon roof much. One problem I had it was a lock problem for the sit belt on the back, but it was replaced for free. I should say that head lights should be brighter, but it easy to fix, I think, by buying and replacing lights by yourself. Overall it is a good car for the big family."

Awesome car!

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everything you want in a car. Good buy for any family!"

Extremely comfortable and useful vehicle

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, smooth and quiet"

Cons: "Had several radio problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am very pleased with this vehicle. It is smooth and quiet while offering great versatility. Biggest negative is poor gas mileage (19 MPG overall)"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice car overall. Meets my needs.

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Enjoy driving"

Cons: "Road noise and interior fabric not the best"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Nice car to drive. MPG not competitive with comparable models."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great build quality, nothing ever goes wrong!

By on Tuesday, April 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Terrific utility and reliability"

Cons: "Comfortable, but not exciting, it is an SUV"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Really enjoy this vehicle. It is extremely functional and very nice to drive also. Seems to be just about the perfect size - not as big as the behemoths that are out there, but larger than the compact SUVs. Gets very good gas mileage for its size and can haul a lot of cargo. Reliability has been excellent with no issues whatsoever. Overall it is easy to drive, park and own. While not inexpensive, I beleive it is worth every penny."

Zero maintenance save for what was scheduled.

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, economy, responsiveness, versatility"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never any unexpected expenses. Scheduled maintenance only. Can't imagine a better SUV for a family. Comfortable, responsive, reliable and good on gas considering its size. Lots of room for stuff or people."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

would buy another in a jiffy

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "mostly everything"

Cons: "handling could be a little better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Solid toyota reliability. Decent fuel economy from a large car with lots of space and good towing capability. Roomy interior. Held value very well for its age. Silky smooth powerful V6 engine. Does have some torque steer though. Needs getting used to with the engines performance. Excellent passing power for an SUV."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love my Highlander for Family Travel!

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth drive; quiet & comfortable interior"

Cons: "Touring tires expensive to replace"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my 2010 Highlander for 2.5 years, and I'm still loving it! The ride is smooth, and the gas mileage is very good considering the size and weight of this vehicle (I average 19-20 city and 23-25 hwy). I love the exterior design with its smooth, rounded corners, and the red paint is holding-up well. The interior ammenities are comfortable and plentiful... and I'd say this even if I didn't have leather, seat-warmers, a moonroof and a DVD player (a must for long-distance trips with kids). I couldn't be happier with my purchase!....except for the fact that I bought a 2-year, used-car warranty that I didn't even need! Oh, well, still a happy Toyota owner!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My first Toyoto and the best and most SOLID .

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Like I mentioned above best ever."

Cons: "I have to think about this,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my first car in 1956 a morris minor, had many cars but this car is the best I EVER OWNED."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this SUV. It is comfortable , reliable and

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I can't think of anything negative."

Great car , excellent fuel mileage, fun to drive,

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "climate controlm fuel mileage, agile, fun to drive"

Cons: "seats a little too firm for me."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"great car, fun to drive, good fuel mileage, comfortable, great for fun with our grandkids, typical Toyota, no problems, ever."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Terrible Gas Mileage

By on Saturday, March 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car overall. Nice interior and options"

Cons: "terrible gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I like everything about this car except for the terrible gas mileage that I get. It is supposed to get around 16 mpg but I average 12. I even drive very carefully to ensure that I am not wasting gas, but it doesn't make much of a difference. It is very disappointing. In addition, when I use the AWD, the mileage is even worse. On the highway, the best that I got was 22.5 mpg."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Sunday, February 09, 2014

I don't own this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "worth every dime beautiful luxureous car"

Cons: "base model doesnt come with power seats."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best vehicle I have ever had the honor of driving this vehicle. Dealerships are begging me to trade it, and I refuse. I haven't had any problems with this suv. The only thing I can say is that I had to change air cabinet filters, brake pads and turn rotors. I just recently bought brand new tires! Had not been changed out since the first day in 1999. Pretty impressive. Im have a situation that wont allow me to repurchase it because I cant afford what I owe on it. I tried to surrender but they much rather get the money due to the depreciation. Hopefully I will be able to pay them off and get the titles on it. Or my next option is to trade it in allow the dealership to buy what I owe on it, not the interest, and put me in an affordable vehicle and walk away without the hassel of owing anyone, nor being sued."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Awesome in the snow!!

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, extra seating whn I need it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best Suv ever. Great in the snow. I have over 100,000 miles and I still feel like it drives just the same as when I purchased it with 30k. Great styling. I would most likely purchase another one in another 100,000 miles. Only thing is I wish I had purchased this car with the 19 inch wheels and more options, I will with the next one for sure!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this car, it is safe, reliable, and great!

By on Thursday, February 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable and reliable"

Cons: "More cup holders than you need"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have recommended to a lot of carpooling moms like myself and they are all happy too with it. It gets better gas mileage than I thought and is safe and reliable. Plus it is so comfortable for the many long drives we have to take."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent Auto

By on Monday, February 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gets great gas mileage for a 270 HP Eng."

Cons: "It has a little road noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second one. I am a traveling salesman and I put approx 30k miles yr on my cars. I will most likely buy another one when its time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nice riding, good quality SUV.

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,375

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "ground clearance, accessible, quick response"

Cons: "meager open storage in front."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a nice riding, good quality SUV. One criticism I have is there are too many drink holders in the front passenger area. Instead, there should be more open storage space for miscellaneous items. There are up to 6 compartments for small cups or glasses! Two is plenty. More storage place would be available if the shift lever were on the dash instead of taking up half the room in the console between the two front seats. Also, I would prefer two glove compartments instead of the one massive one provided. Difficult to use."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Friday, January 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great mpg for a large SUV. 20-25 mpg"

Cons: "Tires are expensive and don't last long."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very roomy with room for seven. Plenty of power. 139000 miles on it and still runs like new. I've only had to do regular maintenance on it."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've ever owned

By on Tuesday, December 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, fast, powerful, looks, quiet, economical"

Cons: "price of the navagation package"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Camping trip with 2 adults and 4 young adults. Plenty of room for everyone!

"I am surprised daily by this vehicle. The comfort is amazing. It's a big vehicle but it drives like a sports car. Traveling for a living I'm amazed that I can be on the road for 7 hours straight and step out feeling refreshed. There isn't a thing I encounter while on the road that worries me. Blinding down pour? Snow? Horrible traffic? Surrounded by semi trucks? Big winds? It just doesn't matter. This vehicle can handle it without any extra effort. There are days when I have this SUV loaded to the max and a carrier on top to boot, and I still get 20mpg while driving 75 mph. I added a tow package to this SUV and couldn't believe how easy it was. Toyota already had all the bolt holes in place as well as the knockout plugs and connections for installing the electric package. The job wasn't just easy... it was EASY! Seriously this is the absolute best vehicle I've ever owned in 30+ years of driving. Toyota you did it right!"

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Camping trip with 2 adults and 4 young adults. Plenty of room for everyone!

Great Car!

By on Tuesday, December 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ride, Fuel economy, safety features, style."

Cons: "3rd row seating should have been an option."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new and haven't had any real problems at all. Quality has been excellent. Great ride, impressive fuel economy with a v6 engine. Spacious front and rear seating, although, 3rd row is very small and useless to me. (My only complaint about the car)"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Highlander near Honolulu. See local deals