Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2005 Toyota Corolla

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 1329 Ratings for the 2003 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

No current issues, Wheels should be rebalanced.

By on Tuesday, April 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Good reliable car for my wife."

Best value

By on Monday, April 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,076

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "All of the above"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car ever for price I paid most reliable with almost 200000 miles"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Tuesday, March 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has always been dependable and required little more than routine maintenance."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very good with gas

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "really economical car, very roomy in the back"

Cons: "a little noisy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"With 90,000 hardly ever a problem with engine or other besides tires."

best car ever! Dependable.

By on Saturday, March 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, good gas mileage"

Cons: "headrests block my view"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car new in Oct. 2003. Just recently replaced water pump. My choice of new tires about 2 years ago. Otherwise only cost is regular service. Have had no other repairs. Love this car! Like the back seats that fold forward for hauling lumber, etc. I like the automatic windows and door lock remote. The space in the trunk is great. The only "minus" that I can think of is because I am only 5 ft. tall, the headrests for passengers block my view and since I rarely have riders I had to remove all but the driver's. 4 family members & 3 friends have bought Toyota's after seeing and/or driving mine! I will ALWAYS drive a Toyota Corolla! Even in winter starts with first try. This car will be mine as long as it stays this reliable. It's doing great, being eleven and a half years since I bought it."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

i love this car

By on Tuesday, March 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price, reliability"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been great! Nice size for me, excellent service from my dealer,very reliable!"

Outstanding automobile

By on Monday, March 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliability and durability. beast."

Cons: "interior breaks easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"beast. experienced every kind of conditions California has to offer among various adventures through the western coast."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Outstanding car!!

By on Sunday, February 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Steady and reliable"

Cons: "Dated, but what do you expect after twelve years?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Toyota has been an exceptionally reliable, steady performer over the years, still going strong after 153,000 miles. Still gets about 30 mpg just riding around town. The car is dated, of course, but still runs well and shows no signs of slowing down."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

no.1 best car ever

By on Wednesday, February 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,600

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"THIS CAR IS RUNNING GOOD LIKE A NEW"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fantatstic vehicle

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value for the money. Good gas mileage."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car brand new in 2007 just after the 2008 model came out. After 107,000 miles, the car has never had any mechanical problems. I haven't even had to replace the brake pads yet!!!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Im the 2nd owner, w/23K miles when i bought it.

By on Tuesday, February 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun, fast, clean engine, good gas milage, stick"

Cons: "130K, tires, shocks, inside broken plastic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

i have more photos

"I love this lil gem of a car. Silver is the best color you can get cuz it doesn't show dirt, for a while. i drove this car 107k miles. from 2007 to 2015 and it still runs as new. Why? Because of the maintenance ive kept. I have a portfolio of the maintenance, not a lot of people do that or can even say that. that car has equity. I hate to get rid of it, but I want to move on. you see im a LYFT and an UBER driver now and need to upgrade. this car would be good for a college student, that can drive stick. just to get around in in California, a car like this is definitely needed. So whoever winds-up with my lil gem, a cute/awesome, great fun and another 100k mile left on the car and then some, and will receive the maintenance portfolio."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

i have more photos

350,000 miles and still going!

By on Thursday, February 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 350,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In over 350,000 miles, I have had NO issues with this car. Change the oil and basic maintenance, the car just keeps going. Truly amazing!"

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best small car ever! Simple, economical, reliable

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value, great gas mileage, fun to drive"

Cons: "small if you have tall kids!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned this car for 11 years, there is very minimal rust and I live in NY where the snow flies! (one rust spot by rear tire) This has been an amazing car that we bought when gas prices increased, have NEVER regretted our purchase. We paid 17k for it and got EVERY penny out of it and more. We are so bummed out that it was severely damaged in an accident, but really feel that it saved our son from serious injury when he went off the road due to ice. This year (2004) was built solid, the only issue we ever had was replacing the gas sleeve where you put gas in the car. We maintain our cars very well, oil changes, tires, brakes. Thats about all we paid for in 11 years. I think the newer Corollas are still built well.... If I ever see an older Corolla for sale and if I could figure out if it was maintained properly, I would buy it in a heartbeat. EXCELLENT car. Our mechanic said we had another 75k left on the engine. What a bummer that its going to the parts graveyard!"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Excellent, dependable car. Best car I have had!

By on Thursday, January 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable to drive and very dependable."

Cons: "Wish front driver's seat went back further."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has always been dependable, which is most important to me. It has maintained its 30 mpg for gas. I have taken good care of it and it has taken good care of me."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

It is a very reliable, fuel economy and depandable

By on Friday, January 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reasonably priced car."

