Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2001 Toyota Highlander

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 789 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next

I love my Highlander!

By on Saturday, May 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable, great pickup"

Cons: "Noise when rear window is down"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best vehicle I've owned. It's cost me very little over the years. There were a couple of recalls that the dealer took care of."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

A reliable car

By on Thursday, May 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, reliable, low $ to maintain"

Cons: "no cup holders in front"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned my Toyota Highlander for two years. I love it, it is very reliable and have had no repair work done. I have only the normal maintenance (oil changes, tune ups, brakes and tires.) I bought this to drive on road trips. It does good. I do wish it had a bit more leg room. I do not have a cup holder in the front, there are 8 in the back two rows!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car ever!

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, excellent on gas, reliable, NO ISSUES"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I never thought I'd give up my Volvo...but never going back!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Owned Toyota's for 36 years and this is best yet.

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "As far as I'm concerned there are no real con's to"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great looks, ride,handling as well as convenience in carrying cargo. Only reason I'm selling this car is I have 2 and wife does not drive anymore so selling both cars and buying a single car. Guess what? an Avalon. Sold solid on Toyota's."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very quiet, smooth riding. Very happy I bought it.

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Helps bring down high fuel costs."

Cons: "Limited edition is pricey."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is not an off road vehicle. Very good gas milage in town."

I love this car. At 87 years of age, it is too big

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It is easy to drive, a perfect car."

Cons: "It is too big for me now, at 87 years of age"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"At 87 years of age, I suffer from arthritis. It is difficult to step up into the car. And I no longer need such a big car. But it has served me perfectly. I just want something smaller"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this car,

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best handling ever"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Has few minor issues, but is still the best car ever"

Wish I could buy another

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Just a great car that does everything"

Cons: "Defrosting mirrors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Handles well, accellerates, and has been reliable. It's the right size and was priced right. If I could buy another, I would. Especially if it was a hybrid. Unfortunately, Toyota made it bigger. The hybrid version is not worth a 25% higher price."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

13 years of great driving!

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"After 13 years and 180,000 miles it's finally time to put my Highlander to pasture. It's been a great car with only minor issues - some minor rust on the roof and the leather driver's seat is cracked with age. Drives beautifully, nicely appointed (we got the Limited with all the bells and whistles), and pretty decent mileage. Solid construction - saved our lives when rear-ended on the highway a few years back. Great car - going to miss it!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Reliable transport for people and things

By on Sunday, April 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,518

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable and easy to drive. No problems."

Cons: "Slight tears in luggage compartment floor matting"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Toyota Highlander drives like a car, transports people comfortably around town and up to the snow. Optional 4 WD is wonderful. Will carry cargo or passengers with ease. Very reliable car. I have kept all records and it is in good condition. Its also a beautiful forest green color with beige interior."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great in the snow. Solid made car."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everything works and works well. Only issue I ever had was the the tires that came with the car were of poor quality. That was solved as soon as they wore out and were replaced with better tires."

Good Value

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very reliable transportation"

Cons: "Ride not as smooth as a car or new truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought used in 2008. Not the smoothest ride even after changing tires, but have had no mechanical problems at all! The only expenses have been routine wear & tear, tires & brakes and of course oil, fluids etc."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My best car.

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "depedable car all the time."

Cons: "needed more places to store things."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I enjoy driving this car as much as i did the first year. No problems with it , and good milage during long trips."

Most trouble free car I have ever owned

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive/not too large/but plenty big"

Cons: "drive leg room little tight for tall men-long trip"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this SUV--perfect for a couple or small family--plenty of cargo room with third row seat folded (never used these). Just a great all around vehicle. Gas mileage about what was estimated. Have never had to do anything by change the oil and routine maintience to this suv. (new tires recently & wiper blades). I have owned this suv for seven years, bought it new."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very reliable car.

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had no trouble out of my Highlander. We are an older couple and we bought the Toyota because it was easy to get in and out of and because of reports of reliability. Smooth riding, quiet, and comfortable. When we get another car it will be another Highlander."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By far the best car I've purchased

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, smooth ride"

Cons: "no rear a/c and heating vents"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've only had two repairs in ten years!"

