Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 476 Ratings for the 2007 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 48 | Next

This is my third SUV and it been the best so far!

By on Tuesday, October 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"All I can say it's the best SUV I ever had! Since I purchased my FJ from dealer its never been back! Replaced engine oil/filter every 5,000 miles and replace spark plugs, transmission, transfer case and axle oil every 30,000 miles, replace first set of tires at 50,000, front brakes only at 80,000 miles and rear brakes only at 90,000 miles. This is the only maintenance I have do on this FJ so far!"

13 people out of 25 found this review helpful

good vehicle with some minor inconveniences.

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I bought the FJ to try and recapture some of the nostalgia of my old fj40 Landcruiser. I like the new fj, but found some of the design elements to be inconvenient. Visibility to the rear is poor at best, the back up camera is a must. The other issue is the rear doors being the "suicide" style. Imagine being in a parking lot with cars parked close on either side, and you want to load your passengers, groceries, etc in the back seat. This happens more often than I would have ever noticed with another car. You have to open the front door to open the back side door to access the back seat, which will put you in the middle of the two doors and working a puzzle to get your stuff/people inside. The vehicle runs great, and exceeded my expectations for off road performance. The 2010 model also has stereo option that I have really enjoyed, with enhanced stock speakers and a subwoofer. I would recommend the vehicle, but not if you have kids, get a four door."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best off road vehicle I have ever owned!

By on Saturday, October 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,250

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "looks, pricing, hanldes great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle is worth the price. Sharp looking, handles great whether you are on the highway or off road. The sounds system is awesome."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best SUV since my military grade Hummer

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Re-sale, reliability, ride"

Cons: "no locking storage interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this vehicle and can't get the smile off my face. Wife and I are very fortunate. This was a specialty vehicle purchase. We have a sports car and a luxury liner in the garage already. So no complaints about this trying to be a all purpose vehicle. We bought it to get to the cabin in the winter and do some dune running. Could not be happier, looking forward to a long happy term of ownership. Like a Harley, too many toys to add to it!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very happy with this one

By on Sunday, October 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent off pavement"

Cons: "windshield angle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

Pick up day

"the FJ is an absolute blast to drive off the pavement. It's go anywhere suspension and drivetrain perform exceptionally well for a factory equipped vehicle. On pavement the ride quality is very good. It doesn't not have a rough or noisy ride as might be expected. The only downside is the windshield angle which seems to make it a little. Ore susceptible to chips from debris. I would definitely buy this again. Hopefully Toyota will bring it back, and offer a diesel option!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Pick up day

I drove a jeep wrangler and them a H3 and then FJ!

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It will go anywhere!!!"

Cons: "fuel eco. is poor but I expected it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Its the best off road vehicle available"

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

I live in the wilderness . . .

By on Sunday, September 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Gets me home"

Cons: "20 mpg, nice, 30, with more power would be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

It's also road trip worthy

"This rig gets me home during all seasons. In the winter, it takes me up the ice covered road, logging roads, to 5000 foot elevation. Think 4 foot snow pack, one foot of packed snow and ice, all curves. I have been stopped, but never stuck.Of course, part of this success is the driver. I'm not afraid to change my driving strategy. Sometimes it's too fast and slower works best, other times, forward progress is all about momentum. The only reason rigs fall off the road is the driver was moving it too fast. All this makes the ride home fun. I have a custom bumper with a winch, and the rig is armed for bear. Cheers, BW"

13 people out of 17 found this review helpful

It's also road trip worthy

Fun to Drive- More use to the younger Generation

By on Friday, September 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "18-20 Miles to Gallon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"People Notice and comment on the appearance positively"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

This rig is a tank!

By on Sunday, August 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Decent price, drives like a dream, looks good"

Cons: "Mileage, rear sight"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have always driven Toyotas, mostly early 80s to mid 90s model trucks with my exception of the world renown FJ40. The little lady talked me in to stepping into the new millennium so we were on the hunt for a new generation toy. I took a new 4runner and Tacoma for a spin, then I tried the FJ Cruiser which I never really thought much about. I fell in love after 1 block. The interior is awesome the pavement drivability was great, I had to have it. I've had it now for 2 years and still love it to death! Great power and awesome in snow conditions. Never had a single issue with this 'truck' it is an 08 bought with 57k miles and now close to 90k and still feels brand new. Only thing I'm 50-50 on is no traction control disability is 2 or 4 high. I've come to grips it just prevents me from doing something I might regret. Mileage isn't great but I won't get caught dead in a hybrid!"

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

no comment. except , its a car to really own.

By on Thursday, August 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,480

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "none"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"beautiful car. you will be proud to own it"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 48 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota FJ Cruiser near Honolulu. See local deals