Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2003 Toyota Highlander

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 773 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 78 | Next

Very comfortable and would buy again.

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very comfortable with good gas mileage."

Cons: "Wish Toyota used a timing chain instead of a belt."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We purchased the vehicle in 2008 with 18,000 miles on it at the time. We added the rest to date. It has been a very good car. I do all the oil changes myself at 3,000 miles and use a conventional oil. The major mechanical issue came at 100,000 miles when we had to replace the power steering rack and pump. An issue with some Highlanders. The timing belt service was done at 90,000 miles. Other than that it has been flawless. My regular mechanic feels that since we are approaching 200,000 miles that we should start looking for another vehicle. It has been a good car, but I really don't want to drive it until the wheels fall off. Better safe than sorry."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

THEE most reliable vehicle ever!!!

By on Sunday, August 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,225

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, Reliability, nice ride, LOADS of room!"

Cons: "Sorry, nothing negative to say!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The ONLY reason that the "Value" rating is a 9 vs. 10 is that it IS an eleven year old vehicle. This SUV is without a doubt, the BEST Toyota that I have owned; and I have owned more than one Toyota! The only reason that I am selling this vehicle is because I am purchasing another Toyota. This SUV has served its purpose for the years that I drove it...now I am moving to a smaller version of my favorite, most reliably manufactured vehicle. I purchased new tires (within the last year). This vehicle is serviced as Toyota suggests. If you take care of these vehicles,they will take care of you! It drives very safely in the snow and I was never worried about driving it in inclement weather. There is tons of room and I am always the first to get the call if someone needs help with moving-ANYTHING!"

Reliable and comfortable

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, still looks and rides great"

Cons: "sunroof motor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Only two problems in 10 years - sunroof motor went out right out of warranty and Toyota would not fix ($1K repair), and needs new rotors at 140K. Some cracking on driver's side leather. Overall very happy with car and would buy another Toyota or Lexus SUV."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

EXCELLENT CAR AMAITAINED VERY WELL ONE OWNER

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"EXCELLENT"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

The best vehicle ever! I love it.

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, can haul lots of things."

Cons: "The radio could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This vehicle is a one owner, always driven on highways, local and long distance trips. The inside has leather seats and always been cleaned and taken care of. The outside has a few nicks, but nothing severe. The SUV has Michelin tires, and they have been rotated on a regular basis. Oil changes and check-ups regular at the same dealership. Gas mileage is good. Approx 22 miles to the gallon. Gold color with cashmere color inside."

excellent running vehicle, perfect for work

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price drives great"

Cons: "needs some minor body work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"engine in top shape, body needs some work. Just passed NYS Inspection."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Thursday, July 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 217,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good reliable vehicle. Would buy another."

Cons: "Mileage isn't great for its size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Normal maintenance, Toyota reliability. Bought two more Toyota's after this one! Drives well at 217,000. Hope it goes for another 217k."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

very dependable....

By on Thursday, July 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "feel safe, comfortable, acceptable mileage per gal"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"although this vehicle has been used and has signs of use, the mechanical function is fine.....this vehicle still has many miles of good use at a good price, well below book value.."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've purchased.

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfortable and good design"

Cons: "cup holders on floor next to driver inconvenient"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the best and most reliable vehicle I've owned. I purchased it 2 yrs used. As on older woman, it is perfect for me with a hatchback for loading groceries, equipment and boards from hardware store. I've had only routine maintenance needed and a few other repairs (a/c work, sensors and a bumper replaced). The car still gives me 20-23 mpg! which is what it was when I purchased it. Was told by dealer that this car has a good engine."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

The best car I ever owned

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Overall great SUV. Drives well, breaks great."

Cons: "No middle holders betwen front seats. No cup holde"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in 2003 with 45,000K. now it has 154K. I've never had any problems with this car, at all. I did the normal things anyone would do like changing the oil every 5K. Lately changing out the struts, shocks, wheels and a transmission back flush. This car could go another 100K easy, but now I want something newer. I was told in the three different states I've lived in. CA, NC and NY, every dealership told me this car had the least problems of all the subsequent Highlanders ever since. I guess they got it right the first time."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 78 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Highlander near Honolulu. See local deals