Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2001 Toyota Highlander

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 809 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 31 32 33 | Next

2001 Highlander

By on Saturday, August 25, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

"I bought this vehicle used. Within one year of ownership I had a terrible oil sludge problem. Toyota dealership would not honor a recall order to pay for 100% of repairs. They only paid 50%. Uncomforatable seating front and back. I used to love Toyota vehicles, now I am totally turned off! I'm going back to a Ford Explorer."

15 people out of 19 found this review helpful

beware

By on Friday, August 24, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"major transmission problems on AWD between 60-80k. toyota will not acknoledge..."

14 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Be careful

By on Thursday, August 23, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

"I bought this car less than a year ago and now the rear differential is gone...it is under warranty but a sign of things to come...at the dealer we asked if it is safe to drive the car and we recieved an "i dont know" All i can do is wait and see..."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this SUW

By on Thursday, August 23, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car drives like a car not like other SUVs that I test drove. The other SUV drove more like trucks. I am not happy that I owe more on the car than it is worth but whatever. I am sure it will last a long time without problems. Ours has the third row seat we have used it only a few time but it is very comfy. We have owned it for two years and have not had any trouble with it. My only regret is it is only a 4 cyl and we cannot tow."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Thursday, August 23, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"This vehicle is fun to drive, tough, nice extras. The only thing of concern is the mileage - I have only been able to get up to 25 miles/gallon not nearly the advertised gas mileage. During this past winter I only got 14 miles per gallon."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good vehicle

By on Wednesday, August 22, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought new in '02 for my wife. V6 2wd. No issues ever, pushing close to 85K miles to date. Replaced the tires at 57K miles and will do it again at around 115K. Brakes are original and have plenty of life left. Had a check engine light come on once which was generated by a vacuum hose that came off when checking the air cleaner. Popped the hose on and reset the light, no more light. I love the fact that I can reach the oil filter from the top and get a pan underneath without have to lift the car. I do my own maintenance and it is wasy to work on. I tow a utility trailer to Home Depot and to the compost station every weekend and have no issues with lack of power. It has plenty of headroom to get the kids in and out of their seats and the dogs are comfortable in the back. We average 22-23 mpg with normal dirving. Less when I drive, more when traveling on trips. Had the wife, 2 kids, grandma and a dog with us on a recent trip into the White Mountains as was towing a UHaul Sport trainer. Had no problem earning that speeding ticket in Tamworth, NH while passing slower cars going up hill. Managed 22 mpg on that trip with the car and trailer loaded up with AC on the whole time. We will buy another, if only for the 3rd row seat."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Highlander hybrid

By on Sunday, August 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This vehicle has performed flawlessly for the 2 1/2 years that we have owned it. No service other than standard maintenance. Gas milage a little disappointing (varies between 22 and 34), but still much better than the non-hybrid Highlander owned by friends. Acceleration is phenomenal, steering is a little heavy."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

m

By on Sunday, August 19, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"when you press down on the gas for there is a delay that worries me if you need to have quick action. the design of the front seat area is maddening. things get lost and I need to stop the car get out and reach under the opening to recover the item. little things are breaking. the cover over the storage area doesnt stay hooked. the air filter inside the car was loaded-didnt even know it was there. something is spewing white lint throughout the care all the time. so far it is little things but I am no happy. Yes it runs ok."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Solid performer

By on Saturday, August 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Needs ability to turn off air vents independently. If air is on, everyones vents are on, which is annoying to sensitive people."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2nd to none

By on Saturday, August 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Our family does alot of traveling, and I couldn't imagine feeling any safer or more comfortable in anything else. Definitely recommend the LIMITED package. My wife really,really,wants the new 2008 highlander. I imagine we will be testdriving it soon!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, August 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"my Highlander is by far the best vehicle I've ever owned. It rides like a Camry and I've had no problems with it since the day I bought it. I love this SUV, and I'll buy another one next year."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Extremely reliable, excellent vehicle overall

By on Saturday, August 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 2003 Highlander new. I adhere to the recommended maintenance schedule and never have had any problem with it. It rides extremely smoothly, like a luxury car rather than a SUV, thanks to Toyota's car-based chassis design. Plenty of rear leg room and cargo room. I don't do any towing so I decided on a 4-cylinder. Yet it has plenty of power to get on the highway or pass trucks on the interstate. I average about 20 mpg in town and 24-26 mpg on the highway. I only have two minor complaints after owning this car for four years. First, the air -conditioning "on" button is not well lit enough to see in a bright and sunny day. It's even worse if I have my sunglasses on. I often have to guess if the air conditioning is on or not. Second, I find the side mirros a little too small. But then again these could be just my own idiosyncrasies. I will definitely buy a Highlander again or recommend this to a friend. It is a mechanically sound, well-designed and dependable vehicle with excellent resale value."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Happy MRS.

By on Friday, August 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought used 2002 awd Limited[40k] for my wife because RAVA4 was too small. Just sold with 110000miles to my niece. Bought 2003 certified Highlander[60k] Limited and she loves the awd;especially during winter! BEST car ever."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, August 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

I recommend to BUY it}}}}}}}}}

By on Wednesday, August 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Best Car I have owned I recommend it"

By on Wednesday, August 15, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Love this car

By on Wednesday, August 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"We have a 2004 and it has been a great car, reliable, with many good features including heated seats. I will buy another Highlander based on this experience."

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Awesome Vehicle

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This vehicle has it all! The best I've ever had-nothing bad to say. Buy one!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Toyota Lover

By on Monday, August 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This was the first Toyota of many vehicles that I have owned; I wouldn't buy any other make now that I have driven a Toyota. The Highlander is comfortable, roomy but not to big. Perfect for families that want 3rd row seating but not minivan or a huge SUV. Highly Recommended!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, August 13, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
5/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 14 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, August 12, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, August 11, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

never again

By on Wednesday, August 08, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
1/10

"I got a Highlander at my husband's suggestion as we were looking for decent gas mileage combined with room for our 5 children. I was told the vehicle had excellent gas mileage and a great resale value along with reliability found in Toyota products. I liked the look of the vehicle but my enthusiasm stops dead there. The day after I bought the Highlander, I drove it to Florida from NY and I NEVER was so uncomfortable in my life in a vehicle! The driver's seat is hard on the rear. Add to that, the gas mileage was NOT as good as I was led to believe and the acceleration of the Highlander is wacky. It does very little when you press to accelerate in certain situations and so you press harder and it lurches into hyper drive. The aerodynamics are TERRIBLE as well. If you have any window down at 40 mph or more, the whole car rumbles with a terrible vibration of air that hurts the eardrums. The biggest downer is that I have been trying to get rid of it for the almost 2 years I have had it and I can't. For some reason I owe 10K MORE than what I could trade it in for....and my payments are 550 monthly. So much for holding value!! I will NEVER again buy a Toyota...bad experience overall. Give me the gas guzzling Suburban any day!!"

11 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 31 32 33 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Highlander near Honolulu. See local deals