Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1996 Toyota Corolla

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 442 Ratings for the 1993 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next

Awesome car!

By on Tuesday, October 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car Jan. of '06 and it had 107,000 miles on it. I've put a litte over 20,00 on it to date. I have been extremely pleasedd with this car. The comfort is great, but I am a short girl LOL It seems a little small for my boyfriend who is 6'5" so maybe not the best one to get if you are really tall. My mom had a Corolla years ago and these cars do last a long long time. I highly recommend this car!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Solid performer

By on Thursday, August 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Driven vehicle over 12 years with only normal maintenance expense. Drove it down the ALCAN in 99 with family, have been cross country several times, vehicle has never failed. Driven daily 90 miles back and forth to work. Not a better vehicle on the road in it's class."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

you can't kill this car!!

By on Sunday, August 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"We bought this car new in 1995 and it now has 186k on it. I kept saying I would buy a new car when this one dies, but it just keeps going. We've never done any repair work other than oil changes. Did I say awesome car?! Well, I finally did shop for a new wagon. Test drove the VW Passat and Toyota Matrix.....the Matrix drove much better and for $6,000 less, the choice was obvious. There is no beating a Toyota for value and reliability. The sad part will be selling/parting with my old corolla wagon....it is truly part of the family!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car.

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Purchased the car with 221000 miles. It continues to run well. Not exciting but very reliable. I have averaged 30+ in all types of driving. The car handles well in snow. The Toyota reputation for quality is evidenced in this car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great First Car

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Cheap, Great mileage, cheap parts"

Cons: "Not fast enough for a teenage boy, not pretty."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"This was the car I purchased when i got my drivers licence. It is a great car, reliable, gets great gas mileage, and parts were cheap. in the three years i have had it, i have replaced one set of tires, front breaks, a timing belt, and a water pump. Other than those things i have never had any issues with it, even with its age. The cosmetics leave something to be desired, but it is a great first car, and one i won't soon forget."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love it!!!

By on Thursday, October 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've only had this car for a few months. Second owner and just turned 47,000 original miles. I'm good to go for quite some time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

one of the best

By on Tuesday, September 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive , easy to handle."

Cons: "I just want a new car for myself"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car going on 5 years now and am tottaly happy with the way it has been . Withing the time I have had it, I have replaced ALL 4 tires, raditaor, brake and fuel lines battery, Plus minor things. but ecept for a little rust , it is great."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great ceonomic car

By on Sunday, May 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best car if u like to see the world on eek ends for very less gas."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great work car

By on Sunday, December 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Gas mileage and price to operate and maintain."

Cons: "Comfort of seating and ease of entry."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Corolla is a great little car. This our second one. We owned a 1979 model. Mechanically sound, easy to work on and to get work done on. Parts are reasonably priced. Will drive the present one until the wheels fall off-which they probably won't. Only drawback-seating is a little low and not the easiest to get in and out of for this ol' retired teacher."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very dependable, excellent car

By on Friday, March 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 214,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought this car from my mom who was original owner. This car is very, very, very dependable, would not sell if my son had not bought himself a newer version. Kept the car maintained by Toyota dealership and it has lasted far more years than I had expected."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car, gets me everywhere, never wanna sell it

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I got the car at 186000 shes needed some work but with that and proper maintenance i ddont see her ever dyin'-however i want a truck."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great quality vehicle and very reliable.

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great on gas!!"

Cons: "No cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was my first car that I bought and I loved it. It is very reliable and FANTASTIC on gas. Makes a great first car for a new driver."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

extremely reliable

By on Sunday, February 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "durability"

Cons: "electrical system; fuel pumps"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned the car for sixteen years and have had very few problems over all this time. Economical as maintenance costs are minimal."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Saturday, February 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great mileage, cargo space, repair record."

Cons: "Uncomfortable back seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new in July 1995 and am still driving it. It's reliable, gets good gas mileage, has good cargo space, yet is the size of the Corolla sedan. I had trouble with is at 22,900 miles and 44,000 miles, when the clutch went out. Toyota replaced the clutches and I have not had a problem in the last 70,000 miles. Other repairs have been minor. The most serious was a new alternator a few years ago. The exhaust system is original. Toyota discontinued the Corolla wagon in 1996. I wish they would bring it back. I'd buy another one. However, as well as this one is lasting, it will be a few years before I need another car. Two weeks ago a stranger in a parking lot asked if I wanted to sell the car and offered to pay cash. I did not even consider it. I love my car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Perfect Car

By on Saturday, January 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just change the oil and keep up maintenance the car will last forever."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Superior construction and reliability.

