Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1999 Toyota Corolla

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 575 Ratings for the 1998 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Best Vehicle Evar!

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 330,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable ride, seats, handler. Great mileage!"

Cons: "I can't think of a single con. Great vehicle."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"What a wonderful vehicle our Corolla 5-speed has been! Comfortable ride, not cramped (at least in front seats). We bought it new in 1998 - I think my husband washed it 3 times the first week. Probably would have slept in it, if he'd thought of it! Now, all these years and 330,000 miles later it still gets nearly 40 mpg, even as decrepitude creeps in. We will probably buy another Corolla, but I doubt they make them as good, now. Great handler, great mileage, absolutely intrepid for 15 years! 330,000 miles is Legendary!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good reliable car.

By on Monday, December 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Silver 2002 4 door Corolla Sport. Good condition. Low mileage. AC, power windows and locks, sliding power sun roof, cruise control, AM/FM stereo with single CD player. Great purchase for a new student driver."

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

reliable!

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Reliable, affordable, good quality! Easy to maintain and to repairl"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My 1999 Toyota Corolla LE looks like new.

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Its afffordable, dependable (if its maintained)."

Cons: "No rear windshield wiper."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Toyota Corolla LE is checked over thoroughly 2 times a year (just before winter and just before summer). Whatever has to be replaced or changed is done. Car has always been kept clean and in garage. Fortunate to have great mechanics to work on my car. I live in an area where all my business (shopping, Drs.)is just a few minutes from my home so I don't pile on the miles. As of today, I have about 54,000 miles."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Been a daily drive vehicle

By on Monday, November 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 299,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Been a daily drive vehicle since it was bought in 2005 with 72k from the original owner. Has never left me stranded. Showing its age, plus deer damage, needed a replacement with a little more room (I'm over 6 foot). Overall quality is great, still gets over 30mpg, but lacks power on long hills would still be driving it if I had not stumbled into a deal on a bigger vehicle."

16 people out of 27 found this review helpful

dependable

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "acceleration,trunk space"

Cons: "burns oil"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Above average acceleration. Large trunk. Headlights go on automatically at low beam and automatically go to normal beam at sunset. Burns oil."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

A very good vehicle.

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: leave America and return to motherland

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's a two owners-car Toyota Corolla LE 02' 140K miles with automatic transmition, four cylinders, 1.8 liters engine, in very good conditions, no mechanic problem, in good shape no accidents clean title Carfax report all power's and Toyota factory staff very well maintains kept has!"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned-so reliable and fun!

By on Thursday, October 30, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: needed rack and pinion replacement

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable! Fun to drive! Great gas mileage"

Cons: "interior roof fabric became disattached"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Always reliable and great gas mileage. No major repairs needed and over 196 thousand miles driven. Sad to have to sell it, but with that many miles, a rack and pinion rebuild was not in the cards. I bought it brand new and maintained it well at the dealership all its life and could not have been happier to have it as my car."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Excellent motor, poor door detailing

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Marvelous engine performance, total reliability"

Cons: "Door elements (handles and detailing, frail."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent motor performance over the entire 14 years of constant use. Completely reliable. Motor still quiet, has needed only maintenance service and new brakes. Still has the original suspension parts. But the "carrocería" (detailing?) aspects (door handles, and trims) are very fragile."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

A WORKHORSE!

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great on gas, comfy, easy to drive. Good in snow."

Cons: "many plastic parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 4th Corolla and I don't really want to own anything else. I have had no major issues with any Corolla. This one had 100K miles when I bought it. The only thing big thing I had to replace was the Catalytic Converter. (I believe some states don't have emission control requirements for cars over a certain age, but mine does so this was necessary to pass inspection). I was able to purchase a rebuilt one from a mechanic friend. Engine, tranny and cat still strong @ 200K+ miles. Routine things that at this age, I expect to replace. Front end alignments. Brakes. But nothing major. I didn't rate it a total 10 because like most cars, it has a lot of plastic parts like door handles and cup holders. They periodically snap off. I've replaced some of them, but not all. The trim on outside of car by doors seems to come off on these models, after a few years. That's cosmetic so at this stage, I won't replace. I love my Corollas and hope to buy one more, that will take me well into my retirement."

11 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Corolla near Honolulu. See local deals