Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2004 Toyota Highlander

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 782 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 28 29 30 ... 32 | Next

Mileage Not What Its Cracked Up To Be

By on Thursday, October 04, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"I like this car but the mileage is about 8-10mpg consistantly below what was represented when I purchased the vehicle. Even worse when my husband drives it."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good Family Car

By on Thursday, October 04, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This SUV was not my favorite to look at, but it was my favorit to drive. Tested 2007 Mercury Mariner, Mountaineer, 4Runner, Pilot, CRV, RAV-4, and Explorer and this is the only one that felt solid and still drove like a car (rather than like a truck). It has enough room for a young family of four to take weekend getaways with all the stuff (stroller, car seats, portable crib, clothes, etc.). It's a great SUV if you want quality and safety. If you want frills and cheap plastic you can look at the Mercury or Fords. Should last for a long time."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Would buy another!!

By on Wednesday, October 03, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"This has been a great vehicle. Was not sure at first, but we are very pleased. Have used the 3rd seat more than expected (good addition & folds flat). Power is plenty, comfortable on long trips, and decent on gas. Just wish that we would have spent more for leather, would have been easier to clean."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

WHAT A CAR!

By on Saturday, September 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My 2002 Highlander has been the most wonderful car that I've ever owned. At the time that I bought it I was looking at a Pathfinder also. I had not even heard of Highlanders at that time. The Highlander rode as smooth and comfortable as a nice car - can't say the same for the Pathfinder. I get the oil changed regularly and filters, keep good tires on it and have had ZERO problems in the 6 years I've had it. GREAT CAR!!!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, September 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, September 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, September 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Overall- Nice

By on Monday, September 24, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Love the Highlander except for: Needs more leg room, the steering wheel doesn't go up very far to accomodate long legs. Not enough horsepower to handle a large towing load."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I ever had

By on Saturday, September 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Quiet, comfortable, spacious yet small enough to fit in my garage"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Value, Gas Saver, Fun to drive

By on Saturday, September 22, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"We purchased a used 2001 Totyota Highlander 4 Cyl in February 2007. Not only does this vehicle get approx 25 miles a gallon, but the repair and maintenance costs are extremely low! We have taken the vehicle on several road trips and yet am I to put more than $200 into repairs on this vehicle. 105k miles and runs like a top. I reccommend this to anyone who wants a safe fun and affordable vehicle. They look clean and drive extemely well. With todays gas prices, there is not a better choice I have made this year! Go get one!"

85 people out of 90 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, September 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

10 people out of 18 found this review helpful

my wife's favorite vehicle

By on Saturday, September 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"this car is an excellent all around suv the styling is great handling is superb easy entry both front and rear seats plenty of leg sholder hip room for driver and pass cargo space is great tire wear was better than expected ride is excellent"

26 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Friday, September 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have been very pleased with my 2004 2WS 6cyl Highlander. I leased it Aug 2004, currently has 30k miles. Like it so much I am going to buy it. I had nothing but trouble with Nissan and Ford before I got this SUV. I have had to do nothing to it except gas, oil change & a new set of tires (didn't rotate the originals as I should have) It's comfortable, handles well, pick-up is good & feels 'luxury' compared to my friends SUV's. It's reliable, cools off quickly and warms up nice in the winter. I couldn't be happier!!"

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Good All Weather Ride

By on Friday, September 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Used this 4WD SUV for work ,traveling thru out the south an north of America.It preformed everywhere as if it was built for that area.It handle hills,snow,rain,heat,bad roads,all with a comfortable mirgin of assurability, that it could easly handle the road conditions I found myself in at the time.All this with good mileage."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

By on Friday, September 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"No major problems with my 2004. Just replaced the tires at 55k and then the brakes at 65k. Other than that...nothing more than routine oil changes and flushes. I drive in heavy traffic and on the highway daily and its handles well through those conditions. I have had no problems in the snow or rain."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

A GOOD DEAL!!

By on Thursday, September 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this SUV from a local dealer. My initial inspection of the vehicle included sticking my finger in the oil fill location on top of the engine. Guess what? It was full of sludge. If the oil is not changed on time Toyota had a problem. Seems they did not have vents in the valve covers. This caused sludge to build up in the top of the engine. To my suprise the dealer sayed Toyota would put a new engine in at NO CHARGE and sell me the vehicle for the same price 14,900. The chassis had 84000 miles on it but was extremely tight. So I have an 02 with a new motor. 600 miles so far and purrs like a kitten. I was even able to get an extended warranty after the initial 1 yr on the new motor, So far I'm happy! Can't wait to see how the 4 wheel drive works in the snow. Made my purchase August 07."

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, September 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Safest Car Ever

By on Tuesday, September 11, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"We were in a car accident with our Toyota Highlander and we believe it saved our lives. We would recommend everyone to get one of these cars. We are going to buy the exact same kind of car."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, September 08, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

Classiest SUV

By on Friday, September 07, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Classy, roomy, sturdy good-looking suv. A bit noisy, (like a truck) but very reliable and comfortable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I Have Owned

By on Wednesday, September 05, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Without a doubt this is the best and most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. It has everything I have ever wanted in a car and the reliability is excellent. I used to look under the hood every week on other cars, but I seldom do anymore because of the trust I have for this car. A person just cannot go wrong with this car and I will be trading in my 2003 for a 2008 Highlander."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Money well worth spent

By on Friday, August 31, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"Purchased a 2004 front wheel drive V6 (3.3L) Highlander in Jan 2004. Put about 70K on it and to date I’ve had no problems whatsoever. Maintenance is reasonable. The large tires did cost around $600+ to replace. Otherwise, maintenance costs are pretty much standard. One thing to note is that if the front tires start to wear, you’ll hear a screeching sound when you corner hard, so make sure to rotate the tires regularly and keep good tread on the front tires (I noticed this same behavior on my Toyota Camry Solara). Gas mileage for my vehicle is roughly 24.8 mpg overall with about 75% highway driving. On all-highway trips I got as good as 560 miles out of a single tank (driving between 60-65mph non-stop). Despite not being an all-wheel drive model, it handled extremely well in snow and I found that it pulled itself out of high snow. It is a very quiet ride but sort of boring. It has great pick-up in acceleration but lacks real passing power once over 65mph (which is pretty much normal). I’d recommend this vehicle to any small family who would probably otherwise waste money on a larger SUV. This one is well-built, gets excellent gas mileage for its size, and fits any family-oriented individual."

23 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Sunday, August 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the best vehicle I've ever owned. Great ride and handling and no problems at all for almost 90000 miles."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

2001 Highlander

By on Saturday, August 25, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

"I bought this vehicle used. Within one year of ownership I had a terrible oil sludge problem. Toyota dealership would not honor a recall order to pay for 100% of repairs. They only paid 50%. Uncomforatable seating front and back. I used to love Toyota vehicles, now I am totally turned off! I'm going back to a Ford Explorer."

15 people out of 19 found this review helpful

beware

By on Friday, August 24, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"major transmission problems on AWD between 60-80k. toyota will not acknoledge..."

14 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 28 29 30 ... 32 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Highlander near Honolulu. See local deals