Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1999 Toyota Camry

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 982 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 99 | Next

Really great car

By on Sunday, July 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "pleasure to drive"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Overpowered for the size but if you want that passing edge then this is your car."

Very reliable and dependable, served me very well.

By on Sunday, July 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and dependable. Great paint finish."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Likely the best car I have ever owned. Would buy again."

I will hate to lose this one

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 201,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been solid for over 13 years. With some routine TLC it has taken everything a family of 5 has thrown at it. I will hate to eventually trade this in. But I expect to get 250,000 miles before we reach that point."

best vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very reliable, gas saver, smooth ride."

Cons: "no cons for my car, I love it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My car engine has no leaks as I saw in previous page. I, have not had any major problems with this car. Work done on car are mainly basic needs. Very reliable. When asked what year it is, they can't believe its a 1999 because of how clean and how good A/C works."

2000 Toyota Camry XLE

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Durable"

Cons: "Serpentine belt needs changing every 100,000 mi."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best car I have ever owned. I have had it for all 14 years. I have had very little major maintenance to do, most of what was done was due to age of vehicle. The 6 cylinder engine is great. It is a comfortable car for me. The only thing I would like is a telescoping steering wheel, because I am short. And I do not have the proper permanent mounts for my grandaughter's car seat. I owned several Oldsmobile Cutlass' and a Chevy Monte Carlo. I practically had to rebuild those cars during the 10 years I had them. I would not hesitate to buy another Camry. :-)"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Like a swiss watch

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lack of road noise, reliability , freezing cold ac"

Cons: "Interior is a bit dull, but very fucntional."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great balance of quiet cabin/road feel, this car has been like a swiss watch for over 12 years, very little trouble. I have had amazing results with pre 2001 Nissan's as well."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Body and design

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great style"

Cons: "mechanically junk, engine wise from the beginning."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"The engine was a constant problem, owned it from the beginning and had nothing but engine issues. Timing belt 4times,water pump, and oil pump to name a few. Finally blew a chunk out of the engine block, with only 81,000 miles on it. The body was perfect, but the thousands invested every year, was a major disappointment, I hated to let it go, because it was so great looking, but the maintenance was killing me and I was not putting another engine in it, even if it was free !!!!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Large trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased this car off the showroom floor and am still driving it 15 years later. It has been completely trouble free, much more reliable than my previous Honda Accord. I am very pleased with my experience with this Camry."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Near flawless car

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, quiet, economical"

Cons: "Only gets 30 mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My '99 is the third Camry I've owned, and though they've all been great, this one is the best. I only have 102,000 miles on it so far, but I've never had to pay for anything other than normal maintenance. There are two minor issues: the driver's seat belt takes a few extra seconds to roll back up now, and there is a slight whistle from one of the dash vents that is easily corrected by adjusting it. Other than that, it has always been trouble free. It still rides and handles beautifully, and all systems function now as well as the day I drove it home from the dealership. At my age (65), I expect to be driving this car until I quit driving entirely or else die."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

the best car

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great prize and excellent to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the best car i ever drove for the prize in last 35 years better than my 5 year old lexus is if u see any 2001,2002,2003 toyota camry buy it"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 99 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Camry near Honolulu. See local deals