Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1997 Toyota Corolla

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 431 Ratings for the 1993 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next

I drove it and it never died. 200000 miles

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great"

Cons: "really none. It served me well."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"REALLY great car. I probably will not find a car then I can treat it terrible and it wouldn't die."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Exterior Desgin, highly reliable Quality Car

By on Sunday, October 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,789

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very stable on the high way."

Cons: "Driver seat can't raise up."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This model's exterior desgin is the best until 2013. Very good A/C and heating system. Highly reliable and stable on the high ways. Toyota the BEST, and I bought 2011 CAMRY.Dealers should maintain, and keep up the value and TOYOTA name."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very dependable, small compact, great gas mileage.

By on Friday, October 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Affordable, comfortable, easy to drive and park."

Cons: "Cup holders in tight space."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Same as review summary."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car value

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the original owner of this car and I am going to save it for my daughter. I do a regular routine service and it's runs as good as it did when I bought it brand new."

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Very Reliable Car

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive, reliable, gas efficient"

Cons: "No cd player."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been my car since high school, (my first car) I have had it for over 6 years and it is a 1997. I havent had any problems whatsoever with this car. I have only had to do the regular maintenance on it and everything works. It is very comfortable and easy to drive. It is also very gas efficient. My husband actually bought a new corolla for himself because my old one has been such a great car."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

One of the best cars ever made.

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 359,536

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good mileage, excellent reliability, inexpensive parts and repair cost."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My First Car

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 364,932

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good for a first car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This car was passed down to me from my grandfather. The paint on the hood is chipping, tires are only a 1 1/2 to 2 years old. The original cassette player along with radio still works. Many people complain about older cars not having A/C, well not with this one. The air conditioner still works like a charm. Cruise control still works as well. The battery under the hood may need to be replaced along with some slight cosmetic repairs. Miles to the gallon I'm going to have to guess to be 26-32 miles. The body color of the car is like a dark pine tree green and the interior of it is a creamy tan. The windshield wipers were replaced about 8 months ago and may need to be replaced again. The headlights are a bit dim due to use but may be replaced as well. The cup holder is above the ash tray but still comes to good use. The hood is a bit dented and scratched up (I'll be honest) from friends Duke's of Hazarding across the hood. The back bumper was torn off but was fixed, I do not think permanently. The bumper will probably need a checkup in the near future."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Corolla - Generic Car

By on Sunday, July 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Value, MPG, sensible, safe, commutable"

Cons: "Boring to drive, old, dated styling,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car after moving from CA to NJ on a whim. I lucked out and struck a deal with someone who just wanted it gone. As BADLY as I want a new car for aesthetic and comfort reasons, I can't bring myself to part with this SOLID running vehicle. I'm very grateful to have this long running economy car. I replaced the clutch, and updated the tires and still get her vitals checked regularly like a responsible driver. She's not fun to drive, She doesn't like high speeds, She doesn't like to race. She's a Responsible car She responds sensibly to my driving style, and is quick to react when other drivers may not be making sound choices. As a base model everything works, and I'm very satisfied with my investment. I'd like to tint her windows and give her a fresh face lift, but any work I put into the car would be money lost. It's only a little depressing to pull up to my friends newer models with my 20 year old car, but even when I replace her with something newer and no doubt larger, I might keep her in my driveway as a spare, because she'll run forever."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Car to Get From Point A to Point B

By on Friday, July 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,510

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, great gas mileage and fun to drive"

Cons: "No power mirrors, door locks, or windows."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My grandparents bought this car brand new back in 1996 as a 1997 model. This is a great commuter car, first car, and family sedan. Looks and Interior quality are decent. Steering is good. This car does have air conditioning, AM, FM and Cassette. Trunk space is pretty good for a compact sedan. Leg room can be a little tight in the rear. Acceleration is a little slow. Visibility is very good, can see clearly out of every window."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great First Car

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Cheap, Great mileage, cheap parts"

Cons: "Not fast enough for a teenage boy, not pretty."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"This was the car I purchased when i got my drivers licence. It is a great car, reliable, gets great gas mileage, and parts were cheap. in the three years i have had it, i have replaced one set of tires, front breaks, a timing belt, and a water pump. Other than those things i have never had any issues with it, even with its age. The cosmetics leave something to be desired, but it is a great first car, and one i won't soon forget."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

LOVE THIS CAR

By on Friday, May 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,899

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My mother bought this car when it was a couple years old. She gave it to me 3 years ago. I have put lots of miles on it and never had a problem with it besides regular maintenance. It drives good. Gets around in the snow well. Fun little car to drive. Very dependable and great on gas."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

car always ran great

By on Sunday, May 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "no cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"the car has always run great. front windows do not operate. slight dent in door."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The best commute vehicle ever!