Cons: "Has outside temp. readout."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Well kept Toyota Carolla with very low mileage car. Good ride for the small car, very fuel efficient. Have all 4 new micheline tires. The interior is clothes and in good condition. A non smoker car with lots of life left over."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Perfect blend of power and economy

By on Wednesday, January 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliability and economy"

Cons: "slightly difficult getting steering wheel comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought a 2006 Corolla in 2011 with 43,500 miles and paid a bit too much but no regrets. As in title, it's the perfect blend of power and economy. Not pin-you-back-in-the-seat kind of power, but 130HP in a 2200lb car and VVTi it's plenty peppy and gets 40mpg. One time on a long stretch with a nice tail-wind I got 44mpg, rivaling a hybrid. As for reliability it has no peers, I have never had a problem in the 30k+ miles I have put on it, spent not one dime on repairs, only regular maintenance costs. It starts first time every time with minimal cranking, even when it was 6°F one day. I did buy a set of Goodyear Eagle tires because the tires the Dealer put on it were junk, and a battery to replace the original factory one. I use Mobil1 and can go 5,000 miles and have to add half a quart. Never a drop of oil on driveway. Change at 8000. Shifts smooth, roomy inside. Handles reasonably well in snow. Hands down best 4-door sedan in it's class."

9 people out of 14 found this review helpful

How much is the Blue Book value for this car?

By on Monday, January 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
1/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "How muchis this car worth????"

Cons: "How much is the Blue Book Value for this standard"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"How much is this standard shift 2003 Corolla worth?"

1 person out of 11 found this review helpful

Student Ideal

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, gas mileage, dependable, easy drive"

Cons: "no auto windows/locks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been amazing for me. It's got great gas mileage (I typically get 35-38 winter and summer!) and has been incredibly reliable. I drive on average 2 hours a day so having a good car is a must for me and this little corolla certainly fits the bill! This car is perfect for young students or folks who are looking for a fuel efficient dependable car. The only thing that I have trouble with is the locks and windows as those aren't automatic. It performs well in bad weather (snow storms and thunderstorms alike) and the a/c unit heats up really fast. Overall the best car I have ever owned!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Hated to loose

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value and performanc"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned this car for 11 years and gave it to my 19 yr old son. I now have a 2014 Elantra but i know it will never hold to my Corolla. I wish i was still driving my Corolla knowing my son is never going to care for it like I did. I never had to do any major work to this car and neither has he so far. No trans or engine work other than maintiance."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great gas mileage, perfect commuter car

By on Monday, January 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy on gas, roomy inside"

Cons: "no cruise control on my model"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used from a Toyota dealership for the sole purpose of saving gas and money. I have put about 60,000 miles on it in almost 5 years. Now, my stepson is looking for a small commuter car that still works as a family car and is interested in buying it. I get between 30-33mpg and with about an 11 gallon tank, fill ups are painless. This car has definitely been worth every penny I paid for it."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

LOVE this car, would keep forever

By on Saturday, January 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great value and very reliable"

Cons: "bit noisy, especially on highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car new and it has always been dependable, fun to drive, great mpg and an excellent value. I hope it goes another 100K! Done nothing but routine maintenance."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Easier Car to work on and Best all around Car

By on Wednesday, December 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Exceptional value, Ease of working on engine."

Cons: "Drives very smooth, but can hear slight road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Best Looking Corolla Ever

"The 2003-2008 Toyota Corolla is one of the best all around cars for the price in the world today. Easy handling, plenty of room and trunk space. The over all engine space and ability to work on the car and/or find replacement parts yourself are the easiest and most convenient of any car I have ever owned or had past experience with. Gas mileage is good in town and excellent on the highway. In town with heavy pedal driving it gets never under 25mpg up to 40 mpg on the highway at cruise control usage from personal experience in the 2004 Toyota Corolla. Resale value is top rated for these cars and they pay for themselves in the first 7-10 years after that you are making money on them."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best Looking Corolla Ever

Strong reliable car.

By on Tuesday, December 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Gas milage and handle"

Cons: "Front hood dent"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the original owner of this car. I used the car to commute to Staten Island for 8 years. The Toyota engine is efficient and strong. I get more than 30 miles per gallon. My daughter had two fender benders that I had one repaired. However, The reliability of this car is great"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

exellent highway handeling

By on Thursday, December 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,055

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun comfortable ride."

Cons: "had to return the steele rims but 3 of 4 were rep."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"4 of the chrome wheels bubbled. 3 were replaced at no charge, the 4th bubbled latter and was to late to replaced."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

excellant vehicle . practacal

By on Wednesday, December 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "economical , good on gas ,very reliable"

Cons: "not very sporty. has light interor . gets dirty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"car is very reliable . it had no major problems . only regular maint. was performed."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Corolla near Honolulu. See local deals