Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2001 Toyota Corolla

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 573 Ratings for the 1998 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next

reliable!

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Reliable, affordable, good quality! Easy to maintain and to repairl"

My 1999 Toyota Corolla LE looks like new.

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Its afffordable, dependable (if its maintained)."

Cons: "No rear windshield wiper."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Toyota Corolla LE is checked over thoroughly 2 times a year (just before winter and just before summer). Whatever has to be replaced or changed is done. Car has always been kept clean and in garage. Fortunate to have great mechanics to work on my car. I live in an area where all my business (shopping, Drs.)is just a few minutes from my home so I don't pile on the miles. As of today, I have about 54,000 miles."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Been a daily drive vehicle

By on Monday, November 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 299,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Been a daily drive vehicle since it was bought in 2005 with 72k from the original owner. Has never left me stranded. Showing its age, plus deer damage, needed a replacement with a little more room (I'm over 6 foot). Overall quality is great, still gets over 30mpg, but lacks power on long hills would still be driving it if I had not stumbled into a deal on a bigger vehicle."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

dependable

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "acceleration,trunk space"

Cons: "burns oil"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Above average acceleration. Large trunk. Headlights go on automatically at low beam and automatically go to normal beam at sunset. Burns oil."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

A very good vehicle.

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: leave America and return to motherland

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's a two owners-car Toyota Corolla LE 02' 140K miles with automatic transmition, four cylinders, 1.8 liters engine, in very good conditions, no mechanic problem, in good shape no accidents clean title Carfax report all power's and Toyota factory staff very well maintains kept has!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned-so reliable and fun!

By on Thursday, October 30, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: needed rack and pinion replacement

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable! Fun to drive! Great gas mileage"

Cons: "interior roof fabric became disattached"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Always reliable and great gas mileage. No major repairs needed and over 196 thousand miles driven. Sad to have to sell it, but with that many miles, a rack and pinion rebuild was not in the cards. I bought it brand new and maintained it well at the dealership all its life and could not have been happier to have it as my car."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Excellent motor, poor door detailing

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Marvelous engine performance, total reliability"

Cons: "Door elements (handles and detailing, frail."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent motor performance over the entire 14 years of constant use. Completely reliable. Motor still quiet, has needed only maintenance service and new brakes. Still has the original suspension parts. But the "carrocería" (detailing?) aspects (door handles, and trims) are very fragile."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

A WORKHORSE!

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great on gas, comfy, easy to drive. Good in snow."

Cons: "many plastic parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 4th Corolla and I don't really want to own anything else. I have had no major issues with any Corolla. This one had 100K miles when I bought it. The only thing big thing I had to replace was the Catalytic Converter. (I believe some states don't have emission control requirements for cars over a certain age, but mine does so this was necessary to pass inspection). I was able to purchase a rebuilt one from a mechanic friend. Engine, tranny and cat still strong @ 200K+ miles. Routine things that at this age, I expect to replace. Front end alignments. Brakes. But nothing major. I didn't rate it a total 10 because like most cars, it has a lot of plastic parts like door handles and cup holders. They periodically snap off. I've replaced some of them, but not all. The trim on outside of car by doors seems to come off on these models, after a few years. That's cosmetic so at this stage, I won't replace. I love my Corollas and hope to buy one more, that will take me well into my retirement."

10 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Love this car.

By on Sunday, August 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "super car"

Cons: "peeling topcoat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wish it was prettier. My topcoat is peeling and it is just too much to repair. I tell everybody to get a Toyota. It always starts in the coldest weather and is so good on gas. I love my Toyota."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

best car for the money by far

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, great gas mileage, good in snow"

Cons: "wish they made a Corolla hatchback"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This car has always started, peppy, great maneuverability, excellent gas mileage even after it started burning oil (about 1 qt/month) at 120,000 miles. Have done basic maintenance and only had to fix a few things after about 120,000 miles--nothing major. Would buy another but they are making the Corolla too big now and standard transmissions seem to be disappearing in everything but sport models with no better gas mileage than 13 YEARS AGO! Can't believe TECHNOLOGY HASN'T ADVANCED IN 13 YEARS!!! ?? BTW, checked out some cars in Canada and find their cars get better gas mileage--their emissions standards are higher so they make 'em more efficient. Here we only get what the oil companies will allow. In Japan the same cars we drive get 3x the mileage!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This is a sturdy comfortable dependable vehicle

