Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2004 Toyota Highlander

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 761 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 153 | Next

very dependable....

By on Thursday, July 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "feel safe, comfortable, acceptable mileage per gal"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"although this vehicle has been used and has signs of use, the mechanical function is fine.....this vehicle still has many miles of good use at a good price, well below book value.."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've purchased.

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfortable and good design"

Cons: "cup holders on floor next to driver inconvenient"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the best and most reliable vehicle I've owned. I purchased it 2 yrs used. As on older woman, it is perfect for me with a hatchback for loading groceries, equipment and boards from hardware store. I've had only routine maintenance needed and a few other repairs (a/c work, sensors and a bumper replaced). The car still gives me 20-23 mpg! which is what it was when I purchased it. Was told by dealer that this car has a good engine."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

The best car I ever owned

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Overall great SUV. Drives well, breaks great."

Cons: "No middle holders betwen front seats. No cup holde"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in 2003 with 45,000K. now it has 154K. I've never had any problems with this car, at all. I did the normal things anyone would do like changing the oil every 5K. Lately changing out the struts, shocks, wheels and a transmission back flush. This car could go another 100K easy, but now I want something newer. I was told in the three different states I've lived in. CA, NC and NY, every dealership told me this car had the least problems of all the subsequent Highlanders ever since. I guess they got it right the first time."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Reliable and economic

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value, reliable and easy to enjoy"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our 2007 Toyota Highlander hybrid was bought to be a more fuel efficient SUV. It has been that and more. While seldom using the third row seats, we have used this vehicle for many vacations, daily commutes and many other trips. The roof rack allows room for cargo carriers and toys like our kayaks. The well appointed leather interior with 5 disc cd changer makes the occasional long waits in traffic very comfortable. We have averaged between 26-27 MPG for the 6+ years since we bought it. It has earned our loyalty to the brand."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I LOVE THIS CAR

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Visibility, fantastic handling, spacious"

Cons: "MPH is lower than I would like"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been fantastic. It handles amazingly in rainy and snowy conditions. My little 4 cylinder towed a U-Haul across the country no problem. Great visibility from the driver's seat, with minimal blind spots. Very spacious, and works fantastic for a car full of people or a car loaded with sports gear. Only thing I would change is mileage - I would prefer something with a little better. I get about 18 mpg city and 21 mpg highway. Overall, I hope to continue owning Highlanders my entire life."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 153 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Highlander near Honolulu. See local deals