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great mileage!!!"

Cons: "No bells or whistles."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is actually a 1989 Toyota Corolla. Believe it or not, I get forty-two miles to a gallon on the freeway! Yep, that's 42 mpg. Around town running errands, the mileage drops to thirty-six miles to a gallon. Yep, that's 36 mpg in town. kind of hard to think about buying a new vehicle, in this time of $4.25 for a gallon of gas."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

good reliable transpotation

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 224,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "not fancy but great car to go from point a to b"

Cons: "plastic door handles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"bought this car in August of 2002 with 104,000 miles on it a really great car have had to do a few repairs on items that wore out but overall a great car it now has 224,000 miles on it and the engine still runs very smooth my next car for sure will be a toyota"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This is a gold car value, never stop on road, snow

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, comfortable driving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"True value car."

Best Reliable Car Ever Owned

By on Sunday, March 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,637

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It is a great, inexpensive to run vehicle."

Cons: "Older car; standard shift not for everyone."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love this little car! It has been so reliable and great on gas. I love the standard shift, especially in the winter time! I am sad to have to sell it."

Loved this car

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Wanted a SUV

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Excellent value"

Cons: "Smallish"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My first car where every thing worked..no alternate switches or home repairs on the seat. It works..as expected. Good value safe ride. Perfect for a student driver. Solid."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A Sleeper--Toyota got it right in '94

By on Friday, February 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Drives very well, reliable, comfortable, great val"

Cons: "Hard to find, especially lower mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Except for a few technological improvements, I would actually hesitate trading my 1994 Corolla for a new one. True, it only has 22,000 miles on it, but the steering, handling and power seems superior or equivalent to new rental cars I've driven recently. Instead of renting a car in California for some months, I bought another one--this '94 Corolla with 196,000 miles. Ran wonderfully,though the shocks were a bit rough. Reliability is legendary---my 1988 Corolla was sold to a friend--still running well. At the going price, you don't really have to worry about collision insurance. Expect 25 mpg in regular driving, regular gas. Ah, if they only made them as well as as simply as 20 years ago...."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

fair

By on Wednesday, January 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Fair condition, a few dents"

long term value on moderate investment

By on Wednesday, January 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great gas milage, cheap to own"

Cons: "getting up there in years and milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Purchased in 2006 (14 years old then) with 170,000 miles for $2,000. Still running in 2014 with 260,000 miles. Reliable around town car, great for teenage son getting to school, sports, work and friends, with lots of room for extra stuff (sports equipment) in the back. Still use it for hauling larger stuff from the hardware and garden stores. Engine and transmission running very good, body deteriorating in wheel wells and under door frames. No excessive rattling, vibrating or leaking beyond what you would expect with a car of this age. Average around 28 to 33 mpg in suburb/rural and highway driving."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Not sorry I bought it

By on Friday, December 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "cheap on gas, needs little maintenance"

Cons: "interior a little cramped, no cd player,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a great little car. It starts and runs, and always gets me where I want to go and back. The only repair I've had to make was a new starter; otherwise the only money I've spent on it has been for maintenance items, like oil changes and tires. It still has the original brakes and muffler. The interior is a little cramped, especially compared to today's vehicles, but it's perfect for putting around town or driving back and forth to work. I'd buy another one in a heartbeat!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Most reliable car I've ever had

By on Monday, December 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is awesome. I bought it in Florida back in 2008 for $1,500 and it is worth more than that now. I plan to drive it until it drops,which won't be anytime soon. Runs great! No rust. Couldn't ask for a better car. Love it."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Fantastic car!!

By on Friday, December 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great on gas, great in the snow, small."

Cons: "lack of cup holders, no cd player, slow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 94 corolla a year ago..i just had it inspected and it needed nothing!! The gas mileage is wonderful, and it's great in the snow. I have never had even the smallest issue with this car. I absolutely love it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best deal

By on Saturday, November 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, excellent response, easy to park"

Cons: "no interval wipers, no cruise control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in 2004. My brother said it wouldn't last and I paid too much for it ($8000). I've only had to do a few repairs such as brakes, oil pan gasket and head gasket. This car has never let me down, never left me stranded. Since I'm only 5'2", this car is the perfect size for me. The body is still in pretty good condition with minimal rust. It's not the car for everyone; my husband calls it 'the go-cart' but I love it! I'm going to be trading it in on a slightly larger car, that he can enjoy driving as well and I'll be sad to see it go. I expect to see it driving around town for a long time to come. Great little car!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I Love My Put Put

By on Tuesday, October 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 287,278

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car is at 287,278 Miles on it had it since feb of 2013 car was in the family so it was given to me at 242,000 miles Starts right up and never had a problem with it"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Corolla near Honolulu. See local deals