Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Toyota FJ Cruiser Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $26,881 - $27,562.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $28,565

Fair Purchase Price $27,222
Fair Market Range ($26,881 - $27,562)

Invoice $26,628
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 6.8 of 10

10/6.8

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 465 Ratings for the 2007 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next

FJ Cruiser exceeds Land Cruiser Family expectation

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "High Quality and excellent reliability"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Eight years and 108K miles later this vehicle continues to deliver high quality daily commuting reliability and off road capability."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Hard to get in and out of with doors.Fun to drive.

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Suicide doors are bad in parking lots"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Fun to drive. Love the roominess inside! Hard to get in and out of vehicle in parking lots because of the suicide doors. Passengers complain about climbing in and out of vehicle. For the 2 of us, it's a great vehicle! Handled the icy/snowy mountain roads with ease."

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Superb off road

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Look at the videos of FJ's on Youtube"

Cons: "Blind spots."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The FJ is second only to a military HumVee for off road driving. If off roading is your reason to purchase a FJ you will not be disappointed. Downside: Blind spots!! and not the greatest gas mileage. Recommendations: If you buy one, put in the second gas tank. It makes a huge difference for long road trips or boon docking in the wilds of nowhere."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Off-road/ on road very very capable

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Manual shift to four-wheel-drive, simple and straightforward interior"

Cons: "Cheap front and rear plastic bumpers. I had to make my own front bumper"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this FJ for 6 years now. I love it. I do go off-road; however not serious off-road. Don't get me wrong, I have had to go thru some really bad stuff once or twice now and then and she did awesome. Mostly I take it off road(dirt/rock road), cross deep washouts (had to add a snorkel), pull a 5,000lb trailer with atvs for weekend camping and pulled plenty of people out of jams."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Not for everyone but just right for me!!!!!!

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "4x4great , comfort ride, toyota reliabilit!!!!"

Cons: "gas mileage, stereo,blindspots"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love this vehicle very 4x4 capable. Snow proplem at all very reliable .would not recommend if you have kids that ride in back seat alot the side doors are a little odd and frequent use would become annoying. If you want a ultra reliable and capable 4x4 that is also pretty comfortable for road driving check this one out you may love it too."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Most awesome vehicle ever! Besides Taco.

By on Sunday, June 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun, stylish, reliable, capable 4x4, fun to drive."

Cons: "Blind spot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have to say I was skeptical at first about its looks and abilities. But, now I love this SUV. If your looking for a SUV for an active family FJ is your answer. My family loves the outdoors. We do everything outside. We got the team trails in Army green my wife loves it. And so do I it's comfortable, stylish, capable and it's got rings on it which means reliable. This truck is a blunt instrument and will dominate any off road terrain. It's not for the none adventurous city lover. Now I don't know if it can follow Tacoma yet but, I'm sure it will do better than JEEP. Absolutely love this vehicle. Toyota or nothing."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love my FJ. new paint 2013, dependable, reliable

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great look, perfect Maui auto, fun to drive"

Cons: "it's not free, I love it, will be hard to replace"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my 2007 FJ Cruiser. It has great visibility, better than any car I've owned! I get 20 mpg, rarely use 4 wheel drive. The miles are highway and town use. Last year, I got a new paint job for cosmetic reasons only and it looks brand new. Great storage and hauling capacity. It comfortably seats at least 5 people. It has roof racks, running boards, skid plates, and tow package. I planned on keeping it forever, but I must sell it now."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome Rig

By on Sunday, May 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "handsome, fun, can go anywhere, easy to mod"

Cons: "can't fit in my carport (w/ lift kit mod)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fantastic truck. Fun to mod. Added a lift kit, giant tires, grills, racks, lights, etc. Hadn't had this much fun since my vw bug, except I never have to fix it, lol. Amazing off road capabilities. Back up camera makes up for blind spots. There are endless things to do this thing. You can drive it to work, or prep for the end of the world (or both). Only draw back is that it packs on the mileage fast (because you want to drive everywhere in it.) ; )"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

The best truck indeed

By on Friday, May 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Muscle Truck"

I love this car & hate to part with it.

