Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2000 Toyota Corolla

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 558 Ratings for the 1998 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 56 | Next

Great car mechanically - poor interior quality

By on Friday, January 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very good value, very dependable"

Cons: "poor quality cosmetic items"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have owned this car for 14 years and with proper maintenance it has never given me any mechanical/electrical/etc. problems at all and therefore is VERY dependable. The only reason that I would hesitate to buy another Corolla is because of the poor interior quality. The headliner has deteriorated over the years and has holes all over it. The vinyl (plastic?) detail strips around the windows shrunk many years ago and pulled loose in places so I tried to cut them off with some success. Carpet and fabric upholstery are good as well as dash quality. Door openers (both 3 inside and 2 outside) have had to be replaced or fixed - the plastic just broke off! Back window brake light melted and smoked and had to be replaced. FYI - for 11 years this car was mostly kept outside, not in a garage."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Still one of Toyota's best!

By on Tuesday, January 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, great MPG, fits in compact spaces"

Cons: "Lightweight and probably not safe in an accident"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I couldn't ask for a better little A to B commuter car! Its the most reliable, fuel efficient vehicle I have ever owned by far. Everything works like it should and it has never once let me down. My only concern is safety since its so lightweight. It does come with duel airbags so you might walk away from a crash unharmed but the car will totaled."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Quick off the line.Always burned oil.Dependable

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fast from a start. Fairly roomy. Big trunk."

Cons: "Burns oil."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Getting some rust.Otherwise a real war horse. No major repairs in 5 yrs. Hate the white color. Going to paint it forest green this summer. If you just want carefree transpo,this is it to the max."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great gas mileage, pickup, and reliability

By on Tuesday, January 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, good on gas, good in snow, great pickup"

Cons: "No remote lock, style a bit dated"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have done nothing to this car except standard maintenance for the past 16 years. Sure it is not the most stylish ride, and I still have a cassette radio, but this car has been reliable in the cold and snows of Buffalo, the potholes of the west side highway in NYC, and gunning it onto the 405 in LA. Still runs great, cheap to maintain, great pickup, and better on gas than most current cars( 22 mpg in parking lot style city traffic, 28 mpg in mixed city/ highway driving, 35 mpg for highway) which is down slightly from its youth but still great. Safe, sturdy, great in snow. I stretched to buy a reliable, safe car when I got this. Could have replaced it years ago with anything I wanted. Aside from the aesthetic, this is still a great car and shows no sign of slowing down."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

i love this little car

By on Thursday, January 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "comfortable and fun"

Cons: "hard to get in and out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"rides a little like a gocart but I expected that. handling is excellent, a fun car to drive. seats are very comfortable and the design of the interior is convenient. the not so great side, the engine uses oil and no one knows why.it doesn't leak and it doesn't smoke yet We add a quart about every 300-400 miles. the engine runs fine otherwise."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle for starters

By on Tuesday, December 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent AC, good conditions everything."

Cons: "Exterior not so neat.Needs paint,that's it.White."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Never let me down in the road.Economic, very reliable, fun to drive.Good performance never had a major expenditure in mechanic stores.Window tinted.Good Stereo with CD-new, not the original."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Comfy, good MPG, plenty of space

By on Tuesday, December 17, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: time for upgrade

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good space, good MPG, comfy"

Cons: "Low power, costly repair potential"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great car, good first car, well worth it's cost. Ran for years and was well cared for. Started going bad and became high way unworthy at about 165k miles but great city vehicle. roughly 24mpg in the city."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

1999 Toyota Corolla - Best Car I Ever Owned

By on Monday, December 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, good gas mileage, easy upkeep"

Cons: "Small parts break over time (e.g. door handle)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned my Toyota Corolla for 15 years. NEVER did it break down on me, nor did I ever fear it would. The Corolla was such an easy car to own. It always drove well, has a good turning radius, and all it asked of the owner is regular, standard upkeep and maintenance. In return, I received reliability, smooth driving and all anyone could ever ask for in this class of vehicle for everyday use. The gas mileage has always been above average, and I could go forever before having to refuel, on about a ten-gallon tank. It was decently comfortable. The only complaint I have is that after ten years, the door lock automation no longer works, the power windows do not all roll down, and the driver side door handle broke off with normal use. Those things needed higher quality parts, as this is a vehicle folks expect to own for life. I still see Corollas on the road, which are decades older than my 1999. That is the reason I originally decided on the car when I was in College."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

30 miles per gal

By on Friday, December 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "no major repeair in 200000"

Cons: "Door handels break very easy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought with 64,000,put on 140,000,no major repair, just change oil, plugs & coolant."

Very Reliable Make And Model

By on Friday, November 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Its a smooth ride, no auto problems"

Cons: "no power windows or locks, very basic!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"This car has been wonderful to me. I loved this car!! Im gonna miss her."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 56 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Corolla near Honolulu. See local deals