Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2005 Toyota Highlander

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 791 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 80 | Next

Best Vehicle I Ever Owned

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent for Family and Long Trips!"

Cons: "For a 2003 I wish it got better GAS MILEAGE!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never gave me an once of trouble! In 12 years, replaced 2 Battery's. Drives and handles like a dream. You take care of it and it takes care of you. Maintenance only!!"

Best vehicle I ever owned.

By on Tuesday, January 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Served me well, very reliable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The vehicle is very reliable, comfortable and affordable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The best. Period. 223,000 mi.

By on Saturday, January 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "zero."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"All original except timing belt, spark plugs and 1 front wheel bearing. Of course tires and brakes. It doesn't get any better than that does it?"

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Wonderful, Troublefree Vehicle

By on Wednesday, January 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Size, quality, reliability, mileage, power"

Cons: "Not sexy, throttle-response with hybrid"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We have the hybrid Highlander, and in spite of its complexity it has proven to be totally reliable. We have not had a single failure with it. Overall size and interior layout is perfect for most uses. We really wouldn't want the larger, new ones. While not the toughest-looking SUV, it is a good design and built to a very high quality. We love the excellent visibility, unlike many newer vehicles. Our Hybrid gets an average of about 28mpg to top it off. It doesn't have quite the throttle response of a conventional vehicle, but that's a small price to pay for the mileage. We love it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Absolutely a great vehicle

By on Tuesday, January 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality of vehicle, economy, interior size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Lowest maintenance vehicle we have ever owned; oil changes every 5,000 miles, tires around 60,000 miles, wiper blades twice. Electronics now beginning to exhibit "quirkiness" (some service lights come on without rhyme or reason and intermittently). Great gas mileage, excellent handling, good pick-up and steady, quiet ride."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Couldn't ask for a better car

By on Friday, January 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks, runs great, great mpg, no issues."

Cons: "Interior & Safety technology has moved on."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I can't believe this SUV is almost 10 years old. It still looks and runs great and hasn't given a lick of trouble in the slightest. I measured my gas mileage over last 750 miles at 29.4, usually am around 28. The electric motor gives the best acceleration not only off red light stops, but laid on top of gas at freeway speeds. Super safe, great car in every way, hard to improve on what its done."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

one of the best overall vehicles I have ever owned

By on Saturday, December 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "see above"

Cons: "little or no reason not to like it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It combines comfort, reliability, performance and quality which would be hard to beat. I have now owned it for over 9 years with little or no trouble at all. Decent power and roadability make it an overall winner, plus it has consistently been rated a top value vehicle by all of the rating agencies."

16 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Excellent Car

By on Wednesday, December 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the Highlander new. Other than oil change, tires, etc I have put no money for repairs into the car. Reliability is excellent. My next car will be a Highlander or one of their other SUVs. I am 100% satisfied."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Saturday, November 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, cost efficient, great drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased this car from original owner with 61000 miles. It has been the best, most dependable car I have ever owned. It is hybrid and averages over 25mpg consistently. I am looking for a newer used one now"

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I ever owned

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Purchase a 2015 Highlander

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, Handling, Styling, low maintenance"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car new in 2001. I purchased the Limited, V6, AWD version. Handled exceptionally, with plenty of room and the reliability is out of this world. The only major maintenance cost was replacement of the timing belt at the recommended ~100,000 miles but even that was only a few hundred at the dealer. Aside from tires and brake pads it has been absolutely trouble free. I sold it with 159,000 miles on it and I knew it easily had that many more trouble free miles left in it. Still drove like new and handled much much better than any SUV I have ever ridden in. Can't say enough good things about this vehicle. I sold it to a friend of mine, who I know will be very happy with it for many years to come."

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 80 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Highlander near Honolulu. See local deals