Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1994 Toyota Corolla

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 423 Ratings for the 1993 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next

New timing belt, well maintained

By on Tuesday, July 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "very reliable, well maintained, great AC"

Cons: "fair body"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has great AC, is well maintained, has a new timing belt,and is very reliable. The body is is fair, due to harsh Wisconsin winters."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

On a scale of 1-10 i rate it a 4

By on Sunday, July 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Not fun to drive because front end damage"

Cons: "has cup horders, no power widowes or power locks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"This 98 corolla only power mirrors and has 280,000 miles and its interia is poor.INTERIA and paint are in poor condition"

On a scale of 1-10 i rate it a 4

By on Sunday, July 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Not fun to drive because front end damage"

Cons: "has cup horders, no power widowes or power locks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"This 98 corolla only power mirrors and has 280,000 miles and its interia is poor.INTERIA and paint are in poor condition"

On a scale of 1-10 i rate it a 4

By on Sunday, July 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Not fun to drive because front end damage"

Cons: "has cup horders, no power widowes or power door lo"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This 98 corolla only power mirrors and has 280,000 miles and its interia is poor"

On a scale of 1-10 i rate it a 4

By on Sunday, July 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Not fun to drive because front end damage"

Cons: "has cup horders, no power widowes or power door lo"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This 98 corolla only power mirrors and has 280,000 miles and its interia is poor"

On a scale of 1-10 i rate it a 4

By on Sunday, July 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Not fun to drive because front end damage"

Cons: "has cup horders, no power widowes or power door lo"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This 98 corolla only power mirrors and has 280,000 miles and its interia is poor"

Best vehile ever with no problems

By on Sunday, June 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 214,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great on gas, everthing still works"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in 2000 with 96000mi.I have 214000 Mi on it now. I have replaced one half shaft, starter, and alternator and all schedule maintenance. Best car ever. I would recommend this car to anyone. Good for a first car."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Reliable, sturdy and long lasting!

By on Sunday, June 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 233,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Awsome reliability"

Cons: "Can't seem to think of any con's"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this 1995 Corolla new in December of 1994. In 18 1/2 years I've driven this car 233k miles, changed the oil every 3k-5k miles and have had it regularly serviced per manufactures specifications. Aside from the normal areas of attention, timing belts, tires, oil, lube; I have replaced 1 starter, and 1 set of brakes. This is a 5 speed manual transmission with the original clutch. There's only one word for that kind of reliability - Awsome!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best care ever!

By on Friday, May 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun and reliable to drive! Cost effective!"

Cons: "none!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliability- no major issues and it has over $135,000 miles. Only regular tune ups and tires needed. Maneuverability- Amazing turning radius! Fits into small spaces, hugs the ground, goes anywhere I need it to-even on dirt roads Value- at least 30 mpg all the time! Cargo space- has as much square footage as a small SUV! When seats are down, two people can sleep in the back comfortably. I've hauled all sorts of things in this beauty. And there is more room or just as much room in the hatchback trunk when the back sets are up than in a small SUV. Why did Toyota stop making these? They are simply the BEST passenger vehicle/small SUV (without 4 wheel drive) out there. It gets 8-10 or more mpg than any other small SUV in production at this time. Toyota was nuts to discontinue these. I'm on my second one (my first one topped 250,000 miles before it finally died in an auto accident) and will keep this one until it dies. At this time, it's only on it's half life!"

great ceonomic car

By on Sunday, May 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best car if u like to see the world on eek ends for very less gas."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Passed Down The Family Tree!

By on Friday, May 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 275,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Runs smooth, saves gas tremendously, loose wheel"

Cons: "Manual locks on doors, small cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was passed down to me from my grandparents and at first I thought it would be a drag to fix it up but it actually wasn't! The only major concern was of how old it was. My aunt, the previous user of the car had burned out the ignition (starter) so I had to replace it. 20 years and still running! I will probably even use this convenient car to commute from home to college with over 200,000 miles. On top of all of this, it's a major gas saver! With 20 bucks I've already filled up over half the tank! Gotta love this car!"

solid, dependable, great first/commuter car, A+

By on Thursday, May 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "solid, reliable, great gas mileage, affordable"

