Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2000 Toyota Camry

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 952 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next

still gets 31MPG no major problems oil evry 3k mi

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value. rides like sitting in a comfy chair"

Cons: "front headlights cloudy with age(heard of others)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good and scheduled service and having a garage helped keep this car. we actually chose a 2nd 2001 camry which is going on 300K"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

shake rattle and spin Toyota Camery CE 1999

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "CE Cheap edition Engine still runs fine"

Cons: "Engine a true dog , zero power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"one drive front tire will spin on damp pavement from a dead stop , worst front end drive traction I have even had . even worse is a panic stop even on dry pavement ,rear end will brake loose and a spin out is so fast their is no way to control it at speeds over 35 mph ,This car had standard breaks , Anti Lock should have been standard . The stock tires was worthless for control . After 60,000 miles the car sounded like a babys rattle and a tin can every bump in the road . The drive train was dependable ,only changed oil , Cabin heater died stuck fan on high speed or off ,AC still working , Head lights yellow and automatic shut down quit always had a seat cover ,seat fine ,steering wheel covering coming apart . Breaks replaced at 60,000"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever!!

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love it!"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Camry's are the best, I think those are the only tpe of cars I will ever purchase."

I love this car

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe, Reliable, Strong, Good Value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is the best. I love it, and I'm very attached to it. It's safe, reliable, and powerful. It's a very smooth ride, and I just love it."

250,000 miles-Best Car Yet!

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, smooth and great gas mileage."

Cons: "Door handles will break eventually."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 99 Camry just hit 250,000 miles.I have owned this car for 3 years. I am getting ready to purchase a 2001 model. This car is amazing. 2.2 Liter engine is surprisingly a workhorse even after 14 years on the road. I have done all the recommended maintenance. This car could easily go another 100,000 - 150,000 miles.It will rust out before it dies mechanically...lol. I bought this car with 212,000 miles. I have moved to two different states. No major repairs. Brakes, battery and tune-up are the only maintenance cost to date."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This is the second best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quiet riding, nice all around driving."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. Bought it in 2000 and have enjoyed the comfort and reliability since. The 4 cylinder engine offers enough get up and go for me."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This has been a very dependable, reliable car

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "very, very reliable"

Cons: "not very roomy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have few beefs with the car. It has been excellent. The only beefs for me is cab isn't very large. It's definitely for small people. Not much leg room. I also beef about the seat belts don't retract good. It's a slam in the door sill most of the time. They cheapened the mechanics of them."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "nothing negative to say"

Cons: "as above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Runs like new, a/c very cold, new tires. Only problem, rear left door doesn't lock automatically when started,that's why interior rated 7/10. Can be fixed, but haven't priced repair."

Excellent vehicle

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "nothing negative to say"

Cons: "as above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Runs like new, a/c very cold, new tires. Only problem, rear left door doesn't lock automatically when started,that's why interior rated 7/10. Can be fixed, but haven't priced repair."

Excellent vehicle

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "nothing negative to say"

Cons: "as above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Runs like new, a/c very cold, new tires. Only problem, rear left door doesn't lock automatically when started,that's why interior rated 7/10. Can be fixed, but haven't priced repair."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "nothing negative to say"

Cons: "as above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Runs like new, a/c very cold, new tires. Only problem, rear left door doesn't lock automatically when started,that's why interior rated 7/10. Can be fixed, but haven't priced repair."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

loved this car

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: gave to friend who needed car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, easy to drive, confortable,"

Cons: "had to replace window motor and door handle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Easiest to own car at a finaminal price!"

Great Vehicle for someone maitain the small stuff.

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, great gas milage."

Cons: "High mileage, small dings and dents."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"New transmission, new tires, detailed, inside and out. Power sunroof power steering. New head lights, new tail and break lights. New engine block. Front wheel drive very good in light to moderate snow."

Love this car !

By on Sunday, March 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and comfortable."

Cons: "Short turning radius on parking."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Can't believe it's value is only $4500 - runs and looks like new at 120,000. Love this car!!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Just won't die

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,600

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Keeps going, easy to handle, lots of visibility"

Cons: "Has needed repairs. Not great on gas (about 16mph)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've owned this car for 2 years now and It has it's ups and downs. Ups: keeps running for a long time. Good visibility all around, engine runs smoothly. Cons: it's fwd and low to the ground which makes getting stuck in snow easy. Is prone to having multiple small oil leaks. Has needed repairs on brakes, exhaust, and the engine twice (all in 2 years) not a strong engine and the stock radio only plays CDs and am/fm radio. All in all it's a real good beginners car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Most amazing car I've ever owned

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, smooth ride, handles great, good pick up"

