Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1997 Toyota Corolla

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 436 Ratings for the 1993 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 44 | Next

great car, most reliable car you can get this old

By on Thursday, April 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, good engine sound"

Cons: "20 years old"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought this car with 90k on it, starts everyday no problems ever execpt the hood latch broke, the mechanic charged my a large amount of $0.00 to fix it. highly recommend toyota"

Reliable, Dependable and great on gas

By on Saturday, April 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, very reliable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car if you can find one in good shape. Great gas mileage, very reliable, and very safe. Great car for A to B transportation or a starter car for a first time driver."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Still going. Looking for a low $ car? This is it.

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Low cost to own. Reliable. Nothing ever goes wrong"

Cons: "You will never want to offer to drive to lunch."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I admittedly have low miles (160k) for how long I've had this car, but I have to say it is a trooper. No, it will not impress anyone. But it will leave you free of headaches as it reliably takes you from A to B if you take care of it in return. Bought in 2001, had until 2015 and only one thing ever went on it, that was the starter, and it was very reluctantly, and very recently (2014). The only odd thing about these little guys, and this goes for several Toyota cars of the same era, is that the hubcaps like to jump off the car. Next time you see a Corolla from this year range, I bet you a hubcap is missing...or two. Insanely low cost car to own and maintain."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best car I've owned!

By on Sunday, January 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable basic 4-dr sedan."

Cons: "Radio only; no CD player."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Die-hard Toyota owner! This is 3rd one in a row since 1983. Do the math… only 3 cars in 32 yrs! (1st was 1983 Corolla GTS sport fastback: LOVED LOVED LOVED!; 192,000 mi. on orig'l engine-- pretty good, I think! Then a 1994 Tercel ((great car & mechanical reliability--just a little too "bouncy" for me on my major, 5-hr-long highway drives to visit the folks in North Jersey a few times a year. )) And 3rd--what I now have--the basic 1996 Corolla--no bells or whistles--but the perfect basic 4-dr sedan!). I hate to give it up, but my eyesight isn't what it used to be. Have to sell it."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

best corolla for the year and milage

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 288,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great on gas, perfect for a single person,"

Cons: "Not much, it is 22 years old!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car since 2010, I have been using it for a courier car, it runs and runs and runs. Sure I have had to replace some things, tires oil, lights, but, it is like a truck to me. It has carried up to 800 pounds of boxes and still came thru with flying colors, I just love the older corollas, they never die."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I drove it and it never died. 200000 miles

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great"

Cons: "really none. It served me well."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"REALLY great car. I probably will not find a car then I can treat it terrible and it wouldn't die."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Exterior Desgin, highly reliable Quality Car

By on Sunday, October 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,789

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very stable on the high way."

Cons: "Driver seat can't raise up."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This model's exterior desgin is the best until 2013. Very good A/C and heating system. Highly reliable and stable on the high ways. Toyota the BEST, and I bought 2011 CAMRY.Dealers should maintain, and keep up the value and TOYOTA name."

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Very dependable, small compact, great gas mileage.

By on Friday, October 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Affordable, comfortable, easy to drive and park."

Cons: "Cup holders in tight space."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Same as review summary."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car value

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the original owner of this car and I am going to save it for my daughter. I do a regular routine service and it's runs as good as it did when I bought it brand new."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Very Reliable Car

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive, reliable, gas efficient"

Cons: "No cd player."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been my car since high school, (my first car) I have had it for over 6 years and it is a 1997. I havent had any problems whatsoever with this car. I have only had to do the regular maintenance on it and everything works. It is very comfortable and easy to drive. It is also very gas efficient. My husband actually bought a new corolla for himself because my old one has been such a great car."

13 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 44 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Corolla near Honolulu. See local deals