Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 450 Ratings for the 2007 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next

I live in the wilderness . . .

By on Sunday, September 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Gets me home"

Cons: "20 mpg, nice, 30, with more power would be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

It's also road trip worthy

"This rig gets me home during all seasons. In the winter, it takes me up the ice covered road, logging roads, to 5000 foot elevation. Think 4 foot snow pack, one foot of packed snow and ice, all curves. I have been stopped, but never stuck.Of course, part of this success is the driver. I'm not afraid to change my driving strategy. Sometimes it's too fast and slower works best, other times, forward progress is all about momentum. The only reason rigs fall off the road is the driver was moving it too fast. All this makes the ride home fun. I have a custom bumper with a winch, and the rig is armed for bear. Cheers, BW"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

It's also road trip worthy

Fun to Drive- More use to the younger Generation

By on Friday, September 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "18-20 Miles to Gallon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"People Notice and comment on the appearance positively"

This rig is a tank!

By on Sunday, August 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Decent price, drives like a dream, looks good"

Cons: "Mileage, rear sight"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have always driven Toyotas, mostly early 80s to mid 90s model trucks with my exception of the world renown FJ40. The little lady talked me in to stepping into the new millennium so we were on the hunt for a new generation toy. I took a new 4runner and Tacoma for a spin, then I tried the FJ Cruiser which I never really thought much about. I fell in love after 1 block. The interior is awesome the pavement drivability was great, I had to have it. I've had it now for 2 years and still love it to death! Great power and awesome in snow conditions. Never had a single issue with this 'truck' it is an 08 bought with 57k miles and now close to 90k and still feels brand new. Only thing I'm 50-50 on is no traction control disability is 2 or 4 high. I've come to grips it just prevents me from doing something I might regret. Mileage isn't great but I won't get caught dead in a hybrid!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

no comment. except , its a car to really own.

By on Thursday, August 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,480

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "none"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"beautiful car. you will be proud to own it"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Unbelievable Vehicle

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Off road performance, value, durability, fun"

Cons: "Rear access, comfort, visibility;windsheild damage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I’m the original owner of the original model year. I have owned LOTS of Toyotas, including a few Tacomas, but this is the best for the purposes it's made for. Not a SINGLE interior or exterior mechanical with it (only wear and tear items). Probably the biggest grip is the ease at which the windshield is damaged by stones (due to its vertical orientation), and the paint chips just a little too easily. I’ve made just a few modifications to it (lift kit, full roof rack, towing kit, etc), and couldn’t be happier. This thing is most comfortable off road (in fact, it's a beast), but does fine on road, while not being particularly agile (of course). It has good power when not loaded up or towing, and is pretty quick. I tow a 4300# camper (loaded), and it generally does fine. It certainly lacks power in a pinch, and the short wheelbase doesn’t help stability when towing. Comfort up front is reasonable, but not so much in back. Visibility is just OK, but again, not if you are in back. Great for a single person or couple, and while not horrible, it is a bit rough if you are always using the rear seat. Overall, if you think you can put this to good use in the wilderness and don’t have kids, this is the truck for you. Oh, and it has retained close to 80% of its value over the 7 ½ years. Amazing."

16 people out of 23 found this review helpful

I love my FJ

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "poor visibilty"

Cons: "fun to drive, looks cool in store windows..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I traded in my Sequoia for this 2007 FJ Cruiser it is the best vehicle I have had yet. Its perfect size, and great in the snow for me. NEG - The transmission had to be replaced at 70,000 miles and also the rear axle...this FJ doesn't go off road so its hard to say why the failure or at least I haven't been told the real reason why and had to replace the rear axle via my out of pocket costs...As as a family vehicle it is not comfortable, not roomy enough and the windows in the back seat should be able to roll down I do not get many backseat passengers...The driving visibility is poor due to the frame on the outside of the windows and positioning of the mirrors. Anyway I drive it mostly and enjoy it I just make sure I am careful regarding seeing other drivers or pedestrians...it is probably my last Toyota."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent driving SUV, up 24mpg on highway

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"May not ever sell it."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever!! Very durable!

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Grat stability. FUn drive!!!"

Cons: "Poor reverse visibility, that's it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck never breaks down. Haven't even changed a bulb since 2006. I work on farms and it can take a beating. Just normal wear and tear. Great truck to buy."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love a This Car....

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value and fun to drive"

Cons: "Plastics scratch easily."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned my Toyota FJ since December 2008. It's been a awesome car, super fun to drive and very reliable. The cars exterior still looks great. I've purchased almost all the accessories available. The car runs best on 91 octane. Use the car a lot to move business materials, which the seats drop down. Only downside is the cars plastics scratch easily. I replace the tires with a more high end luxury tire, and the result was a smoother, more luxury ride. Other than that, it will be super tough to say good bye to my car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives like a dream and tough as nails"

Cons: "limited rear visability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The FJ is a fantastic vehicle, very solid and very reliable. It drives like a car but is a great off road truck, extremely comfortable. I usually don't purchase the same vehicle, always get something different, but I will buy another FJ."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

FJ Cruiser exceeds Land Cruiser Family expectation

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "High Quality and excellent reliability"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Eight years and 108K miles later this vehicle continues to deliver high quality daily commuting reliability and off road capability."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Hard to get in and out of with doors.Fun to drive.

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Suicide doors are bad in parking lots"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Fun to drive. Love the roominess inside! Hard to get in and out of vehicle in parking lots because of the suicide doors. Passengers complain about climbing in and out of vehicle. For the 2 of us, it's a great vehicle! Handled the icy/snowy mountain roads with ease."