By on Sunday, August 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfortable ride, quiet, cost efficient,good mil"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my "Toy" for approx 9 years. It is my main and only vehicle. I bought it used (approx 56 K miles then). Upkeep normal. Kept up with my oil changes and fluid checks. replaced a set of brakes 1x. 2 sets of tires 40 K to 60 K Miles quality. I was going to go to a newer car in approx a year unfortunately a serious accident recently forces me to buy sooner. I will be looking at the newer Corolla's FOR SURE. I do believe this car was well built and saved my life. ***** 5 stars"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car-377000 miles

By on Sunday, August 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 377,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Great car--period"

Cons: "for the reliability---NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The engine is original. The starter was replaced, but the alternator is still original. Still gets over 30 mpg on the highway."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I expected more from Toyota

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "cheap to insure"

Cons: "prohibitively expensive to keep roadworthy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"My previous vehicle was a 1995 Tercel, and it spoiled me. It was reliable, agile and got great mileage (avg 42mpg). This Corolla is sluggish, unwieldy maneuvering, gets abt 24Mpg and has been seriously unreliable. I've had the car for a year and spent twice the purchase price on repairs, from failed brake linings, to suspension, to major engine maintenance. It had been a profound disappointment. I couldn't reconcile my previous experience with Toyota with my experience owning this car until I began to think of it as a General Motors vehicle with Toyota branding. Then the experience was familiar with previous Detroit vehicles I have owned. I could not be more disappointed. After owning this car for a year it has spent between 25 & 33% of its time in the shop."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice car

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 294,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "High quality, strong car"

Cons: "Burns oil like a fire"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This is a very nice car. It burns a quart of oil every gas fillup. Otherwise has been great."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Hey, it's a Toyota!!!

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I owned and sold this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great, reliable, inexpensive transportation. Great engine, handling and gas mileage. Easy to maintain and still running and 14 years old. Wish I had a dollar for each time I heard "it will run forever; it's a Toyota"....."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Runs really well and it's 15 years old!

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price and good miles per gallon."

Cons: "Doesn't have a CD player."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a black car. For some reason when it was 10 years old the paint started to come off. Now most of the clear coat is gone and it looks bad with a peeling paint look. I have heard from other friends who have black Toyota's and they have the same experience. The car has had no major repairs, just regular maintanace."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The most reliable vehicle ever. Excellent.

By on Tuesday, July 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive,Excellent gas millage."

Cons: "Wish it had a CD player."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

I drive alot and having a corolla and a RAV4 and Camry and this helped keep the mileage down

"This Corolla had 83500 miles and all I replaced were batteries and windshield wipers. maintenance was by the book. I wish I didn't have to sell it. this vehicle will go 200k miles with no problems. I sold it to a college student, if I had to sell it, it would be to a student. They need a reliable transportation."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I drive alot and having a corolla and a RAV4 and Camry and this helped keep the mileage down

I have a 2000 Corolla VE, great value

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, mileage efficiency (30 + mph )"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car and has over 130,000 miles on it and all it needs is regular oil changes and tires when they wear out. I did replace the interior door handle, but that was cheap to buy and install. I think I paid about $7 for the handle. I also changed the MAF sensor, also inexpensive and easy to do. No need to bring it to the shop for that. I will look for another when I need to retire it. 27 mpg in the city, 33-34 on the highway."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've owned , low maintenance costs.

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Overall good price over long term."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good design both inside & out. Well made car. Made in Tennessee even though it's a Toyota. Would advise family and friends to buy used or new Corollas."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

runs forever... litterally

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 221,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great first car, gas efficient, cheep to ensure"

Cons: "not attractive, doesn't have great acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"has 221,000+ miles and still runs better than my mom's 2010 mini-van. still gets 28+ miles to the gallon being used as a delivery vehicle"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great car for the money

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has survived 13 extremely cold and snowy winters - and my not so terrific driving."

Great vehicle

By on Sunday, June 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Good on gas"

Cons: "un-body not strong"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great on gas and dependable"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Served its purpose well.

By on Monday, May 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "easy on gas, inexpensive, reliable"

Cons: "older and needs upkeep"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car because I wanted something cheap, reliable, and easy on gas. It has served me well for two years. After about 140,000 miles on it, I started to have to do increasing amounts of part replacement though. It is almost time for me to sell it b/c its value is at the point where I don't think its worth it for me to keep fixing it."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Excellent condition, well cared for

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great car, great gas mileage, new battery"

Cons: "no CD player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car also has automatic lock and automatio start, whic is good in the winter in Nebraska. You can start the car indoors, its locked so no one can steal it, and wait till it warms up, such a neat feature. It is beige with darker beige inside and brown. Its a nice little car and has served me well. Easy on the gas and easy to drive."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

had no major problem since i had purchased this 98

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"had a trouble free experience."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Corolla near Honolulu. See local deals