Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1997 Toyota Corolla

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 437 Ratings for the 1993 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Its a Toyota simply a car made to last

By on Friday, April 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 400,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price and value"

Cons: "When you first buy the vehicle tires are not wide"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is an oldie but a goodie .. I see lots of these vehicles on the road some like my are kept well I did upgrade the tires a while back silicone hoses and wires, just amazing and still driving smoothly upgraded brakes, while everyone has car payments I have an almost half a million mile car that is paid for .. of course you can always make the suits some money by financing a new vehicle"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

great car, most reliable car you can get this old

By on Thursday, April 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, good engine sound"

Cons: "20 years old"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought this car with 90k on it, starts everyday no problems ever execpt the hood latch broke, the mechanic charged my a large amount of $0.00 to fix it. highly recommend toyota"

Reliable, Dependable and great on gas

By on Saturday, April 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, very reliable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car if you can find one in good shape. Great gas mileage, very reliable, and very safe. Great car for A to B transportation or a starter car for a first time driver."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Still going. Looking for a low $ car? This is it.

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Low cost to own. Reliable. Nothing ever goes wrong"

Cons: "You will never want to offer to drive to lunch."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I admittedly have low miles (160k) for how long I've had this car, but I have to say it is a trooper. No, it will not impress anyone. But it will leave you free of headaches as it reliably takes you from A to B if you take care of it in return. Bought in 2001, had until 2015 and only one thing ever went on it, that was the starter, and it was very reluctantly, and very recently (2014). The only odd thing about these little guys, and this goes for several Toyota cars of the same era, is that the hubcaps like to jump off the car. Next time you see a Corolla from this year range, I bet you a hubcap is missing...or two. Insanely low cost car to own and maintain."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best car I've owned!

By on Sunday, January 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable basic 4-dr sedan."

Cons: "Radio only; no CD player."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Die-hard Toyota owner! This is 3rd one in a row since 1983. Do the math… only 3 cars in 32 yrs! (1st was 1983 Corolla GTS sport fastback: LOVED LOVED LOVED!; 192,000 mi. on orig'l engine-- pretty good, I think! Then a 1994 Tercel ((great car & mechanical reliability--just a little too "bouncy" for me on my major, 5-hr-long highway drives to visit the folks in North Jersey a few times a year. )) And 3rd--what I now have--the basic 1996 Corolla--no bells or whistles--but the perfect basic 4-dr sedan!). I hate to give it up, but my eyesight isn't what it used to be. Have to sell it."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Corolla near Honolulu. See local deals