Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2004 Toyota Highlander

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 769 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next

I have owned this car for 6 years with few problem

By on Sunday, March 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "gas mileage is only fair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"For the money it has been an excellent buy"

Good SUV, comfortable

By on Tuesday, February 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Devaluation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Car great.....bummed about its resale value!!"

The Highlander is a wonderful car.

By on Tuesday, February 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Highlander! It is a fantastic family car: comfortable, reliable and easy to drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love the liability & comfort. Hate the apholstry!

By on Friday, February 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "Upholstry sucks!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great vehicle all around except the upholstry is terrible."

BEST driving

By on Monday, February 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It was a little expensive but worth it to us."

Cons: "A little expensive! But it was a hybrid."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We've had our Highlander SUV for 8 years - purchased new. We've taken family vacations and done a lot of around-the-town driving, and we've had only one major problem, which was covered under warranty. We've also kept current on all servicing. Tustin Toyota has been a marvelous resource for all service (we bought the car there), and it is just perfect for me and my bad back, since I can slip into and out of the car without bending over and/or struggling to get into or out of it."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Just like a pair of Old Reliable Boots

By on Monday, February 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, dependable, confortable"

Cons: "Handling (not sporting at all), brakes, no cup hol"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The strong points of this car are the Reliability,Confort and ease of use, also very sturdy construction!It's not a race car and you should not drive this car "with spirit",the brakes are adequate but not that strong (i never did a brake job and the car has 48.000 miles). This car will last forever!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great suv

By on Friday, January 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had any problems with this car. We are solid Toyota family"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Absolutely tops among mid-size SUV hybrids!

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, quick, uber-practical!"

Cons: "Spare hard to reach (but it's a real tire)!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this car for 3 years, having owned a Honda for the family (Odyssey)and Bimmers (5 series--530i, 528e) for my ego. The 2006 Highlander green is, hands down, and head and tails over what I'd espected. It's both practical and stylish (for an SUV), comfortable, and is mechanically super competent. As far as practicality is concerned, it serves well as a vacation car in that it is roomy enough to carry 5 passengers in relative comfort on day trips while carrying a load of "stuff"--suit cases, beach gear, beach house grub, etc., and do double duty as a rather svelt get around car, ferring grandpa, grandma and a 5 grandkids to lunch, the beach, and the Flying Horses! And it does all of this whilst zipping from 0 - 60 in less than 8 seconds! Great pickup, great passing; I love surprising pickups, Cherokees, even the occassional 'sporty' import off the line, so to speak. And I average 24 mpg; better if I drive anywhere close to the speed limits. It actually does better in town than on the highway, which makes sense considering the hybrid attitude. All around, a great ride. Not sure how the newer models fare, but the 2006 is a genuine conversation piece well worth the price."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

excellent, reliable

By on Friday, January 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great gas milage, comfortable, reliable."

Cons: "Only seats 5"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"has been an excellent and reliable vehicle for us."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Next car will be another Highlander

By on Tuesday, December 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Overall economical vehicle to own"

Cons: "Interior temperature control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After driving Volkswagons for over 20 years, I chose the Hghlander for additional space. Best choice ever made!! I was concerned I would be unhappy with the handling after driving German made cars but the Highlander rides and handles amazingly well. The unexpected surprise was how minimal the maintenance has been. I drive 30-35,000 miles per year and have had no major engine repairs in 5 years. My only issue with this vehicle is the poor cabin temperature control - a minor issue."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

06 Limited with 3rd row and navigation

By on Wednesday, December 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Luxury, Navigation, Reliability, Engine"

Cons: "Ride, Leather Quality, Small 3rd Row Seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a great car. Has never broken down, Failed to start, Or had to be taken in to the repair shop. We got this car in 2011 for a replacement to my 1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited. This car has every option with out getting the hybrid and is more like a Lexus than A Toyota evan though it has some cheep materials on the dashboard. The only thing I don't like about the highlander is the leather. With only 65000 miles the drivers seat is completely ripped along the blustering. That shouldn't happen with 65000 miles but no car is perfect. The 3rd row was useful when my kids were little but now it is useless because of its size. the V6 kinda makes this toyota feel like a sports car! It is really fast! But unfortunately the V6 dose not return vary good gas mileage. It handles pretty good but you can tell its an SUV. The car has A decent size trunk but I wish it was bigger, whenever I have to take my son and his friends to hockey I take my Grand Cherokee because of the trunk space. Just the past few days the heater has been making a burning smell but thats the only problem Ive had, will be taking it in to be checked out but no big deal, probably an easy fix. The ride is vary bouncy and unsettled which I don't like."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Expensive but a great value

By on Sunday, December 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had the car for 7 years and had only one breakdown. The air conditioning needed a condenser ($500) after 165,000 miles. Other than that it has been normal maintenance. It drives very well and gets great gas mileage."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Good pickup. Fairly quiet. Roof rack very useful.

