Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2004 Toyota Highlander

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 797 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next

I love this car. Has never had ANY problems.

By on Saturday, June 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a great family car. I am the original owner. Has given me ten years of excellent service. Never needed and repairs. I have taken good care of it. Suffered thru three kids and two dogs. Now there's just the two of us and it is still the perfect car. Still getting about 21 miles per gallon."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Enjoyed owning. Must have hatch back for hauling.

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great price. Comfortable. Dependable. No repairs"

Cons: "Poorly designed cockpit. Bad storage areas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Need something larger now. Going with a Toyota Sienna used. Hauling grandkids now. The only repair was a sensor in the air conditioner which I did not consider part of Toyota. No repairs in 10 years of ownership. Comfortable on the open road. Great gas mileage. Two-wheel drive saves money."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Irreplaceable

By on Thursday, June 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've owned this vehicle for over 8 years and I'm very pleased with her. Maintenance is easy, she's reliable and cute. She'll haul a bunch of paving stones and sand without complaining one bit and be happy to help. With over 100k miles on her, she's finally let me know she needs a new catalytic converter, but shelling out $1000 bucks versus paying $400+ a month for 5 years is a better deal and I get to keep this beauty for another 100k or more. This the only major repair I've had to do. Wait, I forgot. In 2008, I had to replace an electrical piece that cost me about a grand too. Dealers charge too much, but it got the air working again. Not bad in the major repair area for an 11 year old car with over 100k miles on it in my opinion."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Truly a pleasure to drive. Extremely low mileage

By on Thursday, May 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,760

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything about it is well designed"

Cons: "No drivers side cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This care has been lovingly maintained with regular maintenance. The first 11 years it was driven literally five miles a day. Now it does a highway commute of 26 miles a day. Clean inside and out. Luggage rack too! Comfortable and roomy"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Excellent car to drive. Would buy it again.

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride."

Cons: "Lacks an Aux input so I can connect my iPod into."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have been the owner of a 2005 Toyota Highlander 4cyl-Front 2WD for the past nine years. Have never had any problems what so ever. No oil leaks, no mechanical nor electrical issues. It is a great Mid-SUV to drive with excellent front and back leg space including extra room left for trunk space."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great vehicle.

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent reliability, quality construction"

Cons: "Useless third seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"During the 7 years I have own this Highlander, I have not incurred any mechanical or other problems/costs except maintenance every 3000 miles, gasoline and one new set of tires. I will definitely consider another Highlander, probably thee Hybrid, during my next purchase."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

2001 Toyota Hylander, limited, very good condition

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A great car, fun to drive."

Cons: "Cup holders in back, front holders not great."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"2001 white Toyota Hylander, limited, very good condition. All mechanical objects in good working condition. Extras include leather seats, electric moonroof, power windows, rear window wipers and washers, air conditioning /heating system, front and back, roof luggage carrier. Owner needs smaller car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great SUV,

By on Wednesday, May 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliability, nice ride, great in snow."

Cons: "Handles too soft when loaded heavy. Brakes mushy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have never needed mechanical repairs other than things to be done under normal wear and tear. Ie: brakes, timing belt, tires, etc. I would buy another Highlander in a heartbeat if the new model was the same size as the 2005. I don't need a large SUV. The Highlander is too big and the RAV 4 too small."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I love my Highlander!

By on Saturday, May 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable, great pickup"

Cons: "Noise when rear window is down"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best vehicle I've owned. It's cost me very little over the years. There were a couple of recalls that the dealer took care of."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

A reliable car

By on Thursday, May 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, reliable, low $ to maintain"

Cons: "no cup holders in front"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned my Toyota Highlander for two years. I love it, it is very reliable and have had no repair work done. I have only the normal maintenance (oil changes, tune ups, brakes and tires.) I bought this to drive on road trips. It does good. I do wish it had a bit more leg room. I do not have a cup holder in the front, there are 8 in the back two rows!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car ever!

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, excellent on gas, reliable, NO ISSUES"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I never thought I'd give up my Volvo...but never going back!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Owned Toyota's for 36 years and this is best yet.

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "As far as I'm concerned there are no real con's to"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great looks, ride,handling as well as convenience in carrying cargo. Only reason I'm selling this car is I have 2 and wife does not drive anymore so selling both cars and buying a single car. Guess what? an Avalon. Sold solid on Toyota's."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very quiet, smooth riding. Very happy I bought it.

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Helps bring down high fuel costs."

Cons: "Limited edition is pricey."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is not an off road vehicle. Very good gas milage in town."

I love this car. At 87 years of age, it is too big

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It is easy to drive, a perfect car."

Cons: "It is too big for me now, at 87 years of age"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"At 87 years of age, I suffer from arthritis. It is difficult to step up into the car. And I no longer need such a big car. But it has served me perfectly. I just want something smaller"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this car,

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best handling ever"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Has few minor issues, but is still the best car ever"

Wish I could buy another

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Just a great car that does everything"

Cons: "Defrosting mirrors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Handles well, accellerates, and has been reliable. It's the right size and was priced right. If I could buy another, I would. Especially if it was a hybrid. Unfortunately, Toyota made it bigger. The hybrid version is not worth a 25% higher price."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

13 years of great driving!

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"After 13 years and 180,000 miles it's finally time to put my Highlander to pasture. It's been a great car with only minor issues - some minor rust on the roof and the leather driver's seat is cracked with age. Drives beautifully, nicely appointed (we got the Limited with all the bells and whistles), and pretty decent mileage. Solid construction - saved our lives when rear-ended on the highway a few years back. Great car - going to miss it!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Reliable transport for people and things

By on Sunday, April 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,518

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable and easy to drive. No problems."

Cons: "Slight tears in luggage compartment floor matting"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Toyota Highlander drives like a car, transports people comfortably around town and up to the snow. Optional 4 WD is wonderful. Will carry cargo or passengers with ease. Very reliable car. I have kept all records and it is in good condition. Its also a beautiful forest green color with beige interior."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great in the snow. Solid made car."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everything works and works well. Only issue I ever had was the the tires that came with the car were of poor quality. That was solved as soon as they wore out and were replaced with better tires."

Good Value

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very reliable transportation"

Cons: "Ride not as smooth as a car or new truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought used in 2008. Not the smoothest ride even after changing tires, but have had no mechanical problems at all! The only expenses have been routine wear & tear, tires & brakes and of course oil, fluids etc."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My best car.

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "depedable car all the time."

Cons: "needed more places to store things."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I enjoy driving this car as much as i did the first year. No problems with it , and good milage during long trips."

Most trouble free car I have ever owned

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive/not too large/but plenty big"

Cons: "drive leg room little tight for tall men-long trip"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this SUV--perfect for a couple or small family--plenty of cargo room with third row seat folded (never used these). Just a great all around vehicle. Gas mileage about what was estimated. Have never had to do anything by change the oil and routine maintience to this suv. (new tires recently & wiper blades). I have owned this suv for seven years, bought it new."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very reliable car.

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had no trouble out of my Highlander. We are an older couple and we bought the Toyota because it was easy to get in and out of and because of reports of reliability. Smooth riding, quiet, and comfortable. When we get another car it will be another Highlander."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By far the best car I've purchased

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, smooth ride"

Cons: "no rear a/c and heating vents"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've only had two repairs in ten years!"

Very comfortable, dependable & powerfull car!

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,200

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good condition & good price with automatic start."

Cons: "Low gas milelidge......."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"One owner with low miles (65,000) & auto start feature......"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Highlander near Honolulu. See local deals