Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1996 Toyota Corolla

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 428 Ratings for the 1993 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 43 | Next

good reliable transpotation

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 224,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "not fancy but great car to go from point a to b"

Cons: "plastic door handles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"bought this car in August of 2002 with 104,000 miles on it a really great car have had to do a few repairs on items that wore out but overall a great car it now has 224,000 miles on it and the engine still runs very smooth my next car for sure will be a toyota"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This is a gold car value, never stop on road, snow

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, comfortable driving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"True value car."

Best Reliable Car Ever Owned

By on Sunday, March 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,637

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It is a great, inexpensive to run vehicle."

Cons: "Older car; standard shift not for everyone."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love this little car! It has been so reliable and great on gas. I love the standard shift, especially in the winter time! I am sad to have to sell it."

Loved this car

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Wanted a SUV

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Excellent value"

Cons: "Smallish"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My first car where every thing worked..no alternate switches or home repairs on the seat. It works..as expected. Good value safe ride. Perfect for a student driver. Solid."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A Sleeper--Toyota got it right in '94

By on Friday, February 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Drives very well, reliable, comfortable, great val"

Cons: "Hard to find, especially lower mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Except for a few technological improvements, I would actually hesitate trading my 1994 Corolla for a new one. True, it only has 22,000 miles on it, but the steering, handling and power seems superior or equivalent to new rental cars I've driven recently. Instead of renting a car in California for some months, I bought another one--this '94 Corolla with 196,000 miles. Ran wonderfully,though the shocks were a bit rough. Reliability is legendary---my 1988 Corolla was sold to a friend--still running well. At the going price, you don't really have to worry about collision insurance. Expect 25 mpg in regular driving, regular gas. Ah, if they only made them as well as as simply as 20 years ago...."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

fair

By on Wednesday, January 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Fair condition, a few dents"

long term value on moderate investment

By on Wednesday, January 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great gas milage, cheap to own"

Cons: "getting up there in years and milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Purchased in 2006 (14 years old then) with 170,000 miles for $2,000. Still running in 2014 with 260,000 miles. Reliable around town car, great for teenage son getting to school, sports, work and friends, with lots of room for extra stuff (sports equipment) in the back. Still use it for hauling larger stuff from the hardware and garden stores. Engine and transmission running very good, body deteriorating in wheel wells and under door frames. No excessive rattling, vibrating or leaking beyond what you would expect with a car of this age. Average around 28 to 33 mpg in suburb/rural and highway driving."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Not sorry I bought it

By on Friday, December 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "cheap on gas, needs little maintenance"

Cons: "interior a little cramped, no cd player,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a great little car. It starts and runs, and always gets me where I want to go and back. The only repair I've had to make was a new starter; otherwise the only money I've spent on it has been for maintenance items, like oil changes and tires. It still has the original brakes and muffler. The interior is a little cramped, especially compared to today's vehicles, but it's perfect for putting around town or driving back and forth to work. I'd buy another one in a heartbeat!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Most reliable car I've ever had

By on Monday, December 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is awesome. I bought it in Florida back in 2008 for $1,500 and it is worth more than that now. I plan to drive it until it drops,which won't be anytime soon. Runs great! No rust. Couldn't ask for a better car. Love it."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Fantastic car!!

By on Friday, December 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great on gas, great in the snow, small."

Cons: "lack of cup holders, no cd player, slow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 94 corolla a year ago..i just had it inspected and it needed nothing!! The gas mileage is wonderful, and it's great in the snow. I have never had even the smallest issue with this car. I absolutely love it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 43 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Corolla near Honolulu. See local deals