Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2001 Toyota Highlander

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 804 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Total Trouble free SUV!!!

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 271,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle when it was 5 years old and 50,000 miles. It is now 14 years old and has 271,000 miles and it has NEVER been in the shop nor had Anything wrong with it !!!!! Other than oil changes which I am not the best at remembering either, this car has been wonderful and is still going strong!! I totally want another one but will keep this one til it dies!"

Best vehicle ever

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Maintenance free"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this SUV new. In the 10 years I have owned it, other than routine maintenence and tires, it has never ever had anything go wrong with it. I have never owned a vehicle as reliable and trouble free as this Toyota."

Highlander

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 255,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very well built vehicle, low maintenance"

Cons: "Not great pulling or tow abilities"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this vehicle new and have driven almost every one of the 25,000 miles onit. It has been an excellent vehicle, never given me any problems. Gass milage has dropped about 2 mpg from new 35 in town and 25 on the highway (I still check. This is a hybrid vehicle and in retrospect was not the best choice. Most of my miles are highway and the hybrid doesn't have the same benefit on the highway as if I was in town."

Best car I have ever owned

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very reliable and luxurious."

Cons: "no heated seats."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Maintenance only on this vehicle . Very comfortable leather seats. I'd buy another one like this in a minute. I purchase all the upgrades except the sun roof. I don't have heated seats."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Really reliable car except...

By on Monday, March 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Handling, reliability. Exterior styling."

Cons: "Road noise, Cheap looking interior. radio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have the 2007 toyota Highlander SPORT. I have 170k on it and it is still running strong! But in the past 50k miles I have noticed a few small annoying problems... Like sometimes (I would say a not to often but it happens enough to be noticeable) the radio will glitch and it will scramble the things on it, and when that happens you cant change the station, the volume, etc after a while it will fix itself. There is also a lot of road noise, after a while of driving your bosom starts to hurt because the seats are hard. The interior feels and looks kinda cheap. BUT NOW ON TO THE GOOD THINGS!!!! The exterior of the car looks really good! Plus it is durable! And it is fast for being a SUV. And just the way the V6 sounds when your accelerating on the highway. The SUV Handles surprisingly well and nimble. And they run forever!!! I would recommend it to anyone and everyone."

I love this ride!

By on Sunday, March 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the BEST car I have owned for business travel. Almost to 150K miles and I think I will easily double that! Great handling in snow and rain. Large enough to carry cargo but not too big for City driving."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very sound mechanically.

By on Sunday, March 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good power, mpg"

Cons: "poor quality interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I bought this vehilce used, for use as wife's work car and family trips. It has been very good mechanically. No problems or issues to speak of. The gas mileage is much better around town (most of our driving) than non-hybrid of same size, but not so impressvie on the highway at 70+ mph. Things I like about it: Good power and excellent torque from the hybrid system, decent looking style, comfortable, not unpleasant to drive, Things I don't like about it: Torque steer is really bad during hard acceleration at lower speeds, vinyl on sides of leather seats cracks (see pictures of other used ones-they all do it), not impressive mpg at highway speeds, small rust spots in paint on tail gate (I don't know if it is common for these vehicles, or just mine), generally poor quality on interior. Overall, it has been a good vehicle, dependable and better than average mpg during $4.00/gallon times."

It's a snow machine!

By on Tuesday, February 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great in snow!"

Cons: "none worth mentioning"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this 2005 V6 with 35k miles and 2 years old, and now have 118k miles and it's 10 years old and it's been great. Our only repair was the heat, and ran us $800, but besides that it's been a great car. Fund to drive and amazing in the snow and ice! My wife is a teacher and has to drive in the snow all the time to work and it's been great."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

great car

By on Friday, February 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great performance and reliability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love it"

Exceptionally well maintained, pretty & clean.

By on Thursday, February 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quiet ride, drives like new, price below book."

Cons: "Can think of no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2001 Toyota Highlander Limited AWD

"Car has been an exceptional vehicle; reliable, quiet, comfortable with good room. Vehicle is single-owner, garage kept and have complete maintenance records and receipts. On Mobil 1 synthetic oil since 50,000 miles with most work done by Toyota dealership; oil & filter changed religiously @ 3000 mile interval. Car computer keeps track of mileage and was never reset: overall mileage since new is 22.6 mpg which is very good for an all-wheel drive vehicle. Car truly drives like new car. Looking to purchase new car and therefore am selling."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2001 Toyota Highlander Limited AWD

The best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Friday, February 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 233,385

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "Some rust spots from original plate screws"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"A very reliable all wheel drive vehicle."

Great Value

By on Thursday, February 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One repair in over 7 years. Strong like a truck but supple enough to feel like a car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Finest vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only thing I don't like about it is dash display info is hard to read in daytime with sunglasses on...should have made it brighter and in color."

