Go

2005 Toyota Camry

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1238 Ratings for the 2002 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next

All around great car

By on Saturday, September 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great car, economical -- all around great car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car since it was new. It has low mileage and and is in excellent shape. The reason I am selling it is I am moving back east and I won't be driving any longer."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Not Happy at all

By on Thursday, September 24, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"Driving Toyota Camry for over 13 yrs and had owned a 1997 toyota camry until 2005 august until some one ran a red light and totalled my Car. Came out with no Bruise. :) I was very happy with my 1997 camry and drove almost 100,000 miles with no major problems. I wish I still had that same car. Brought 2006 Carmy SE in 2005 september and oh boy, I made a big mistake. Riding is Not smooth at all . Had a rattling noice from the piller by Driver seat from day one. Reported it three times or more to the dealer and they could not figure out what it is. One time they told me its a piece of insulation that is missing and even applied some coating on the seat belt assembly. Nothing worked and I finally have to give up. Such a small issue but its very irritating with the fact that its coming from right by the ear. Never felt this car front end is gripping the road well enough especially in snowy conditions. Tires wore out right after 26k ( or before). Very noisy Cabin compared to my old Camry. Ready to see this one."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

disappointed

By on Saturday, June 6, 2009

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"I have had two Camrys prior to this 2002 4-cyl Camry LE, which I bought new. At first it was great but developed MAJOR problems at about 75,000 miles: transmission died -replaced for $2800. Three months later, needed new catalytic converter $900. Also new engine mount. I have replaced both front and rear brakes (maybe not unusual but many other reviews state original brakes and double my miles). The check-engine light keeps coming on for random reasons. None of this should be happening at only 75,000 miles! I am not satisfied with the MPG -- only 20-21 city, and 26 or so hwy. In 2009 alone I have spent almost as much as I could have sold it for. I have been a big supporter of Camrys in the past but mine is becoming a real lemon."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Would recommend if not for..

By on Monday, November 19, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

"Excellent engine. Good built quality. We are very disappointed in the transmission shifting. The car (computer controls?) does not always respond to accelerator pedal as you would expect. It can hesitate when you really need to car to be moving. Very frustrating, and enough to make me decide to shop for another brand of car. If not for this issue and the lack of a telescopic steering column, I would be able to recommend."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

no pic no vids

By on Wednesday, June 15, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "multiple"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"a must see to believe, excellent condition, bought in 06, all maintenance records on hand for inspection."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I ever bought...rarely any troubles

By on Tuesday, June 7, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Comfy & easy to drive, great quality car."

Cons: "For an 02, it doesn't have up-to-date features."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've bought four cars in my 40 yrs of living. I pay cash whenever I do buy a car. My 02 Camry has been the best car I ever bought. The only service I had to provide was getting a new alternator! Lady who had the car before me, kept it up w/ records to support it. So, I was bless to get it from her. In 2012, I bought this car w/ only 69K miles. Now in 2016, it has 110K miles, and it is still going strong & I have NO problems with it! I love my lady blue bug!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My Love :-)

By on Monday, May 16, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "starts every time..enough said"

Cons: "arm rest, plastic covering on bottom drivers seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have had our Camry XLE for about 8-9 years. We keep the oil and tires changed as needed and we have NO trouble out of it. It has about 240,000 miles. The main issues are little cosmetic things inside the car, especially the arm rest,we use velcro to keep it closed. The plastic covering on the bottom of the drivers seat has popped off on the right side. Sunroof, heated seats, cassette player still working, and I love being able to play some of my old cassettes. Oh my check engine light stays on, but it doesn't bother me soooo. I love my camry and my husband wants to trade it in. IDTS!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2006 Camry LE - 4 cylinder Excellent car, smooth

By on Sunday, May 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Runs smooth, reliable"

Cons: "A tad soft ride, will buy SE model next time"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been great to us. 138k miles so far and runs like a champ. Only typical maintenance so far. Bought in late 2005, and the battery crapped out in 2 years, but other than that...runs good. I do all the maintenance myself and keep it up. Runs like new! Still have the original alternator, water pump, belts. No oil leaks yet! I wanted to move on, but I have admit this car runs so well to get rid of it. Could use a MAF cleaning and throttle body cleaning, but that's about it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2002-2006 camry has a good reputation

By on Friday, April 10, 2015

I don't own this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great car with great reputation and reliability."

Cons: "The lighter color cars tend to have paint peeling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have a 2006 Camry with 165,000 without problems since day one. Changed the battery once and the brakes twice. Rides like new. I am buying a 2003 with 54,000 miles from a deceased owner. I hope to have this for many years. It needs a paint job for being in the sun, but mechanically sounded. Both cars do not have timing belt, only timing chain. I hope to run them for many years to come. They both ride comfortably."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

so reliable.