By on Sunday, May 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Love this car on the freeway - It feels so safe."

Cons: "It doesn't have a top rack for my paddleboard."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Leaving for West Africa as volunteer nurse June 6, 14 for 6 months & have no place to keep the car. I'm sorry I do not have a picture. If you buy it it, you can take possession May 31. I have never had one single problem with it. Has excellent track record. The price is low. Drove it to Cabo & back alone. It was a dream in those mountains & scary narrow roads. It's black & white."

1 person out of 7 found this review helpful

Comfortable and Sytlish ORV!

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 415

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Style and Comfort"

Cons: "Blindspots"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fell in love with this car back in 07, after watching some off road show. Kept putting off purchasing one just did not seem practical at the time. Then I found out this was last year in production and decided it was time. Now that own one I have not regretted the decision. I have really enjoyed this car for the past few weeks. Mainly to and from work but plan on taking it off road in a few weeks. Should handle like a dream from what I have read, cannot wait. Overall very please with purchase."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Comfortable and Sytlish ORV!

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 415

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Style and Comfort"

Cons: "Blindspots"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fell in love with this car back in 07, after watching some off road show. Kept putting off purchasing one just did not seem practical at the time. Then I found out this was last year in production and decided it was time. Now that own one I have not regretted the decision. I have really enjoyed this car for the past few weeks. Mainly to and from work but plan on taking it off road in a few weeks. Should handle like a dream from what I have read, cannot wait. Overall very please with purchase."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Most trouble free vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, held its value, lots of compiments"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle has operated flawlessly since the day I purchased it. The only thing that took awhile getting use to was the low windshield visibility. Other than that, there is nothing negative I can say about this vehicle."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

stong and powerfull

By on Monday, April 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "looks space power towing"

Cons: "comfort back doors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"love the power and looks pulls my toys like a dream dont have a bad word to say about this awsome truck"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

So Far So Good

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for a week now and have put 150 miles on my 2014 FJ. I owned a 2012 Wrangler prior to this. The Wrangler was a blast since it was MT and you could take the top off. I love my FJ so far and am pretty sure nothing can stop it. The resale value on these is insane and I am glad I bought one new."

10 people out of 18 found this review helpful

The only vehicle I want to drive!

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "it's a beast! Hauls, goes through mud, reliable"

Cons: "Big blind spot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 2nd FJ (had 2007, traded for 2010), and I'm heartbroken they're not going to make them anymore! Comfortable enough for everyday city driving, but easily hauls horse trailer, hay, boat, jet skis, etc. When storms roll in, never have to worry whether I can get home over muddied dirt roads -- my FJ always gets me there."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best ever

By on Tuesday, February 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "A FUN CAR"

Cons: "GAS MILEAGE COULD BE BETTER"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"THIS F J STARTS UP IN -20 DEGREE WEATHER WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS HEATS UP FAST ENJOYABLE RIDE GETS AROUND IN ALL TYPES OF WEATHER ITS A GREAT LOOKING CAR INSIDE AND OUT TOOK 4 TEENAGERS TO FLORIDA HAD A LOT OF ROOM BOUGHT A TURTLE FOR THE TOP FOR THING WE BOUGHT SURF GEAR AND SUCH I LOVE THIS F J"

been a good car

By on Thursday, January 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "no problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"been a good car no problems in the year i have owned it,reason for selling is I am taking a job out of the country,has extended warranty up to 100,000"

Just a fun vehicle to drive

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun, reliable, tough, great in snow/mud, classy"