7 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I Ever Owned

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent for Family and Long Trips!"

Cons: "For a 2003 I wish it got better GAS MILEAGE!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never gave me an once of trouble! In 12 years, replaced 2 Battery's. Drives and handles like a dream. You take care of it and it takes care of you. Maintenance only!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I ever owned.

By on Tuesday, January 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Served me well, very reliable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The vehicle is very reliable, comfortable and affordable."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

The best. Period. 223,000 mi.

By on Saturday, January 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "zero."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"All original except timing belt, spark plugs and 1 front wheel bearing. Of course tires and brakes. It doesn't get any better than that does it?"

13 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Wonderful, Troublefree Vehicle

By on Wednesday, January 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Size, quality, reliability, mileage, power"

Cons: "Not sexy, throttle-response with hybrid"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We have the hybrid Highlander, and in spite of its complexity it has proven to be totally reliable. We have not had a single failure with it. Overall size and interior layout is perfect for most uses. We really wouldn't want the larger, new ones. While not the toughest-looking SUV, it is a good design and built to a very high quality. We love the excellent visibility, unlike many newer vehicles. Our Hybrid gets an average of about 28mpg to top it off. It doesn't have quite the throttle response of a conventional vehicle, but that's a small price to pay for the mileage. We love it."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Absolutely a great vehicle

By on Tuesday, January 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality of vehicle, economy, interior size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Lowest maintenance vehicle we have ever owned; oil changes every 5,000 miles, tires around 60,000 miles, wiper blades twice. Electronics now beginning to exhibit "quirkiness" (some service lights come on without rhyme or reason and intermittently). Great gas mileage, excellent handling, good pick-up and steady, quiet ride."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Couldn't ask for a better car

By on Friday, January 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks, runs great, great mpg, no issues."

Cons: "Interior & Safety technology has moved on."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I can't believe this SUV is almost 10 years old. It still looks and runs great and hasn't given a lick of trouble in the slightest. I measured my gas mileage over last 750 miles at 29.4, usually am around 28. The electric motor gives the best acceleration not only off red light stops, but laid on top of gas at freeway speeds. Super safe, great car in every way, hard to improve on what its done."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

one of the best overall vehicles I have ever owned

By on Saturday, December 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "see above"

Cons: "little or no reason not to like it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It combines comfort, reliability, performance and quality which would be hard to beat. I have now owned it for over 9 years with little or no trouble at all. Decent power and roadability make it an overall winner, plus it has consistently been rated a top value vehicle by all of the rating agencies."

16 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Excellent Car

By on Wednesday, December 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the Highlander new. Other than oil change, tires, etc I have put no money for repairs into the car. Reliability is excellent. My next car will be a Highlander or one of their other SUVs. I am 100% satisfied."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Saturday, November 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, cost efficient, great drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased this car from original owner with 61000 miles. It has been the best, most dependable car I have ever owned. It is hybrid and averages over 25mpg consistently. I am looking for a newer used one now"

10 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I ever owned

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Purchase a 2015 Highlander

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, Handling, Styling, low maintenance"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car new in 2001. I purchased the Limited, V6, AWD version. Handled exceptionally, with plenty of room and the reliability is out of this world. The only major maintenance cost was replacement of the timing belt at the recommended ~100,000 miles but even that was only a few hundred at the dealer. Aside from tires and brake pads it has been absolutely trouble free. I sold it with 159,000 miles on it and I knew it easily had that many more trouble free miles left in it. Still drove like new and handled much much better than any SUV I have ever ridden in. Can't say enough good things about this vehicle. I sold it to a friend of mine, who I know will be very happy with it for many years to come."

8 people out of 17 found this review helpful

love this vehicle

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun and easy to drive."

Cons: "could use more and larger storage spaces."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This vehicle is very roomy, comfortable, and very easy to drive. It has a short turn radius which makes maneuvers in tight places very easy to do."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Outstanding SUV, reliable, comfortable and SOLID

By on Wednesday, October 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, drive, comfort, style and overall cla"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2001 Highlander Limited with 250,000 miles1

"I purchased this Highlanded (Limited) back in 2001 and have been the only owner. This is HANDS DOWN THE BEST vehicle I have ever owned! Toyota hit a Home Run with the Highlander. I have driven this Highlander 250,000 miles and it is Rock Solid! The 4WD drive is unequalled and the interior is spacious, quite and well designed. Mechanically this car is very impressive. You don't know the 6 cylinder engine is running. NO Major Mechanical peoblems, EVER! Original exhaust system is still in place after 14 years in rugged PA climate! Original Full Size spare tire has never been used. Let's see GM, FORD or Chrysler top that!"

12 people out of 14 found this review helpful

2001 Highlander Limited with 250,000 miles1

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Highlander near Honolulu. See local deals