Very comfortable, dependable & powerfull car!

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,200

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good condition & good price with automatic start."

Cons: "Low gas milelidge......."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"One owner with low miles (65,000) & auto start feature......"

MY LAST TOYOTA!!

By on Thursday, March 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "NICE ROAD MANNERS, ALL WHEEL DRIVE WORKS WELL"

Cons: "ALWAYS BROKEN, NOT RELIABLE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"THIS COULD BE A GREAT VEHICLE……BUT IT FALLS APART FASTER THAN I CAN KEEP UP-TRANNY IS SLIPPING ( DEALER SAYS NEW TRANNY NEEDED $4000)-POWER WINDOWS BPOKEN(DEALER SAYS THEY ALL DO JUST NEEDS CLIPS IN DOOR FRAME, NOT AVAILABLE MUST BUY ASSEMBLY $1000)-HEATER CONTROL BROKEN (DEALER SAYS THIS FAILS IN ALL HIGHLANDERS, PART NOT AVAILABLE MUST BUY ENTIRE ASSEMBLY $1200)-POWER DOOR LOCKS BROKEN, ALWAYS HAVE A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON (CURRENTLY TRACTION CONTROL) WHEEL BEARINGS NEED REPLACING-THE END OF THE STORY IS IT WILL COST MORE TO REPAIR THAN THE VEHICLE IS WORTH…..CALL ME DUMB BUT I DID THIS WHOLE LIST ABOVE WITH A 2002 SEQUOIA….. NO MORE TOYOTA'S!!!!!"

2 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I LOVE my Highlander & tell people how much !

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort, fun, holds a lot, great size, easy 2 park"

Cons: "Could use some more cup holders in front, on door?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got my Highlander new from the dealership. It is the ONLY new car I have ever had. I got it in 2001 & have put 90k on it in 13 years. I love the fact it is reliable, it will go when I need it to & we can fit MORE into this car than I could EVER imagine & still be comfortable. It is AWESOME in the snow (we added 'Siped' tires) but I push the "ACS Snow" button & I go places that regular 4wheel drive CANNOT DO. It's something I value. I haven't had many chances to use it living in Metro/Oregon, but it has NEVER let me down. The car turns as easily as my Camry's did, GREAT turn-radius. I can park in ANY situation. The color is Electric Green MICA & get compliments about the brilliant, rich green & in the right light it is more hidden & looks like a shimmering black with a hint of green. We have spent the night in it with seats down in back, moved, traveled, done trips to every activity my daughter needed to go & more ! My daughter even learned to drive & then got her own Driver's License in this car ! It is a car I would not want to be without !"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Liminetd addition, allways garaged, mich tires

By on Tuesday, March 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Live on a mountain road great vehicle."

Cons: "Third row seats never used"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"vehicle was top of the line when purchased new, dealer install trailer hitch, michaeln tires by dealer aprox at 20K, serviced by the book allways mobil 1 oil, full size spair tire, silver in color ,cleaned and waxed each year. MUST SEE VEHICLE"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I have owned this car for 6 years with few problem

By on Sunday, March 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "gas mileage is only fair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"For the money it has been an excellent buy"

Good SUV, comfortable

By on Tuesday, February 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Devaluation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Car great.....bummed about its resale value!!"

The Highlander is a wonderful car.

By on Tuesday, February 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Highlander! It is a fantastic family car: comfortable, reliable and easy to drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love the liability & comfort. Hate the apholstry!

By on Friday, February 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "Upholstry sucks!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great vehicle all around except the upholstry is terrible."

BEST driving

By on Monday, February 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It was a little expensive but worth it to us."

Cons: "A little expensive! But it was a hybrid."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We've had our Highlander SUV for 8 years - purchased new. We've taken family vacations and done a lot of around-the-town driving, and we've had only one major problem, which was covered under warranty. We've also kept current on all servicing. Tustin Toyota has been a marvelous resource for all service (we bought the car there), and it is just perfect for me and my bad back, since I can slip into and out of the car without bending over and/or struggling to get into or out of it."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Highlander near Honolulu. See local deals