Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1996 Toyota Corolla

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 432 Ratings for the 1993 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 44 | Next

long term value on moderate investment

By on Wednesday, January 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great gas milage, cheap to own"

Cons: "getting up there in years and milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Purchased in 2006 (14 years old then) with 170,000 miles for $2,000. Still running in 2014 with 260,000 miles. Reliable around town car, great for teenage son getting to school, sports, work and friends, with lots of room for extra stuff (sports equipment) in the back. Still use it for hauling larger stuff from the hardware and garden stores. Engine and transmission running very good, body deteriorating in wheel wells and under door frames. No excessive rattling, vibrating or leaking beyond what you would expect with a car of this age. Average around 28 to 33 mpg in suburb/rural and highway driving."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Not sorry I bought it

By on Friday, December 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "cheap on gas, needs little maintenance"

Cons: "interior a little cramped, no cd player,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a great little car. It starts and runs, and always gets me where I want to go and back. The only repair I've had to make was a new starter; otherwise the only money I've spent on it has been for maintenance items, like oil changes and tires. It still has the original brakes and muffler. The interior is a little cramped, especially compared to today's vehicles, but it's perfect for putting around town or driving back and forth to work. I'd buy another one in a heartbeat!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Most reliable car I've ever had

By on Monday, December 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is awesome. I bought it in Florida back in 2008 for $1,500 and it is worth more than that now. I plan to drive it until it drops,which won't be anytime soon. Runs great! No rust. Couldn't ask for a better car. Love it."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Fantastic car!!

By on Friday, December 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great on gas, great in the snow, small."

Cons: "lack of cup holders, no cd player, slow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 94 corolla a year ago..i just had it inspected and it needed nothing!! The gas mileage is wonderful, and it's great in the snow. I have never had even the smallest issue with this car. I absolutely love it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best deal

By on Saturday, November 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, excellent response, easy to park"

Cons: "no interval wipers, no cruise control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in 2004. My brother said it wouldn't last and I paid too much for it ($8000). I've only had to do a few repairs such as brakes, oil pan gasket and head gasket. This car has never let me down, never left me stranded. Since I'm only 5'2", this car is the perfect size for me. The body is still in pretty good condition with minimal rust. It's not the car for everyone; my husband calls it 'the go-cart' but I love it! I'm going to be trading it in on a slightly larger car, that he can enjoy driving as well and I'll be sad to see it go. I expect to see it driving around town for a long time to come. Great little car!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I Love My Put Put

By on Tuesday, October 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 287,278

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car is at 287,278 Miles on it had it since feb of 2013 car was in the family so it was given to me at 242,000 miles Starts right up and never had a problem with it"

Great first car

By on Tuesday, October 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great gas mileage, AC and heat work after 18 years"

Cons: "Not very powerful, light car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great first car for any new driver! Not very powerful, but one of the most reliable cars on the road"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love it!!!

By on Thursday, October 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've only had this car for a few months. Second owner and just turned 47,000 original miles. I'm good to go for quite some time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I'm embarrased to drive this car!

By on Thursday, September 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Cons: "Horrible paint job."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"My red car is pink from fading. The clear coat is gone, the paint job is so hideous I'm embarrassed to drive it! I wrote to Toyota and they said "Sorry we can't do anything, live with it" I have seen too many Toyotas with this defective paint job looking hideous driving down the road."

one of the best

By on Tuesday, September 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive , easy to handle."

Cons: "I just want a new car for myself"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car going on 5 years now and am tottaly happy with the way it has been . Withing the time I have had it, I have replaced ALL 4 tires, raditaor, brake and fuel lines battery, Plus minor things. but ecept for a little rust , it is great."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 44 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Corolla near Honolulu. See local deals