Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2000 Toyota Camry

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 1029 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

No questions asked best vehicle ever.

By on Sunday, April 19, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: upgrade

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Little maitenance , very cold A/C ,keeps its value"

Cons: "timing belt"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The best vehicle ever,you will not regret to own this car,it requires very little maintenance,its keeps its value thanks Toyota for making this one."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car.

By on Wednesday, April 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 310,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, easy to drive, comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It has been a great car, but it's time to move on. We're donating it to someone who is working but needs transportation. I know they will get many more miles out of it. Wish new cars were as well-built and reliable."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

one of the best cars I ever owned

By on Wednesday, April 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "superb vehicle"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Only items ever replaced : tires , battery , belts Original paint is glossy after having detailing Exhaust system is original Alum wheels still look great Interior held up well after 14 years and 60K miles Still gets 30 mpg Has one small dent from fallen branch"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very reliable.

By on Wednesday, April 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Very good value"

Cons: "minor damage on rear bumper."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am the second owner. Very reliable and low maintenance. Fuel efficient."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Seriously, love this car!

By on Monday, March 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Low price, great quality, smooth ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is amazing. I have never had any serious issues with it. It was my first car and it is still going strong. These cars are so reliable. I would highly recommend them for someones first car. You can always count on them! I would recommend an older model of this car, mine is the 1999, because I knew someone with a brand new one back in 2012 and they had driven my car and compared it to theirs, mine was better because it was better in snow, felt cozier, and it was easier to drive. Unless you can actually afford a brand new 2015, I would go with an older model."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellent, reliable vehicle

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Super reliable, good miliage on the highway (34)"

Cons: "Not a race car, adequit acceleration only."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Never been in the shop, I do all my own maintenance. Never been recalled, I bought this car new."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

this baby is like brand new everywhere

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "power"

Cons: "I have to die before it will."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you raise the hood, you will think that it is a new car with all new components inside and outside. It's a shame that KBB doesn't take into consideration that now and then we can keep something as perfect as the day it was born. To us this will last longer than we will, and look as good as it could ever forever. It sure is great to be able to proudly say "I love my CAMRY"."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

We bought this car 2nd hand from a used car dealer

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 269,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "This car is classified as good condition."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It only had 20,000 miles on it at the time it was about 2 years old when we purchased it. we had trouble at the time finding a V- 6 model so when we found this one we jumped on it. I have taken care of the prevent matinituce ie all fluides and ALL THE FILTERS (OIL AND AIR), changed the oil every 3000 to 4000 miles relioughesly. Using Castrol MOTOR OIL in all my vehicals since my very first car. STILL SO DEPENDABLE AT 32MPG EVEN AT THIS STAGE IN ITS LIFE CYCLE. I AM SURE I WILL NEVER HAVE A VEHICAL THIS DEPENDABILE ever again.. and thats pretty SAD TO ME..."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I would never have anything but a Toyota!

By on Thursday, March 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good quality/dependable"

Cons: "none found"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new and have kept up all service, tires, etc. It is very dependable and although some of the newer options are nice, this was made with many good ones."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

best toyota of the 90`s

By on Saturday, February 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,435

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my camry the best of all"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

BEST CAR EVER!!!

By on Sunday, February 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything!"

Cons: "That it won't "live" forever..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If someone told me they'd give me $100,000 to purchase just one car, and I couldn't get any change back from the difference of cost, which vehicle would I purchase? Toyota Camry - hands down!!! Best car I've ever own - over two previous Honda Accords and a Nissan Sentra! My Camry is 15 years old now and 119,00 miles and I wish I could keep it as long as I live! Only one very small dot of rust on it too - the BEST, BEST, BEST!!!"

13 people out of 17 found this review helpful

greatest car since the subaru

By on Saturday, January 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 217,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "mileage and comfort"

Cons: "didn't buy one earlier"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"217,000 miles on mind and it was built in usa--"

Love this car!

By on Tuesday, January 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fabulous all around"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It has been the mist reliable car I have ever owned in my 25+ tears of driving and owning cars!"

Great car. Great shape and care.