Cons: "gas mileage, but really......does it matter??"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"it's cool to have the options this vehicle provides. it's a grocery getter when there's 12" of snow on the roads, or a mountain trail conquerer if you have a saturday afternoon to kill. it will get you to the ski areas colorado provides. on the other hand, you can head back home, give it a quick wash and drive up to a valey station at a fancy restaurant and not feel awkward."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

My video 

left-hand canyon in Boulder, CO

fun,tough, go anywhere, multi purpose vehicle

By on Thursday, January 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great suv"

Cons: "gas mpg suck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is far and away the best 4x4 I have owned and I've had em all. Keep the skins good and it'll go anywhere. I have the TRD exhaust and intake and it has a good sound and great pep and pickup. It has Toyota's legendary durability. 78K miles with only reg sched maintenance! This is just a fun car to drive. Gas mileage sucks, creature comforts are slim (this adds to durability!) and a little tight on room. I'll take the negs as it such a great truck."

4x4 Desired-Go FJ Cruiser

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great for off roading!"

Cons: "Rear wiper, blind spots, gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the Yoda in '07 and thought I would tire of it in a year-I'm now trading in for a new one! If you want a 4x4, this is the vehicle. The closest comparison is a Jeep but there is so much more here than an out of the box Jeep Wrangler. Its more dependable, comfortable, and economical. As noted, its also a better 4x4 than a base Wrangler since it comes with standard rear locking diff. among other things. Its not perfect, there are blind spots, the rear wiper is pretty pathetic, and gas mileage is, well, horrible, but again-its a 4x4! Not the vehicle for everyone, but a great one-fun to drive and own!"

Perfect for Oregon, on or off road

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fabulous off-road out of the box."

Cons: "None. There's nothing I don't like about it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second FJ Cruiser. You have to own one to appreciate just how well designed, reliable and enjoyable they are to own and drive. Seriously, nothing compares to the FJ Cruiser. I was lucky enough to get the Trails Team Edition my second time around. I will never sell this car. Mine is fully stock and I intend to keep it that way. You won't believe how well it performs off-road, in snow, ice and mud. The comfort is exceptional. The highway driving characteristics rival most passenger cars. Hard to believe that a vehicle as comfortable as this can clock up a steep, rocky or slippery road with such authority."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

One of the toyota truck ever build,son of Lcruiser

By on Sunday, January 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,278

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had it since 2008 had 0 problem,only maintenance,best resale value"

Excellent daily driver & weekend trails explorer

By on Friday, January 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive, Ample power/torque and cargo space."

Cons: "Not a family car as it is not a true 4-door"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

Easy to drive in winter conditions

"Bought this vehicle for my wife as a daily driver for her and most weekends we can be found in the southern California mountains off-roading. Previously owned a Jeep Liberty/Renegade which was an "acceptable" 4wd vehicle - The FJ weighs about 1,400 lbs more and handles much better on snow/ice getting to our cabin. This vehicle is simply fun to drive and quite functional. Ample room for our two dogs, plenty of power/torque when needed. Resale value speaks volumes about this truck."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Easy to drive in winter conditions

Great off road, good on road

By on Wednesday, December 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Off road capabilities, fun to drive, style, value"

Cons: "Fuel consumption, visibility"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ok so it has blind spots, but what exotic car doesn't? My last car was a Porsche and visibility was far worse and it was just as thirsty at the pump. Bottom line, if you want a serious off road vehicle that still feels civilized driving around town with all the bells and whistles inside that we have grown accustomed to in newer cars (ie. Bluetooth, Satnav, back up cam, satellite radio, ect.), then look no further. At $28000-38000 it's good value to considering the other vehicles with similar capabilities (Jeep, Hummer, some 4x4 trucks) and like the Toyota Tacoma 4x4 and Jeep Wrangler will hold it's value. I will say this in closing, if you want a car to commute to and from work and carry your "2.5" kids to school but never take it off road, you might be dissatisfied. FJ's are purpose built for off road the fact that they are good on the road is a bonus. Get it off the beaten path and you won't be disappointed."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.