Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2001 Toyota Camry

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 992 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next

best driving car I've had, good mileage on highway

By on Saturday, June 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great ride, comfortable, love the trunk size,"

Cons: "much rust,repair very $,interior lites didn't work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"nice riding,roomy, interior lights never worked rite-had them repaired many times-worked for a day or 2 then out again- dashboard and console lite also -didn't work.car would speed up on it's own even with cruise control set,always trouble with emissions. good size car, sage color good, highway mileage good."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Cant ask for a better car.

By on Saturday, June 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my 2001 Camry has 220k miles. It's been a great car and when I'm ready for a new car I will be buying another or an Avalon. Keep it maintained and it will last a very long time"

BUY ONE

By on Wednesday, June 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I will never buy another GM, Ford or Chrysler product. This car has been so reliable that I'm spoiled now. It has never nickel and dimed me like so many of my previous cars have. 155,000 miles and always starts parked outside in Wisconsin's winters."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

good running car, and clean

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great power"

Cons: "have to sell need the money"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a one person owner. Good condition"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This vehicle is one of the most reliable cars

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "realiability"

Cons: "it's a simple car,not as fancy looking from the in"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Toyota Camry LE V6 one of the stubborn/reliable cars on earth. I have had this car for nearly 8yrs now and I never experienced any major issues with it."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Most reliable car ever

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I owned and sold this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliability, relaibility, reliability"

Cons: "can't think of much"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I put over 275,000 miles on this car as I used it for business. Other than scheduled maintenance (which included timing belt and water pump), the car was rock solid. And with the V-6 motor, it a quiet, smooth running car. But, part of that long life, might be because of the high miles I put on it. As short trip is what causes oil sludge problems in a lot of cars."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car, I never had any problems with Car!

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 255,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First Owner!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

1997 not a good year

By on Thursday, May 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Purchased in 01 from original owner with 12k.Have suffered with constant oil leaks and electrical problems.Owned an 81 corolla and liked.This car has proved to be a problem all the years I have kept it on the road.Looking at CR report I guess I got stuck with the "bad year "model.I would guesstimate in my 13 years of ownership I have spent at least 10k on repair work.Also doors freeze up in winter,causing door handle to rip off one winter.I try to take care of my cars,but it looks like Toyota may not be in my future."

Best 1st car

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Spacious interior, hardly any blind spots,"

Cons: "No folding side mirrors..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car almost 14 years ago, knock on wood, it's still going strong. As long as you keep the maintenances the Toyota Camry is the best."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Nice looking sporty vehicle

By on Friday, May 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,700

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great car and fun to drive."

Cons: "There are cup hollders front and back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"1999 Toyota Camry - Diamond white/platinum Excellent tires Tilt steering whell electric driver seat comfortable drive plenty of room inside"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Still drives like new.

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliability and ride"

Cons: "it's old"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car from 2000 when I bought it with 11,000 miles on it. Mechanically the car is superb. Other than regularly scheduled maintentance, only 2 repairs since new: dash board display light in 2008 and fuel line from tank in 2014. A shoddy shop did not align the right rear quarter panel exactly right after a minor accident in 2002, so the wheel well let water seep in and that area now shows rust. I think the car will be running well even as the body completely goes!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Cars a beast

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability!"

Cons: "power windows"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Thing literally never stops. I've been beating on it for almost 100xxx now. Got it when I was 16 and I'm 22 now. The only thing I've ever had a problem with is the window regulators and motors. I do change oil religiously and I only use store bought. The windows may be from having done heavy electrical upgrades for my stereo system. If you're looking for a car for your kid buy this. Perfect starter car that will always start."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

w/regular maint will run forever.

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great cruiser in town or on the highway."

Cons: "Flimsey rear cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Camry LE is stylish & excellent for it's value and reliability. Bought used w/110K, ..have put over 50K miles in 2 yrs, n would trust her to run another 250K easy! With reg tune-ups and oil chngs, they run forever. ..plenty of leg rm for tall people. Rear seat is more comfortable for passengers than the new '13 Lincoln Twncar limo. The new Camry's have stayed true to their spaciousness. Great cruiser in town or on the highway."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

lot of electrical problems and repair cost high

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"lot of electrical problems and repair cost high and 4 cyl engine should give better gas mileage than wifes 6 cyl Taurus but doesn't"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

my first vehicle

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"set the bar high for any car i buy in the future"

still gets 31MPG no major problems oil evry 3k mi

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value. rides like sitting in a comfy chair"

Cons: "front headlights cloudy with age(heard of others)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good and scheduled service and having a garage helped keep this car. we actually chose a 2nd 2001 camry which is going on 300K"

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

shake rattle and spin Toyota Camery CE 1999

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "CE Cheap edition Engine still runs fine"

Cons: "Engine a true dog , zero power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"one drive front tire will spin on damp pavement from a dead stop , worst front end drive traction I have even had . even worse is a panic stop even on dry pavement ,rear end will brake loose and a spin out is so fast their is no way to control it at speeds over 35 mph ,This car had standard breaks , Anti Lock should have been standard . The stock tires was worthless for control . After 60,000 miles the car sounded like a babys rattle and a tin can every bump in the road . The drive train was dependable ,only changed oil , Cabin heater died stuck fan on high speed or off ,AC still working , Head lights yellow and automatic shut down quit always had a seat cover ,seat fine ,steering wheel covering coming apart . Breaks replaced at 60,000"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever!!

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love it!"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Camry's are the best, I think those are the only tpe of cars I will ever purchase."

I love this car

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe, Reliable, Strong, Good Value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is the best. I love it, and I'm very attached to it. It's safe, reliable, and powerful. It's a very smooth ride, and I just love it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

250,000 miles-Best Car Yet!

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, smooth and great gas mileage."

Cons: "Door handles will break eventually."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 99 Camry just hit 250,000 miles.I have owned this car for 3 years. I am getting ready to purchase a 2001 model. This car is amazing. 2.2 Liter engine is surprisingly a workhorse even after 14 years on the road. I have done all the recommended maintenance. This car could easily go another 100,000 - 150,000 miles.It will rust out before it dies mechanically...lol. I bought this car with 212,000 miles. I have moved to two different states. No major repairs. Brakes, battery and tune-up are the only maintenance cost to date."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This is the second best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quiet riding, nice all around driving."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. Bought it in 2000 and have enjoyed the comfort and reliability since. The 4 cylinder engine offers enough get up and go for me."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This has been a very dependable, reliable car

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "very, very reliable"

Cons: "not very roomy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have few beefs with the car. It has been excellent. The only beefs for me is cab isn't very large. It's definitely for small people. Not much leg room. I also beef about the seat belts don't retract good. It's a slam in the door sill most of the time. They cheapened the mechanics of them."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "nothing negative to say"

Cons: "as above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Runs like new, a/c very cold, new tires. Only problem, rear left door doesn't lock automatically when started,that's why interior rated 7/10. Can be fixed, but haven't priced repair."

Excellent vehicle

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "nothing negative to say"

Cons: "as above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Runs like new, a/c very cold, new tires. Only problem, rear left door doesn't lock automatically when started,that's why interior rated 7/10. Can be fixed, but haven't priced repair."

Excellent vehicle

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "nothing negative to say"

Cons: "as above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Runs like new, a/c very cold, new tires. Only problem, rear left door doesn't lock automatically when started,that's why interior rated 7/10. Can be fixed, but haven't priced repair."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Camry near Honolulu. See local deals