Cons: "access to trunk from rear seats is too narrow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used at 130k, and have driven it now for another twelve years and 100k miles. People always think it is newer than it is. Sure, it's not particularly flashy or fancy, but it has been fantastically reliable - no major fixes, just oil changes and tires. I keep thinking something major will break 'soon', but nothing ever does... Had brakes and belts done at 200k, and she just keeps going. Interior is holding up fairly well, a few threadbare patches now on the linings, and the automatic door locks on the passenger side have gone out, but all in all I cannot complain. A great commuter car that still regularly achieves around 35 mpg on the freeway, and around 28 in the city - well above the posted EPA rates."

great car, good on gas

By on Thursday, May 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,370

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "small cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My aunt bought it brand new, then sold it to her foster mother then her foster mother gifted back to me. It's got 139000km on it only, and it runs pretty good. I take it to Canadian Tire for oil changes every 5000km."

Best investment I ever made!

By on Sunday, April 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Starts-up and runs like a charm"

Cons: "Clutch "Slave" issues (3x / 250k)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Other than having to replace the clutch's slave a few times, I've enjoyed 250000 trouble-free miles with my Corolla. The five speed, standard transmission allows for 33 MPG and it still has plenty of zip when I take it out for a spin. I can't believe how well it starts-up, any time, any type of weather, and it doesn't matter how long it's been parked on the grass. My brand new car (not a Toyota) won't start-up very easily if I park it on the grass. Today, while raking the leaves in the front yard, I had someone stop on the road in front of my house and asked me if it was for sale: Wasn't the first time that's happened and probably won't be the last. I imagine the answer will be "No" for another couple of years!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

great car

By on Tuesday, April 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great"

Cons: "great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car keep it maintained will run for ever well close to forever get36mpg on road at 65mph an about 26mpg in town, had to make a emirgancy turn once real sharp to the left car handled great car a little noisy but not bad pretty good ride as far a comfort is concernd"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned.

By on Tuesday, April 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned my 94 Toyota Wagon since 1996 and have loved it."

freakin sweet car

By on Tuesday, April 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 317,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good on gas"

Cons: "only two tiny cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this car never ceases to astonish me. I originally bought it from my aunt at 265,000 miles and i had no faith in the car. i mean the coolant was rusted water. but even then that car still keeps kickin' and hasn't given me any problems. i change the oil every 3000 miles and other than that no maintenance required. yes, the cup holders are small and theres no rear cup holders. but she will treat you right if you treat her right and change the fluids at proper intervals. shes so good to me, im looking for another one in case she don't make it to 400,000. but if she don't make it what more could i have asked shes made it this far and i thank her for it."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

excellent car

By on Monday, March 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, reliable, does good in snow"

Cons: "cup holders are small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this car a few months ago i have had 0 issues with it right now the odomiter says it has 180,000 miles on it. All around this car has been good to me. There has really on been three minor things the cup holders are tiny, the AC doesn't work (we think it is a fuse, and the car has a shake on cold mornings. But this car has been my best friend it gets good gas mileage and does really well on gravel/snow i couldn't have asked for a better first car for the price i paid 1,500 for it and it is worth way more then that."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Car I Ever Owned this is my third car.

By on Tuesday, February 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Wonderful to drive, great price."

Cons: "No cd player or cassette player."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Top vehicle ever. Never had any large maintenance problems, kept it oiled, gassed,a dent on back fender, roofing material over drivers seat has split. Needs a minor paint job. Car is great on gas."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best car ever

By on Friday, February 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "everything except size if you are 5'9 or taller"

Cons: "size and handles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"you can count on great mpg and long lasting runs like new think you have to shoot these cars to kill them lol just trat it nice and it will keep you moving"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this car!!!

By on Monday, February 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's a great car with excellent gas mileage. I get about 29 mpg on average. The only annoying thing about it is how loud it is and how much it vibrates."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever!

By on Tuesday, January 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own a 1995 Toyota Corolla. The original clutch lasted 200,000 miles, while I taught 3 people stick on it! The brakes have only had to be replaced once in 17 years, and I have had no other issues with it! Best car you can ever get. I love Toyota!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great work car

By on Sunday, December 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Gas mileage and price to operate and maintain."

