Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2009 Toyota Corolla

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 496 Ratings for the 2009 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next

Average compact car when working. Averages 33mpg.

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Good MPG easy to drive/park commuter car."

Cons: "Mechanical issue from date of purchase."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Purchased new from dealer, Having owned multiple Toyota products in the past without issues, i returned a loyal customer. This product is a LEMON! In and out of Toyota dealer for break issues (3x) in first two yrs. without satisfaction to include emergency brake sensor. Ended up rebuilding front brakes at commercial mechanic, no issues since. Had to replace alternator twice, radio 3x (warranty covered the radio) and now the AC compressor has failed. Again, when working car is a good runabout commuter, city car, easy to drive/park good MPG. This car is not comfortable to drive over 2 hrs. Wind/road/engine noise very noticeable. Interior finish is typical of Toyota, nothing special. I am really disappointed in this product and no longer have trust with it nor Toyota! Hope this helps others in the future."

Love it!! Great car!

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everyone that has driven my car really likes it. Easy steering/maneuvering, back seat is comfortable, and the car has great power even in the mountains. 190K miles and no complaints!!"

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

great value ,very reliable car always starts

By on Monday, October 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"overall this great vehicle.Powerful engine.The interior is really basic.But the value of the car is awesome.I drove to Atlanta from NY and it only took two and a half tanks of gas.Great gas mileage."

Moderate Car

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Not a great pick up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Good Intermediate Car."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Practical and Reliable

By on Thursday, October 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "MPG, Practicality, Safety, Reliability"

Cons: "Somewhat lacking in acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I traded in my Silverado for a 2010 Corolla. I felt as though I made a great decision after doing so. It has proved nothing but reliable and practical. I replaced the original battery just this summer (the car was built in late 2009; the battery was almost 5 years old) simply because I felt as though I should, not because it was giving me problems - it never gave me problems. My tires had to be replaced because of age - not because of poor tread. I do a lot of in-city driving, and I feel as though the MPG ratings are accurate. The car is spacious. Yes, the seats could be a little better for longer road-trips, but can Toyota be faulted for this? It is a compact, inexpensive sedan after all. I will keep this car until the wheels fall off; when it finally dies, I will buy another Corolla (or at least, a Toyota product). I love my car, and I feel very safe in it."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great car for me

By on Thursday, October 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice ride. Love the tilt wheel. Great on gas."

Cons: "Wish it would have had better window tinting."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Just recently bought the '13 Corolla LE. Very nice interior, nice smooth ride. Great on gas. Could not be happier about my choice."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Perfect Mid Size Car

By on Wednesday, October 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Bluetooth, good on gas, decent exterior/interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

my car

"I recently traded in my 2003 Audi A4 (that I had for almost 3 years) for this car and have zero regrets! well my only regret is not doing it sooner! If you are in the car market for a mid size, reliable, decent quality car, excellent on gas, with low maintenance, then the 2013 Corolla is perfect for you!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

my car

Rides hard., but hugs the road

By on Wednesday, October 08, 2014

I don't own this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Good handling. Not a soft ride, but excellent road dynamics. Lease is a poor deal in terms of cost."

great deal

By on Friday, October 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,420

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very good in gas and smooth drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car its white color and in great condition, just want to sell for bigger car for family convenience."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Unimpressed

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Reliability and excellent gas mileage"

Cons: "BORING"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Received car as a graduation present in 2012. Good on gas and very reliable. That's about it. It is very much so a boring car. The only thing up-to-date about it is the plug-in for an aux cord. It literally is empty on the inside. Disappointed with the interior. The exterior is ok, extremely better than what it used to be. Overall, ehh. I'm just not impressed. It's a car at best. For me it's just a transition car, an intermission until better comes along. I went from driving a VW Beetle convertible, which was the worst in terms of reliability, to this. So, the Corolla wins in that aspect. But, it's horribly noisy and the sound system is mediocre. All it offers is good gas mileage and reliability."

7 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Corolla near Honolulu. See local deals