Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1999 Toyota Corolla

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 581 Ratings for the 1998 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

A very good, reliable vehicle

By on Friday, April 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easy to drive and park."

Cons: "no rear cup holders on the door"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new and never had any issues with it. It has been maintained on the recommended regular basis regarding oil change and maintenance at 30K and 60K at the local Toyota dealership."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

An amazing car for gas mileage

By on Tuesday, April 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very dependable and 40 miles to the gallon, even at this age. Tires and oil have been kept up with. The ac is needing a charge every year, but not leaking oil or burning oil. Bought this car with 100k and now I've put that same amount on and I would by nothing but this car all over again. It's too bad they didn't make a corolla pickup this this mileage and low towing capabilities. I suppose a chop shop could make one out of it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent car

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 232,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, reliable, a pleasure to drive"

Cons: "not much cargo space, small trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is reliable, economical, comfortable and pleasant to drive."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love my Toyota, I'd hate to give it up!

By on Sunday, March 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependable & economical"

Cons: "can't really think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2001 Toyota Corolla has been amazing, the best reliable car I've ever had. No problems outside normal maintenance and I love the front wheel drive - excellent for winter conditions. I'm pushing 200,000 miles and it still runs great but have a few rust spots around the wheel wells and rocker panels but I guess that's to be expected for a car with that many miles and 13 years old. Mechanics say I can get 300,000 with scheduled maintenance because the engine is still in good shape. It's been a great car and I'll hate to trade it in or sell it when it comes time for a new car. I'll definitely look into another Corolla - a good quality car, extremely dependable and economical."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good solid car

By on Wednesday, March 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "reliable, gas mileage, point A to B car!"

Cons: "burns oil, door panels."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Good point A to B car. I bought mine almost 5 years ago at 133000 miles exactly. It currently has 172000 and still runs great. I've changed the oil and aside from little things, that's about all. At about 160k it did start burning oil after the valve cover gasket blew and ran low. It's burned oil ever since then but still runs great. I just keep an eye on the oil level and fill it up, uses about a quart every 1000 miles. Only other thing that is real common in these is the door panels will show the glue through the fabric, and then after a while the fabric will fall off. I'd say most of these the fabric is gone, Toyota must have used cheap glue when they did these. The rest of the interior is solid, strong, and good. Most vehicles in florida will have cracks in the dash long before they are 15 years old, but still looks perfect. Most of these cars down here do. It's not the most comfortable, quiet, or luxurious vehicle but I knew that before I ever bought it. It starts every morning, gets me where I need to go, gets 33-34mpg which is great considering it's a base model with the 3 speed auto trans, and I drive 90 miles per day all interstate (70+ mph). I have no complaints at all!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very good and reliable automobile

By on Tuesday, March 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "need front end worked on"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"a very good and reliable vehical. I was ran off the road by a drunk driver up and over a curb.because of the damage, Ive had 2 motor mounts replaced,wheel berings and pvc re-worked and got a front wheel alignment.the car still shakes a bit at high speeds.a very good car for a person that works on cars. I never had ANY other problems. it runs and sounds great."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Evar!

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 330,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable ride, seats, handler. Great mileage!"

Cons: "I can't think of a single con. Great vehicle."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"What a wonderful vehicle our Corolla 5-speed has been! Comfortable ride, not cramped (at least in front seats). We bought it new in 1998 - I think my husband washed it 3 times the first week. Probably would have slept in it, if he'd thought of it! Now, all these years and 330,000 miles later it still gets nearly 40 mpg, even as decrepitude creeps in. We will probably buy another Corolla, but I doubt they make them as good, now. Great handler, great mileage, absolutely intrepid for 15 years! 330,000 miles is Legendary!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Good reliable car.

By on Monday, December 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Silver 2002 4 door Corolla Sport. Good condition. Low mileage. AC, power windows and locks, sliding power sun roof, cruise control, AM/FM stereo with single CD player. Great purchase for a new student driver."

10 people out of 14 found this review helpful

reliable!

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Reliable, affordable, good quality! Easy to maintain and to repairl"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My 1999 Toyota Corolla LE looks like new.

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Its afffordable, dependable (if its maintained)."

Cons: "No rear windshield wiper."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Toyota Corolla LE is checked over thoroughly 2 times a year (just before winter and just before summer). Whatever has to be replaced or changed is done. Car has always been kept clean and in garage. Fortunate to have great mechanics to work on my car. I live in an area where all my business (shopping, Drs.)is just a few minutes from my home so I don't pile on the miles. As of today, I have about 54,000 miles."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Been a daily drive vehicle

By on Monday, November 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 299,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Been a daily drive vehicle since it was bought in 2005 with 72k from the original owner. Has never left me stranded. Showing its age, plus deer damage, needed a replacement with a little more room (I'm over 6 foot). Overall quality is great, still gets over 30mpg, but lacks power on long hills would still be driving it if I had not stumbled into a deal on a bigger vehicle."

16 people out of 27 found this review helpful

dependable

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "acceleration,trunk space"

Cons: "burns oil"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Above average acceleration. Large trunk. Headlights go on automatically at low beam and automatically go to normal beam at sunset. Burns oil."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

A very good vehicle.

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: leave America and return to motherland

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's a two owners-car Toyota Corolla LE 02' 140K miles with automatic transmition, four cylinders, 1.8 liters engine, in very good conditions, no mechanic problem, in good shape no accidents clean title Carfax report all power's and Toyota factory staff very well maintains kept has!"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned-so reliable and fun!

