Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2005 Toyota Echo

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 397 Ratings for the 2000 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 80 | Next

Reliable fun commuter car

By on Sunday, January 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 171,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun, low price, low maintenance"

Cons: "under-powered AC"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Absolutely love the center speedometer console - steering wheel or arm are never in the way to see vital info. Drives great, surprisingly quick, and all the perks of a small car like easy parking. Gas mileage is great, I routinely get 34-36 going back and forth to work, 41 on the only highway trip I took it on. The only real issue I had was the AC motor went out at around 85K. Approximately 155K needed motor mounts and exhaust. I replaced the transmission as well, but that is likely due to my hard driving style. My only complaint is the AC always seemed under-powered, it took a while to cool down on a hot day."

Most Dependable Car I've Owned

By on Friday, January 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "MGP's, Good in the snow, Dependable, Head room"

Cons: "Interior/hardware wore quickly and road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased car with around 100k miles. Owned for the last 4 years. Great on road trips but mostly drive in the city. Only routine maintenance performed (Oil change, spark plugs, etc). Very good in the snow!!! My son calls it the Rally Car because it is surprisingly peppy. The interior and hardware has gone downhill (locks need to be replaced and carpet and seats). The one thing I love about the interior is the head room. This is a great car if you are 5' tall or 6' 6". If you get this car, do not be surprised if lasts well over 300k miles! I definitely recommend this car if you value reliability above all else. If you want something pretty, get a different car :)"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great little car, fast and reliable, roomy

By on Tuesday, December 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quick, Handles well. Roomy interior easy in out"

Cons: "Light car, high center of gravity, wind trouble"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Best thirteen grand I ever spent. Noisy but reliable. Roomy, seats four adults comfortably. Goes slower then. Excellent commuter car. Would buy one again, would buy a used one."

Best car ever besides my Corolla

By on Sunday, December 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,025

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "gas mileage,fast take off everything about it"

Cons: "nothing I can think of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First, I'm a Toyota Corolla fan but ended up with a Echo which turned out to be the best decision I ever made in a car. It is a great car..."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Amazing reliability.

By on Monday, December 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "reliable, economical, fun, roomy inside"

Cons: "road noise, wouldn't want to be in a collision"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought with 78K miles and drove another 202K (mostly highway). Got 35-40mpg. New A/C unit when I bought it. Changed oil, filters, tires (twice), plugs (twice), battery, rear shocks, and that's it. Never touched exhaust or brakes."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 80 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Echo near Honolulu. See local deals