Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1996 Toyota Corolla

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 428 Ratings for the 1993 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 16 17 18 | Next

you can't kill this car!!

By on Sunday, August 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"We bought this car new in 1995 and it now has 186k on it. I kept saying I would buy a new car when this one dies, but it just keeps going. We've never done any repair work other than oil changes. Did I say awesome car?! Well, I finally did shop for a new wagon. Test drove the VW Passat and Toyota Matrix.....the Matrix drove much better and for $6,000 less, the choice was obvious. There is no beating a Toyota for value and reliability. The sad part will be selling/parting with my old corolla wagon....it is truly part of the family!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Wonderful

By on Friday, August 17, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"My '93 DX wagon was bought new in Dec.'92. I have put 143,000 miles on it and have enjoyed it's reliability beyond measure. It's been a wonderful car."

very reliable

By on Thursday, August 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my '93 toyota corolla at the beginning of my senior year of college with 134,000 miles. I am now about to start my first year of graduate school (5 1/2 years later!!) and it is still running great!!! It now has 206,000 miles on it. I have driven it back and forth to San Francisco about 5 times (from LA).... it has never let me down! I am still a poor college student trying to finish school and I'm glad I have my corolla because it has saved me a lot of money!... Also, I am a girl, and was away at college for 4 years so would not really follow the oil changes, etc when they had to be done.. and it is still running strong.... I will definetly buy a new corolla when i finish with school..."

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Toyota makes a reliable car!

By on Monday, August 13, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"My Corolla has almost 260,000 miles and is still as reliable as ever. This has been an excellent car for me, and though I would like a newer car with exciting features like power locks and windows, this car has proved to me that Toyotas are the way to go for reliability."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

reliable+great mpg

By on Saturday, August 11, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"My dad bought his new in '97 and handed it down to me. We have only had to replace the clutch and interior bulbs. Right now I'm coming up on 210,000 miles and the car runs absolutely perfect. If you don't run it hard, and keep up with regular maintenance there is no telling how long it can last. I would strongly recommend it to any first time driver simply because if you wreck it, you don't have much in it."

Great commuter

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought this car used in 2003 for my wife to get to and from work and after having a child, I now drive it 40 miles a day to get to work, and have never had any major problems with it. Runs perfectly and with normal oil changes and new brakes it's better than some newer cars that we've had. Toyota quality is no joke."

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought this from my brother two years ago, now has about 140000 miles on it, rides great but has a leak in the power steering line so I have to refill it about once a week. Recently the starter has been acting up but seems to be regular wear. Overall it has been a great car."

By on Tuesday, August 07, 2007

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great Buy!

By on Saturday, August 04, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I purchased my 1995 Corolla 5 years ago, and the only thing that I have had to replace was the starter. I have put nearly 60,000 miles on it and the value is still only 400 dollars less that what I purchased it for. Great resale value and highly durable! Also, I get 32 MPG. I highly recommend Toyota Corollas."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, August 02, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This has been the best car I have owned. I have had it for 12 years and it keeps on running and running with only reguluar maintenance (oil change, new tires. . . )"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best 2nd car for work is great

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This car has been a life saver for all my family members to use while their cars are being repaired. I only had one problem was the battery and that it was fixed within a day."

Solid little car

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought this with 82000 miles 5years ago. Now has 98000, never broke down. Only replaced brakes & belts @ 95000."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, July 27, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Dependable

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought this car 2 years ago to save fuel costs over my SUV. Had 121,000 then; has 176,000 now and has yet to let me down other than a broken P/S belt right after I bought it which I consider normal wear & tear. Stying? Well I am economically conservative (that's politically correct for 'tight wad') and this car typifies that plain-Jane lifestyle. But who cares? It's dependable, comfortable even for 6 hour drives, ecomomical, practical - how does 40-41 mpg on the highway sound? My goal- 200,000, then 250,000, then...? It's capable. Trust an engineer to do his homework. The '93 to '97 models seem to offer the best value for the buck."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Very Reliable

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this car used with 15000 miles on it. It now has 152000 miles and is still running strong. As long as you keep up the maintenance, it could possible run another 100000 miles. My next car will be a Corolla!!!!!!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I Love my Corolla!

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought mine with 39K in 1998, now it has 124K. Consistently gets 29-31 mpg. As long as you maintain the car, it will serve you well. My only complaint is that it is noisy when driving, especially compared to newer cars. But it always starts, runs great, gets great gas mileage, and wears well. Hoping I make it to 200K before having to get rid of it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Dependable and Fun!

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Purchased with 12,000 miles and now I'm at 149,000. Engine is peppy, car handles well -- very dependable. It looks good and its a practical hauler. I'd like to get a new vehicle but this is running so well that I'll keep driving it!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

reliable great city car

By on Sunday, July 22, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"A super reliable great local commute car. Great on gas and save you up for a lot of money!"

A real gem

By on Sunday, July 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I usually drive a large luxury SUV, but decided to drive this car for 6 months for a drastic change. This car is super reliable, does not guzzle gas, and is very high quality for what it is. I can see exactly why American automakers are losing billions each year. How can you compete with something like this? And I actually got more respect on the road than in the SUV, the people in the "nice" cars are scared of you, if you drive aggressively - it makes them nervous, since they're the ones with something pricey to lose. I'll really miss this car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Don't just go by name

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"Don't buy this car just because it is toyota. I bought the car at 90,000 miles. Engine and Transmission started leaking at 100,000 miles. I'm still monitoring the oil level every week and keep filling it. There is no reliability in this car...you should definitely look outside Toyota"

By on Friday, July 20, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

This car will last forever!

By on Thursday, July 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"If you want a dependable vehicle the Toyota Corolla is the way to go. If maintained, it will last forever."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

You can never go wrong with a Toyota!

By on Wednesday, July 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I'm the original owner of mine and at 143,000 miles it still runs great! Looking forward to when it finally breaks down so I can buy a newer model or hybrid Toyota!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 16 17 18 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Corolla near Honolulu. See local deals