Cons: "Cassette player only--its a 1997"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My late husband leased this car new and then bought it before we were married. He died at an early age from cancer and THANK GOD for this car because rough times have followed. It now has 160,000 miles on it and drives like a dream! This car has traveled long distances. I owned it in NYC, suburban NJ and now rural NJ...its always great. This past year I had to put some money into it--brakes, exhaust, wires, timing belt, spark plugs, a few hoses etc but that's what you expect at 160,000 miles. The pick-up is great. Its a smooth comfy ride with great handling. The power door locks have some quirks now and the cassette player recently died (hey its a 17 year old car!) but it drives like a dream. A friend of mine drove it recently and says it has better pick up and handles better than her 2011 car. They just don't make them like this anymore. Only reason I hope to get somethng a little newer for my teenage daughter is cars didn't come with side impact airbags or handsfree bluetooth stuff back in 1997. Otherwise, I think this is one of the smartest well priced used cars you can find. I know someone with a 1998 Camry (also the 4 cylander LE) and she loves hers too! I dream of getting a newer car but maybe I will just get big high tires (these models ride low), paint it pink and be crazy old Camry lady for years to come!"

Meet My Baby

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is almost as old as me and is a trooper. I've driven lots of other cars, but only owned one, and that's for a reason. When people say camrys get 300,000 miles easily I believe them. It's been a wonderful 250,000 and the drive keeps getting better. My interior is starting to fall apart a bit, but it's nothing a little glue can't fix. I may be biased because I have an emotional attachment to this car, but Camrys are reliable, easy to drive, and extremely long-lasting from my experience. If you're looking for an all-around good car, you can't go wrong with this one."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very reliable

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Door handles break"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have owned car for 14 years. Been in for necessary repairs twice, once while under factory warranty. Would buy a Camry again but with a V6 engine next time. 170,000 and running strong!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

BEST car EVER made for Reliability Comfort & Style

By on Saturday, March 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "AC/heater work to ideal temp in minutes"

Cons: "Needs deeper & wider expandable cupholders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car when it had 67,000 miles from a dealer. We used it as a second vehicle to commute. I've owned it since Spring 2005. Just did a road trip to PA and back to CA last summer, 2013 and got 31MPG at times. We were thrilled with that. I have always changed the oil regularly at 3500 miles, and kept up with all other regular maintenance for tranny, belts and hoses. We did replace the struts last year and front suspension along with a new set of radial tires. The car ran beautifully. I have herniated disks in my lower back and I never had a problem sitting the entire trip. It's the most comfortable car I've ever owned. I'd buy another one in a heartbeat."

1997 Camry LE V6 -- 197,000 miles and counting

By on Monday, February 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and an excellent value for the money."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased my Camry LE V6 brand new in 1997 and I've racked up more than 197,000 miles since that time. The car is still going strong after 17 years and I fully expect to get another 50,000 miles out of it. The car has been super-dependable and it's only failed to start ONE time in the past 17 years! (as the result of a minor battery issue). Definitely got my values worth out of this car."

Best car on the market, no complaints.

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "beautiful car all ways around."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Their is nothing to say but it is the best car for its value."

Very efficient reliable car

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great vehicle to own and drive"

Cons: "No side air bags."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"-I am very happy with this car build quality and relaibility. -Compared to my 2007 camry this one is built better and feels sturdy. -Very comfortable to drive and enough power."

These Camrys are everywhere and for good reason

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, well built, car."

Cons: "Some in every lot. Not very cute styling."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

Best Camry in town!

"I bought this car used in 2006 on the recommendation of my girlfriends dad (I had been driving a VW bug that was always in the shop!) He owned Toyotas for years and swore they were the best reliable cars ever. Plus we needed an automatic she can drive too. In 7 years and 80 thou miles(close to 200thou overall) I have had no work done to this car other than regular maintenance. This was important to us as we wanted a reliable car and worry-free car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Camry in town!

Most dependable car in the world;

By on Monday, February 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,001

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, powerful, agile"

Cons: "Seat controls not user friendly, not good in snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"220K and still going strong.. No major issues other than engine seal replaced at 200K. Powerful, fun to drive.. comfortable on long trips.. drive it anywhere.... UNLESS there is snow on the ground... then she ain't going anywhere.."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellent

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, good gas mileage"

Cons: "Cant think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I've ever had by far. I've only had one problem other than regular wear and tear type maintenance. Had to have the EGR vacuum switching valve replaced when the Check engine light came on. Other than that, only had the brake pads replaced once and regular oil changes and tires are all i've had to do to it. Wayyy better than any vehicle i've had in the past. Only car i've had with such few problems. I plan on driving it a few more years to at least 200k."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Camry near Honolulu. See local deals