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Superb off road

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Look at the videos of FJ's on Youtube"

Cons: "Blind spots."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The FJ is second only to a military HumVee for off road driving. If off roading is your reason to purchase a FJ you will not be disappointed. Downside: Blind spots!! and not the greatest gas mileage. Recommendations: If you buy one, put in the second gas tank. It makes a huge difference for long road trips or boon docking in the wilds of nowhere."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Off-road/ on road very very capable

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Manual shift to four-wheel-drive, simple and straightforward interior"

Cons: "Cheap front and rear plastic bumpers. I had to make my own front bumper"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this FJ for 6 years now. I love it. I do go off-road; however not serious off-road. Don't get me wrong, I have had to go thru some really bad stuff once or twice now and then and she did awesome. Mostly I take it off road(dirt/rock road), cross deep washouts (had to add a snorkel), pull a 5,000lb trailer with atvs for weekend camping and pulled plenty of people out of jams."

Not for everyone but just right for me!!!!!!

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "4x4great , comfort ride, toyota reliabilit!!!!"

Cons: "gas mileage, stereo,blindspots"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love this vehicle very 4x4 capable. Snow proplem at all very reliable .would not recommend if you have kids that ride in back seat alot the side doors are a little odd and frequent use would become annoying. If you want a ultra reliable and capable 4x4 that is also pretty comfortable for road driving check this one out you may love it too."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Most awesome vehicle ever! Besides Taco.

By on Sunday, June 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun, stylish, reliable, capable 4x4, fun to drive."

Cons: "Blind spot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have to say I was skeptical at first about its looks and abilities. But, now I love this SUV. If your looking for a SUV for an active family FJ is your answer. My family loves the outdoors. We do everything outside. We got the team trails in Army green my wife loves it. And so do I it's comfortable, stylish, capable and it's got rings on it which means reliable. This truck is a blunt instrument and will dominate any off road terrain. It's not for the none adventurous city lover. Now I don't know if it can follow Tacoma yet but, I'm sure it will do better than JEEP. Absolutely love this vehicle. Toyota or nothing."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love my FJ. new paint 2013, dependable, reliable

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great look, perfect Maui auto, fun to drive"

Cons: "it's not free, I love it, will be hard to replace"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my 2007 FJ Cruiser. It has great visibility, better than any car I've owned! I get 20 mpg, rarely use 4 wheel drive. The miles are highway and town use. Last year, I got a new paint job for cosmetic reasons only and it looks brand new. Great storage and hauling capacity. It comfortably seats at least 5 people. It has roof racks, running boards, skid plates, and tow package. I planned on keeping it forever, but I must sell it now."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome Rig

By on Sunday, May 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "handsome, fun, can go anywhere, easy to mod"

Cons: "can't fit in my carport (w/ lift kit mod)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fantastic truck. Fun to mod. Added a lift kit, giant tires, grills, racks, lights, etc. Hadn't had this much fun since my vw bug, except I never have to fix it, lol. Amazing off road capabilities. Back up camera makes up for blind spots. There are endless things to do this thing. You can drive it to work, or prep for the end of the world (or both). Only draw back is that it packs on the mileage fast (because you want to drive everywhere in it.) ; )"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

The best truck indeed

By on Friday, May 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Muscle Truck"

I love this car & hate to part with it.

By on Sunday, May 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Love this car on the freeway - It feels so safe."

Cons: "It doesn't have a top rack for my paddleboard."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Leaving for West Africa as volunteer nurse June 6, 14 for 6 months & have no place to keep the car. I'm sorry I do not have a picture. If you buy it it, you can take possession May 31. I have never had one single problem with it. Has excellent track record. The price is low. Drove it to Cabo & back alone. It was a dream in those mountains & scary narrow roads. It's black & white."

1 person out of 7 found this review helpful

Comfortable and Sytlish ORV!

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 415

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Style and Comfort"

Cons: "Blindspots"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fell in love with this car back in 07, after watching some off road show. Kept putting off purchasing one just did not seem practical at the time. Then I found out this was last year in production and decided it was time. Now that own one I have not regretted the decision. I have really enjoyed this car for the past few weeks. Mainly to and from work but plan on taking it off road in a few weeks. Should handle like a dream from what I have read, cannot wait. Overall very please with purchase."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Comfortable and Sytlish ORV!

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 415

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Style and Comfort"

Cons: "Blindspots"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fell in love with this car back in 07, after watching some off road show. Kept putting off purchasing one just did not seem practical at the time. Then I found out this was last year in production and decided it was time. Now that own one I have not regretted the decision. I have really enjoyed this car for the past few weeks. Mainly to and from work but plan on taking it off road in a few weeks. Should handle like a dream from what I have read, cannot wait. Overall very please with purchase."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Most trouble free vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, held its value, lots of compiments"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle has operated flawlessly since the day I purchased it. The only thing that took awhile getting use to was the low windshield visibility. Other than that, there is nothing negative I can say about this vehicle."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

stong and powerfull

By on Monday, April 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "looks space power towing"

Cons: "comfort back doors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"love the power and looks pulls my toys like a dream dont have a bad word to say about this awsome truck"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

So Far So Good

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for a week now and have put 150 miles on my 2014 FJ. I owned a 2012 Wrangler prior to this. The Wrangler was a blast since it was MT and you could take the top off. I love my FJ so far and am pretty sure nothing can stop it. The resale value on these is insane and I am glad I bought one new."

10 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota FJ Cruiser near Honolulu. See local deals