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm so thankful for its superior construction and reliability over the past 13 years I've owned this 1994 Corolla. I had to buy rust treatment in a bottle 2 years ago, but it chemically bonded with the rust along the bottom and behind the rear wheel well."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

37 MPG

By on Sunday, January 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"37 MPG"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Car I've Had

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,670

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Price, drives awesome, asking $2,000"

Cons: "A little rust on the hood and on the doors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Toyota's last forever. I have had this car for almost 3 years and no major issues at all; just normal maintenance."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Reliable as any toyota, it's dependable

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Dependable"

Cons: "Tall guys will want more room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car is easy to maintain and generally no parts needed. I did have to replace the fuel pump twice in two years though. Gas miliage is about 30 miles to the gallon. At 60mph the rpm's are up. It would get better gas miliage with an extra gear, no doubt. I own an automatic transmission. Car has great starting pickup but doesn't have alot at 52mph when pumching. You can put in 2nd gear manually and get the performance. Top speed is 105 mph. Car does perform well on the thru-ways at 70mph. Car is excellant in snow with good snow tires. Currently using "Winter Force" tires, car is a monster in snow! Overall rating this is a good decent, dependable car for the money."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Takes a Licking and Keeps on Ticking

By on Thursday, January 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable."

Cons: "Exterior paint clearcoat wearing off in places."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has beent the best care I've every owned. I've had to put very little money into it except for routine maintenance. The only thing that is not holding up so well is the exterior paint. The clearcoat has worn off,and the paint has gotten very dull in those areas. Other than that it's great."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

If you take care of this vehicle it just keeps on

By on Wednesday, December 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Tough, agile, fuel efficient, fun"

Cons: "crummy front cup holders, none in rear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this car for a year and a half. The last owner really drove it hard so it's cost me about 5 grand on regular maintenance stuff like struts (replaced all 4 struts, strut mounts, coils), stabilizer bar links, tires, breaks, windshield, etc. But I haven't had to do anything out of the ordinary. The car has great agility and maneuverability, it's small and fits almost anywhere. Also most of the parts I find to be pretty inexpensive. Because of the year of the car there tends to be rust spots (any old car would be the same) so I used an orbital sander to sand all the paint down and used spray cans (Tremclad) to repaint the car orange at a cost of $200. Paint has held through a Canadian winter with no chips or rust. Auto paint would have cost me $2500 and now I have a sweet orange car with HID lights and a cold air intake. Cons: 2 crummy cup holders in the front, none in the rear, no biggie."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Most Reliable Vehicle we have ever owned!

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 243,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun little car, great on Gas, low maintenance cost"

Cons: "A little small, a little too low to ground for us"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Corolla has been in the family from day 1! Since 1995 it has taught 3 teenagers how to drive a standard; has been driven by everyone in the family and has seen the entire country just about! Best two wheel drive car I have ever driven in snow and still after 16 years will still achieve 35 mpg's on average. A little loud now on the interstate around 70 mph, but still the most reliable vehicle! Very much worth the money. Low repair cost and low frequency of repairs which is a plus!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car!! GAS SAVER!!!

By on Monday, November 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love this car. It's not only a gas saver but with gas at almost 4 dollars its a life saver lol. I just got a growing family and i need to sell my baby. But she will be truly missed!!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very reliable, economic.

By on Saturday, November 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 256,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "economic gas saving, reliable."

Cons: "auto parts can be expensive and difficult to find."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very reliable, economic"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 262,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My brother inlaw gave me this over 4 yrs ago .He said it may only last 4 months .It lasted over 4yrs and he gave me it with 160000 miles on it minor repairs. I now have 262,000 miles.It is great on gas and very reliable.Last night a motorcycle hit me. I may have to say good bye to my poor toyota Very shook up. I love Him! will buy another."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Corolla near Honolulu. See local deals