Cons: "Comfort of seating and ease of entry."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Corolla is a great little car. This our second one. We owned a 1979 model. Mechanically sound, easy to work on and to get work done on. Parts are reasonably priced. Will drive the present one until the wheels fall off-which they probably won't. Only drawback-seating is a little low and not the easiest to get in and out of for this ol' retired teacher."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good Old Blanche

By on Wednesday, December 26, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: car accident (totaled)

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "inexpensive, great mpg, reliable, parallel parking"

Cons: "old ladyish, squeaky brakes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a 1995 gold corolla that was sold to us by an old lady. Since she was an old lady car we named her "Blanche" from the Golden Girls. This car got me EVERYWHERE. I've driven from NJ to NYC many times, Baltimore, Philly, need I say more? Great MPG! I had a bouncy speedometer which caused the transmission to jerk the car. Replaced the instrument cluster and my problems were over. I would have loved to see the car exceed 200k miles but I was hit by a reckless driver on 295 which caused me to hit a guard rail and get t-boned by a truck followed by that. This car is surprisingly very safe and is definitely a lot safer than it looks. I am always going to stay loyal to toyota for that very reason. I recommend this car to anyone that wants a ride with excellent fuel economy and would be great for someone who isn't very materialistic. Just keep up on routine maintenance and this car will outlast most cars on the road. I bet my money on it."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Cheap and Cheerful does not exist

By on Thursday, December 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good on gas, good value. good economy car."

Cons: "no ABS, no tach, cheap feel, bouncy/loud ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"This car has been in my family for 18 years since we bought it new in 1994 (we bought a 95 model, DX Wagon). It currently has 170,000 miles on it and it has only broken down once. We were on a trip to San Diego and the engine overheated. I'll start with the good. The car never breaks down. I never have to cross my fingers when I turn the ignition, because it starts every time. The gear changes are surprisingly good for a four speed. (Note: If your corolla does not have an Overdrive switch on the gear lever, it's a 3 speed). The A/C still works like a charm and starts quickly. It's very cold, however. The car is also extremely good with fuel, it only sips instead of binge drinking, saving you a lot of $$. The ride is surprisingly comfortable when compared to my friend's 2010 civic or my mother's 2010 prius. If you have the stock cassette player, you can adjust the sound balance. You can increase the stereo balance from left to right, front to back. You can adjust the treble and bass as well. The car is very easy to drive and has a cavernous trunk, and has great visibility. The steering is very light as well. The brakes, despite being front disc/rear drum without ABS work really well in stopping the car. The car actually weighs less than an Mazda MX-5 Miata. Now, we go on to the bad. The tire roar/road noise is extremely loud. If you set the radio volume to a decent volume at a traffic light, as soon as you set off the road noise drowns out whatever you were listening to. It can get very tiresome on long journeys. Along with the loud noise, the car gets very bouncy on bumpy roads due to its soft suspension. if you are driving over a uneven surface at 30-40 mph, it turns into a floppy barge. The car also has extremely low ground clearance, and I have hit my head a few times getting into the drivers seat. The car's ground clearance is 5.7 inches, compared to the 5.1 inches of a Ferrari 599 GTB. And I can't lie, this is one of the ugliest cars I've ever seen. The interior is rather ugly as well. The interior features hard plastics and cheap vinyl. You can feel the cheapness whenever you touch a button. The rear seats are very uncomfortable and have very minimal leg room. Very uncomfortable if you are an adult, but ok for children. The front seats are not very comfortable either, you'll have to stop and stretch your legs on long journeys. There isn't a whole lot of headroom, and if you're tall and put the seat back, no one will be able to sit behind you. Despite being able to adjust the cassette/radio, it has terrible sound. If you are an audiophile, this will be a huge disappointment. Over the years the car has grown old and arthritic and developed some problems: -The rear left hand side door won't open -The rear window motors are on their last legs -The rear seats do not click into place. Under hard braking, they collapse. -The cup holder is broken. The little plastic bit that holds you drinks has broken, and so has the spring, so if you push it back in it won't come out. One thing to note about the 1995 model is that the 95 model has a different shaped intake and anti-pollution system than the previous years, so it produces 105 horsepower and 117 lb-foot torque instead of 115 horsepower and 115 lb-foot torque. Overall, if you are just looking for basic, reliable transport, this is the car for you. It is a reliable car and will probably keep going for another 80,000 or so miles."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Corolla near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details