By on Friday, December 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good view with easy access. No pesky touch screen."

Cons: "My SUV did not have a needed rear air deflector."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchase used but no repairs needed yet. Mine is not the limited version. Roomy interior with two easy-fold rear seats. Never used the tiny 3rd row seats. Full-size spare but not easy to access. Roof rack is very useful for carrying lumber, etc. I can fit a 10 foot 2X4 inside with the tailgate closed. Good power with the 6 cylinder engine. Oil filter location allows for easy owner oil changes. Replacement tires are priced normally. Cup holders in console are inadequate. No daytime running lights. Great purchase."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Awesome in the snow and ice!

By on Monday, December 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, Full view of the road"

Cons: "Better cup holders, better sm town navigation sys"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We just had an unusual amount of snow and low temps. Our Camry wouldn't go up the ice-covered hill...the Highlander made it without any effort at all. I felt very safe. This model year 2007 was rated one of the highest for the Highlander in all categories...I debated about selling it because of gas mileage but wouldn't consider it now. We get good road mileage at about 24 mpg..in town not so good at 15mpg. It's worth it for the safety factor. There are only a couple negatives: It's a little noisy on the highway because of the big tires. The navigation system isn't great in a small town but worked very well in Seattle and kept us out of a traffic jam by directing us into an alternative lane."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Never regretted buying this car

By on Sunday, December 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great car, nice ride, roomy and versatile"

Cons: "Could use separate a/c vent for back seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Nothing fancy, but has always had a nice ride, extremely reliable, and feels like it easily has another 200,000 miles in it. Have had this car for 12 years because I never had an excuse to sell it."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

really neat car

By on Wednesday, November 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"performs perfect"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

What an amazing suv, no problems at all.

By on Saturday, November 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "Poor dealership"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"WOW"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Even I can't kill this car!

By on Tuesday, November 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Incredible Value, Very dependable...."

Cons: "Kind of boring car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never owned a car this long....137,000 miles and paid it off years ago! It is crazy, nothing has ever broke on the car. I get my routine maintenance and that is all I have done with it except for a couple batteries and a couple sets of tires. If you want a very dependable car, this is the one...it can carry things like a truck but it rides like a sedan. I promise you, this car amazes me! I have blown an engine on a Mercedes that was described as a tank (but it wasn't my fault)!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned - Love the Car

By on Monday, November 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, comfortable"

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased used with 113,000 miles. Put on about 7000. Love the car. Good mileage and extremely quick. All wheel drive so it has 3 electric engines. Limited so very plush interior. I have owned two Mercedes and one Jag and this car is much better than any of those. Highly recommend."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle!

By on Sunday, November 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good gas milage, plenty of room, reliable"

Cons: "touchy gas and brake petals"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my Highlander for 4 years. She has been the best car I have ever had. Toyotas are very well made and last forever. If your in the market for a reliable family car or looking for a safe car for you teen driver I recommend the highlander. It gets good gas milage for a SUV. Theres plenty of leg room in the back and cargo space for luggage and/or groceries. Overall an excellent vehicle!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

reliable

By on Tuesday, November 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, reliable, safe"

Cons: "style"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"good car with no major issues. powerful up steep hills, good handling and comfort, paint has chipped away in a few locations."

Smoothest Vehicle Ever

By on Monday, November 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,570

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Extremelt smooth and quiet riding car, exceptional"

Cons: "No audible indicator to let you know your turn sig"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My wife made me buy it in 2005. It was pricey then, about 36K, but this vehicle has turned out to be one of the best Toyota's I have ever owned. It is an extremely smooth and quiet ride, plenty of horse power, good in snow, and repair wise very good. Only thing I have done is a timing belt service package recommend by the dealer, replaced a rusted power steering metal tube, power window motor and tires and brakes. Still get 23/24 MPG on a trip. Not bad for an 8 year old car. However one problem has just cropped up which is that my front display unit that manages the GPS,climate control, info control, and radio is not responding to the touches. This could be a big issue."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great all round vehicle.