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great to drive, reliable and economical"

Cons: "I honestly have no cons to report."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love, love, love this car, I do not think I will ever buy anything but a Camry again. I bought this used 3 years ago and have never had a problem with it. It looks new and drives like a dream. I am so impressed with it. I have owned a Honda, several Volkswagens and a Buick but this is the best ever."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever bought

By on Tuesday, March 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 403,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, comfortable, good handling/mileage"

Cons: "no complaints here"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned Jaguar (3) Mercedes (1) BMW (1) Cadillac (1) Audi (1) MG (1) Thunderbird (2) Lincoln Continental (1)and many other automobiles...this by far the best overall-- ever. Just now getting ready to replace it after 10 years of excellent driving experience. Very reliable and 32 mpg average. Will buy another Camry."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

It is a great car!

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, roomy, & great gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love not spending a bunch of time at the shop getting my car fixed! I have put a lot of miles on it and just change the oil!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car, 1 owner, no smoke, sr. drivers

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Loved and cared for since new. Older drivers, leather interior, Dark Green color,never smoked in, driven with care on freeways and local streets, no accidents, all power, 30+mpg."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Being the 2nd owner, I love this car!

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality,dependable,and 32-34 mpg."

Cons: "none yet."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this 04' Camry for 3 years without a single issue. This was the year that Toyota did away with the timing belt and went with the chain. What a worry free relief to not have to think about preventive maintenance on a timing belt!! I have put about 40,000 miles on it and the front end still feels nice and tight. My main expense was when I changed all for struts myself which was no problem at all. This car is very mechanically friendly for a person with some mechanical ability. Since owning my first Toyota in 1973, I think Toyota's engineering people do a great job with their vehicles and also keep the mechanic in mind."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Most reliable, durable car you can ever ask for.

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is GREAT, THIS CAR IS AWSOME ON GAS I ONLY PUT 89 GRADE OF GAS plus it only take 45-50 to fill the gas tank, I ALSO USE SYNTHETIC OIL FOR OIL CHANGES. IF YOU GET A REGULAR TUNE UP AND CHECK THINGS PERIODICALLY THIS IS A GREAT CAR. it just needs a full detail, new carpet or mats will be fine and its great!!!!!!!!!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best vehicle I have owned!

By on Saturday, November 9, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car consistently makes 30+ mpg on trips. It has never given me any trouble. The only major expense has been changing the muffler/catalytic converter this past year. I have carefully kept it serviced."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My 4th Camry, all have been excellent in every way

By on Monday, November 4, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I can't praise this car enough. Does everything well, never a single service problem, great mileage."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2005 Toyota Camry XLE

By on Monday, April 1, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Extremely reliable"

Cons: "Has quite a few miles on it slight damage bumper"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Without question, this is the best car I have ever owned, it is extremely reliable, comfortable, easy operation and gets excellent mileage."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I LOVE THIS CAR!

By on Wednesday, March 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drive 100 miles per day for work and this car has held up extremely well. Only had to replace the usual items - brakes, tires. Regular oil changes has kept this kitten purring. I've driven only Toyotas for quite a few years and it's the only car I'll ever drive."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good basic reliable car and I'd buy another.

By on Wednesday, December 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I get regular oil changes, alignments, tires (2x), brakes (at 55,000) and I bought a battery. No random repairs or problems, this is the VERY best car I've ever owned. My only complaint is cosmetic. The paint seems to scratch if you look at it the wrong way."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love the reliability

By on Tuesday, August 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great on gas mileage"

Cons: "No USB, IPOD or IPADconnections; had to supply own"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very little maintenance required. Have not had a flat tire since I had this vehicle (well over 5 years)."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Saturday, June 2, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliability, value, gas mileage"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had this car for 10 years now. Only things changed were tires and wipers. What a great car. Planning to keep for 5 more years. Can't believe the savings. Will be buying a Lexus next time."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Greay Car!

By on Thursday, May 3, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Car!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wonderful car inside and out. Well designed as you would expect from Toyota. The only disappointment I've had is the radio reception here in the foot hiils."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awsome family sedan

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability"

Cons: "Look"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never has a single problem with it. Really reliable , comfort, quiet and functionality. Great mileage with 33 HWY and 24 Local . Not sexy looking but works great !"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Zero complaints. Love this car. Get one. Hurry.

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "No sun roof"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The bottom line is this: Toyota REALLY knows how to build a quality car, and this is one of their best efforts. We've had ours for almost 75,000 miles and replacing brake lines was the most (and only) expensive thing we did to it. The rest was the routine stuff. It drives great. It's completely at home on the highway, and gets 30 mpg. It never fails to start. The front wheel drive is sure footed in snowy weather. Even the A/C has worked without complaint or repair for the entire time we've owned the car. It's no surprise they hold their value well. I cannot envision a more satisfying car ownership experience."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Camry near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement