Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2006 Toyota Corolla

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 1301 Ratings for the 2003 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 53 | Next

Dependable, sporty, and very economical

By on Saturday, November 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car because of its sporty look, have had no mechanical problems, and believe it has held its value well."

its a fantastic value for money sedan.

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"its a fantastic value for money sedan."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very Good Vehicle

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,100

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, great price, exc. safety featur"

Cons: "No radio controls on steering wheel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2005 Toyota Corolla LE in October 2004. I've done all the maintenance requirements. And replaced tires, oil changes, cabin filters, and head light bulb replacements. My only unexpected repairs were replacement of the 5-disk CD player with AM/FM unit in the cars 3rd year (dealership had to order it & it took 3 weeks for it to come in and to swap out.) And 6 months to get back the CD's back from broken unit! Another issue is the digital clock stopped working and no one could fix it. And finally, the front upper console drawer door's spring went bad. It would have cost $300 to replace, so I had the door removed. Other than the cosmetic and entertainment issues, this car hasn't needed any major repairs. Gas mileage is superb. With snow tires this car takes on New England winters!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

9th generation best

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "perfect blend of power and economy"

Cons: "none. Not one"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Of all Corollas built, the ninth generation (2003-2009)is the best hands down. With the introduction of the 1ZZ FE, an engine with no peers for reliability. Starts first time every time. Toyota implemented some cost-cutting for the 2010 Corolla, little things like the rubber strip, much like a windshield wiper blade in doors to wipe window when put down. The new Corollas get less economy than my 2006. Engineering and material quality was not cut on 9th generation, superior to most cars much more expensive. The 1.8 Liter is plenty peppy for getting on an on-ramp or passing. But for the record, on certain 2-lane road I use often people travel way too fast and if I get behind a truck and have patience, hang back at 50 and stay alive. But if I needed the power, the 1.8 is the perfect blend of power and economy. I have considered a new Camry but intend to drive my Corolla until the wheels fall off, which will be a very long time"

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best car ever!

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have put over 80,000 miles on this car- bought it used. Have only had to have one small 100 dollar fix on it the entire time of owning it. Always reliable- and gets great gas mileage! Have never owned such a reliable vehicle until this one!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

A tough car to love.

By on Friday, October 24, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: had another car

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Not the great car my previous Corolla was."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The dealership would not replace a defective unclear front windshield when my car was brand new. I underwent mediation - lost that - of course the dealers pay for part of that. Nothing really great about this car. The best ican say is that it always ran."

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love my car for 7 years strong!

By on Thursday, October 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "COMFORTABLE AND RELIABLE, great gas mileage."

Cons: "Not the fastest car out there"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car as a lease return. In the 7 years that I have owned it the only money I have had to put into it other than tune ups and oil changes is for brakes and tires. It has been a very reliable friend for a long time. It has been getting about 32 MPG on the highway, which is how I mostly drive it. It is not the fastest car out there, in fact I get passed by most cars. But it is probably the most comfortable car out there!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

love the gas mileage and power

By on Thursday, October 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great trunk space for 4 sets of clubs"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great car but because of age factor it is less convenient to shift.need to go to auto, i don't have a choice and hate it."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Takes a licking and keeps on ticking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bough this car when the price of gas rose about $2.00 per gallon, since then I have never had to put more than $40.00 to fill it up. Aside from the normal maintenance I have not had any major issues."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

This is a great car!

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car. Great price. Amazing gas mileage."

Cons: "Clear coat on the roof peeled"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been meticulously maintained. 1 owner. very depnedable car that gets great gas mileage. The clear coat is peeling on the roof. The window tint needs replacing."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This car is great. 40 to 41 mpg all around driving

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great car. great value. fun to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So easy to maintain, excellent service. Great car. Sporty. Fun to drive. Amazing gas mileage."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent power and performance for its size

By on Sunday, September 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good performance and low operating cost, enhanced"

Cons: "Small for a family use"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable vehicle . I comfortably drive it long distance on highways and it has never been behind new cars. If serviced well , this car can last much longer than similar or other brands . Overall, this car gives highest value for money with reliable performance and low operating cost"

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I am happy with it!!!

By on Friday, September 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Affordable and easy to manuever."

Cons: "I am ready for a new Toyota!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had absolutely no major problems. In fact, I cannot think of any minor problems either! I have maintained it like clockwork and it has remained completely dependable."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This vehicle is my first car and its the best.

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I own this vehicle for ten years and it is still running good. I have no complains."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very reliable, good buy for the money.

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "See comments below"

Cons: "See comments below"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Pros: value, style & reliability Cons: too much play in the steering Minor cons: center console too low to use as an armrest, no adjustable intermittent wipers (intermittent, regular & fast speeds only), no key-fob trunk release. Would like to see ABS offered in the Corolla"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great car and best value!