By on Thursday, October 30, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: needed rack and pinion replacement

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable! Fun to drive! Great gas mileage"

Cons: "interior roof fabric became disattached"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Always reliable and great gas mileage. No major repairs needed and over 196 thousand miles driven. Sad to have to sell it, but with that many miles, a rack and pinion rebuild was not in the cards. I bought it brand new and maintained it well at the dealership all its life and could not have been happier to have it as my car."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Excellent motor, poor door detailing

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Marvelous engine performance, total reliability"

Cons: "Door elements (handles and detailing, frail."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent motor performance over the entire 14 years of constant use. Completely reliable. Motor still quiet, has needed only maintenance service and new brakes. Still has the original suspension parts. But the "carrocería" (detailing?) aspects (door handles, and trims) are very fragile."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

A WORKHORSE!

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great on gas, comfy, easy to drive. Good in snow."

Cons: "many plastic parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 4th Corolla and I don't really want to own anything else. I have had no major issues with any Corolla. This one had 100K miles when I bought it. The only thing big thing I had to replace was the Catalytic Converter. (I believe some states don't have emission control requirements for cars over a certain age, but mine does so this was necessary to pass inspection). I was able to purchase a rebuilt one from a mechanic friend. Engine, tranny and cat still strong @ 200K+ miles. Routine things that at this age, I expect to replace. Front end alignments. Brakes. But nothing major. I didn't rate it a total 10 because like most cars, it has a lot of plastic parts like door handles and cup holders. They periodically snap off. I've replaced some of them, but not all. The trim on outside of car by doors seems to come off on these models, after a few years. That's cosmetic so at this stage, I won't replace. I love my Corollas and hope to buy one more, that will take me well into my retirement."

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Love this car.

By on Sunday, August 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "super car"

Cons: "peeling topcoat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wish it was prettier. My topcoat is peeling and it is just too much to repair. I tell everybody to get a Toyota. It always starts in the coldest weather and is so good on gas. I love my Toyota."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

best car for the money by far

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, great gas mileage, good in snow"

Cons: "wish they made a Corolla hatchback"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This car has always started, peppy, great maneuverability, excellent gas mileage even after it started burning oil (about 1 qt/month) at 120,000 miles. Have done basic maintenance and only had to fix a few things after about 120,000 miles--nothing major. Would buy another but they are making the Corolla too big now and standard transmissions seem to be disappearing in everything but sport models with no better gas mileage than 13 YEARS AGO! Can't believe TECHNOLOGY HASN'T ADVANCED IN 13 YEARS!!! ?? BTW, checked out some cars in Canada and find their cars get better gas mileage--their emissions standards are higher so they make 'em more efficient. Here we only get what the oil companies will allow. In Japan the same cars we drive get 3x the mileage!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This is a sturdy comfortable dependable vehicle

By on Sunday, August 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfortable ride, quiet, cost efficient,good mil"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my "Toy" for approx 9 years. It is my main and only vehicle. I bought it used (approx 56 K miles then). Upkeep normal. Kept up with my oil changes and fluid checks. replaced a set of brakes 1x. 2 sets of tires 40 K to 60 K Miles quality. I was going to go to a newer car in approx a year unfortunately a serious accident recently forces me to buy sooner. I will be looking at the newer Corolla's FOR SURE. I do believe this car was well built and saved my life. ***** 5 stars"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car-377000 miles

By on Sunday, August 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 377,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Great car--period"

Cons: "for the reliability---NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The engine is original. The starter was replaced, but the alternator is still original. Still gets over 30 mpg on the highway."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

I expected more from Toyota

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "cheap to insure"

Cons: "prohibitively expensive to keep roadworthy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"My previous vehicle was a 1995 Tercel, and it spoiled me. It was reliable, agile and got great mileage (avg 42mpg). This Corolla is sluggish, unwieldy maneuvering, gets abt 24Mpg and has been seriously unreliable. I've had the car for a year and spent twice the purchase price on repairs, from failed brake linings, to suspension, to major engine maintenance. It had been a profound disappointment. I couldn't reconcile my previous experience with Toyota with my experience owning this car until I began to think of it as a General Motors vehicle with Toyota branding. Then the experience was familiar with previous Detroit vehicles I have owned. I could not be more disappointed. After owning this car for a year it has spent between 25 & 33% of its time in the shop."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice car

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 294,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "High quality, strong car"

Cons: "Burns oil like a fire"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This is a very nice car. It burns a quart of oil every gas fillup. Otherwise has been great."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Hey, it's a Toyota!!!

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I owned and sold this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great, reliable, inexpensive transportation. Great engine, handling and gas mileage. Easy to maintain and still running and 14 years old. Wish I had a dollar for each time I heard "it will run forever; it's a Toyota"....."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Runs really well and it's 15 years old!

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price and good miles per gallon."

Cons: "Doesn't have a CD player."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a black car. For some reason when it was 10 years old the paint started to come off. Now most of the clear coat is gone and it looks bad with a peeling paint look. I have heard from other friends who have black Toyota's and they have the same experience. The car has had no major repairs, just regular maintanace."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The most reliable vehicle ever. Excellent.

By on Tuesday, July 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive,Excellent gas millage."

Cons: "Wish it had a CD player."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

I drive alot and having a corolla and a RAV4 and Camry and this helped keep the mileage down

"This Corolla had 83500 miles and all I replaced were batteries and windshield wipers. maintenance was by the book. I wish I didn't have to sell it. this vehicle will go 200k miles with no problems. I sold it to a college student, if I had to sell it, it would be to a student. They need a reliable transportation."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I drive alot and having a corolla and a RAV4 and Camry and this helped keep the mileage down

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Corolla near Honolulu. See local deals