By on Saturday, January 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Outstanding vehicle"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car is 1 owner. Garage kept. Low miles. Always serviced. Has TDS theft deterrent system. Gets great milage and is rock solid dependable."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

LEMON. MANY MAJOR REPAIRS AT 90,000

By on Wednesday, January 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,500

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "GOOD GAS MILEAGE"

Cons: "DOES NOT LIVE UP TO REPUTATION"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"AT 94,000: 2 WATER PUMPS/DRIVE TRAINS (NOT UNDER WARRANTY), BROKEN DOOR HANDLES, HEADLINER FELL,ETC. ETC. ETC. LEMON!"

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best car ever!

By on Sunday, January 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "This baby goes forever"

Cons: "No reason to ever replace it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everyone that knows me, knows how much I love my car. I have had the oil changed as recommended, rotated tires and had the proper maintenance done at the proper times. This car is and has been such a reliable car. As a single woman, I have driven from Missouri to Georgia then on to Florida a number of times alone. Never have I felt unsafe or worried that my car was unable to make the trip. I have sang the praises of my Toyota for years. The only problem I have ever encountered is that it sits pretty low to the ground. I recommend the Camry and can't say enough good things about it, this year my car is old enough to drive!"

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

15 yrs. & 210,000 miles I still love my Camry

By on Tuesday, December 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "plenty of room in a small car & parking is easy."

Cons: "The odometer isn't visual at all times."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I bought the Camry based on it's good reputation & have been well pleased--am planning to buy a new one soon--have no complaints!"

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Very reliable. Only minor repairs.

By on Tuesday, December 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Still runs good. Have had no major problems."

Cons: "13 years old. Never sell a used car to a friend."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Other than regular maintenance, only in shop once for major repairs. Still very reliable."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Saturday, December 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new, and I am amazed at how well it has held up over the years. I have never had to add a quart of oil, EVER. At 111,000 miles I drove it across the country and had no problems with it. This is the first car I have ever owned that was still running past 100,000 miles. Congratulations to Toyota for a quality product."

14 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Very Impressed With Car. Especially Quiet Engine

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Dependable."

Cons: "When I turn fan on sounds like a shrill screech"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The seats are very comfortable which is important to me. I bought car at 43000. miles. Just got headlights plastic sanded and look like new. At first I thought something was wrong with them. I faithfully get oil changed every 3,000 miles. I wish it had a wiper on back window and wish the top of the dashboard was flatter shaped. Impossible to put even mail on top after picking it up - slides right off to the floor. I am trying to figure out if I still want to keep full coverage. Wish drivers door opened more - knees would be happier."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Comfortable and reliable

By on Sunday, December 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "solid, comfortable, reliable into high mileage"

Cons: "Higher priced, door handles break."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Although this particular car had a weird electrical thing, and now is leaking 3 kinds of fluids, I still think its a reliable car. I haven't found the perfect repair shop, so didn't keep it up as well as my brother in law before me, and now its time to sell it to someone who will. Still I drove it 6 years, and its a very comfortable ride. He also drove it 7 years, and his wife had hers well over 175,000 miles."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

The greatest car anyone could have...

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks Great and Runs Great"

Cons: "Don't have any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Camry is a wonderful car...Still runs great and still is very good looking...a classy car...Have had 3 different people say they want it when I get ready to get a new one...but, my car is still very reliable and wonderful...I could have a new one any time I want to...but see no need for one..."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned!

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Finally just bought a brand new 2015 Toyota Camry and still love the old one! My 1997 rides almost as good as the 2015!"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

My Camray review

By on Friday, November 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and fuel efficient it's a great car"

Cons: "If you don't use synthetic watch out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my '99 Camray LE new and during the 100% coverage period the only thing that needed repair was 2 lines in the rear window defroster stopped working. They were polite and quick on the repair. In 2005 apprx 89000 miles we had moved from Portland to Boise ID when the timing chain broke but did not hurt the engine and only cost $150 to repair. Shortly after I read about the engine was known to be prone to sludge about then mine started putting out a little bit of smoke. After a little research I switched to a 50/50 synthetic oil and the smoking stopped. To this day it runs perfectly and smoothly. My next car will be another Toyota and I'd highly recommend it to everyone."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

TOYOTA CAMRY

By on Friday, November 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "GREAT CAR"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"THIS HAS BEEN A VERY GOOD CAR. I HAVE KEPT IT IN GREAT SHAPE AND EVEN WITH 240,000 MILES,IT IS A GREAT RELIABLE CAR. EVEN WITH NEW PAINT AND ALL THE VALUE DOSENT SEEM TO BE MUCH THO"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Camry near Honolulu. See local deals