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, low maintenance, great gas milage"

Cons: "I can't think of any!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my 2006 Toyota Corolla. It has great gas milage and rides comfortably for my 40 minute commute back and forth to work. It has NEVER let me sitting along the road. I have always taken this car in to be serviced at its scheduled time. The air conditioning and heater in this car is awesome. It air con. can cool you off in a few minutes! The most expensive repair I have ever had on this car was replacing the tires. It has held its value and I really hate to part with it! :("

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

good reliable transportation

By on Wednesday, September 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "minor body dents"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"great little car"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable and still looks good

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this car before children and thought for sure I would only keep it for a couple of years. I was so wrong. It has been a wonderful car for the last 11 years and even had enough room for 2 kids in bulky carseats. Mechanically this car has been amazing, just the expected repairs and maintenance has been needed. The only thing I can complain about is the paint. I have seen several Corollas around the same year that have oxidized paint as well, but I guess that is to be expected since I didn't wax as much as I should have. Love this car!!!"

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Super Reliable Car

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, gas mileage, cost, low maintenance"

Cons: "a little noisy (outdoor)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car since it was new (2004). I have spent under $1,500 on minor repairs since it was bought. This car has been a reliability dream. Nothing fancy, but a solid car - I have been spoiled by the low maintenance of it."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

My Dad's Little Tank

By on Sunday, August 24, 2014

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Almost everything"

Cons: "I can't afford one. :P"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My parents bought this car new in 2003, and so far we've racked up nearly 120,000 miles on it. We've had a lot of memories with this car (well, more with our minivan, but I digress...); and now I'm driving it, too! Let's speed this thing up, shall we? Pros: The whole darned thing. It's small yet larger than its competitors. It's one of the most fuel-efficient cars on the road (back in 2003 at least). It's comfortable enough to seat two average-height adults in the rear but it can squeeze three kids on the bench as long as they don't complain. Sure, the design isn't flashy at all, but this is an economical compact car, the benchmark of its class, too. At least the shape of the rear section reminds me of that of the '03 BMW 3-series. The engine is reliable. No problems whatsoever, except a "check engine light" has been on for years and it's referring to a useless part that breaks every year. We stopped replacing it, what, five years ago? There are also loads of storage areas, there's even a compartment on the center console. Did I mention the trunk space? It's not a two-body trunk but it's a strong 1.75. :P Cons: As I said, the design isn't flashy. We don't have the heated seats, so there are plastic covers where those buttons would be (above the coin compartment) that don't even match. Inez's a normal cover while the other is some strange shape resembling something on a coin machine. Perhaps they just ran out of covers, but I saw a similar thing on a base model 2014 version as well....hmm.... Another thing is the AC, whose compressor (which costs a quarter of the car's current value) has been broken for over three years now. Other than these petty grievances, there's not much wrong with this car at all. I noticed a tiny (~.5 inch or so) rust spot on the A-pillar, but that's just a lesson for us to wax the cars more often than never. These Corollas are legendary for their fuel economy, dependability, and value. (Our car's worth about five grand, more than a third than what we originally paid. Take that, Dodge neon, Ford Focus, Chevy Cavalier, etc. :P) Drive It and Forget It was the Tercel's slogan. It's just as appropriate for the Corolla, in my opinion."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

The best car I've ever had!

By on Saturday, August 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, interior holds up well"

Cons: "Too small to fit more than 2-3 ppl on daily basis"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is the best car I've ever owned. It is the perfect size for a single person. It gets great gas mileage and it is reliable. I plan on keeping mine past 200,000 miles and I know it will still run perfectly once it gets there. Whenever I do decide to sell this car I'm sure that it would be to get another Toyota. My father own a auto-repair shop and has been working on cars for over 40 years. He only owns Toyotas because he knows how great and reliable they are."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

the worst car ever

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "none"

Cons: "not been able to have fun in this car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have had this car for 3yrs and it isn't reliable. the engine lite goes on then it goes into limp mode. the ECM was recalled in that model yr and this car has had 2 replaced in that car with another one at anytime. they cost 648.00 a piece and I have only put 12000 miles on it"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Excellent commute car, with many long distance

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,562

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything works as I need it to!"

Cons: "tire change hard, seizes to hub, hammer & wrench"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ten years of New England driving, with minimum repair and replacement issues. Usually a commute car, but also handles passengers in comfort. Great for long distance...mileage averages 42-44 mpg. Spacious. Few "blind spots". Have had it serviced regularly and expect many more driving miles from this car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great reliable car

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, and Awesome on milage"

Cons: "seat adjustment in connection with steering wheel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought my 04 corolla in December of 04. I took me through huge snow storms, torrential downpours, high winds, extreme heat and everything in between. This was the longest I have ever owned a car and it never let me down."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great car buy tires, change oil.

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our 3rd Toyota. And we'll never buy anything else"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 53 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Corolla near Honolulu. See local deals