By on Thursday, October 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great all round car!"

Cons: "Can't think of any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had this car for over 7 years. Longest I have ever kept a vehicle. It actually is a great road car. Like it better than my previous Mercedes E320. I get about 22 mpg in town and 24 on the highway. The AWD has worked pretty good in minor snow storms. It's not really made for offroad driving but I have used it a few times for very limited offroad and it never missed a beat. It is still quiet. No rattles or squeeks. I have done absolutely nothing to this vehicle other than regular scheduled service and a new set of tires. The battery even lasted 7 years. The flip down rear seats provide lots of cargo area too."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Thoroughly enjoy this vehicle.

By on Wednesday, October 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "shifting can be a jolt."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love driving this vehicle. Have had no problems. Shifting could be a bit smoother, especially when down shifting to accelerate."

Solid 9 out of 10 car but keep wishing for a 10

By on Tuesday, October 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Stylish, dependable, power, seats"

Cons: "No front cup holders, sways on winding roads"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had this car since new - 2006, the Hybrid model, and have had very low cost maintenance thus far. The recalled inverter problem never surfaced, but was replaced by dealership at no charge but took most of the day until late afternoon to replace (I always drop car by 9am or so). It got great gas mileage when we lived in flat area of SF bay area, but now we live in hills so think that the hybrid feature is now not so effective, and our gas mileage has plummeted. I wore out the brakes at 100K as going down steep hills a lot, and B drive doesn't work to well on really steep declines. Got this car in silver, hardly never need to clean it...the silver keeps in looking clean. Cloth interior (gray) is comfortable, and I avoided leather since prefer cloth much more (less sticky, etc). The light gray carpet has stained though, and not sure from what since I don't allow food in car, only water bottles. I would never have a dark interior though as hate to have a roasting car in summer, and dark colors absorb heat. This SUV has great pick-up and power, and I can navigate the freeways with confidence. The seats are super comfortable with great lumbar support, etc. I got the AWD. So what have I not liked? 1) Dash - doesn't include any of the current technology for music (we don't use the radio or CD, only iPod or iPhone), so I have a triple outlet for usb to mp3 connections in the cigarette lighters. I had to get 6 foot adapters from the front to the back for kids iPods. I have my GPS on a bean bag on dash which I really like a lot. I'm grateful that I got the premium sound package, as the speakers are better than factory. 2) HVAC - no heat or air to the back seats so my kids are always complaining too hot, too cold. All the vents are in the front, so I have to take the blast for hot & cold first. 3) Storage - seriously lacking in back if all 7 seats are in use. No real cup holders in front for driver and passenger, but kids in back each get 3 cup holders on each side? This really really bugs me. 4) Handling - weebles, wobbles, but doesn't fall down (anyone remember that commercial?). Driving down hills at fast speeds is fun for me, but this SUV has a serious sway to it, and BMW sedans speed on by me in frustration to get around. I can't go any faster due to the height of the vehicle without enough width for handling. Think the new Highlander added a few inches in width to help with this challenge. 5) 3rd Row - no split to the 3rd row seat which would help a lot, and very cramped, but small kids love it, not needing their car seats in 3rd row - can't fit a booster back there anyway. Really can't think of anything else. Great car overall, and has needed very little maintenance. Take in every 5,000 miles and invoice usually just over $100. However, I did just this last week have the auto lock for driver's side stop working (must use key manually now until next service). That is why I came on this sight to see what else may start to go wrong. I am at about 110K miles. Cars I have owned in past: Ford Escort Wagon '89 (totaled by husband, no one hurt), VW bus '72 (carburetor problems), Acura Legend '96 (CV axel joints wore out - too heavy a car for axels), Volvo Diesel '79 (black smoker - terrifying entering freeway), Volvo gas engine, '83 (very boxy). Advice if purchase: Go to Costco for Michelin tires instead of the cheap Goodyear tires that Toyota service puts on. I kid you not - they last THREE times longer!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Highlander near Honolulu. See local deals