Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1998 Toyota Camry

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 992 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next

Super car!

By on Sunday, August 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability, ease of drive"

Cons: "humble looking exterior and interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been driving for about 50 yrs. Had many different cars, including Mercedes, BMW, Lincoln Mark VIII, etc. This is absolutely the best car I ever had."

most reliable vehicle I ever owned

By on Saturday, August 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfort reliability"

Cons: "needs a little more acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had 11000 on the ODO when I got it in 1999. Has 187000 now. One repair at 183000 was the only repair. Had I followed scheduled maintenance[replace fuel filter and O2 sensor] there would have been no failures at all!"

Rides smoothly

By on Thursday, August 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good for younger person"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Don't need a second car. Nice tan color."

Cant Imagine ever buying anything else!

By on Thursday, August 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great gas mileage, reliable, roomy, durable"

Cons: "no electric seats or lumbar support, 4 cylinders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This my first car, so I don't have anything else to compare it to. However, I know that I have put 65,000 miles on this car and I have barely put any money into it. Other than routine maintenance, the only thing it ever needed was to replace the catalytic converters. This car has been extremely reliable and runs smooth. Gas Mileage is great!! Never had any problems with this car. Based on the experience that my friends and family have had with other makes and models of cars, I would never buy anything but another Toyota Camry."

good car,water pump the only replacement part .

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "economical car"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"bought new,rides and drives as good today as it did when new.The only thing is the drivers seat feels like it is breaking down.I hope the new ones are as good as this one is!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

you get out of auto in what you put into it

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Bought Lexus LS 400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I sold for top dollar $4500.00"

Cons: "they quit making the body style"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

better than 2007 camry

"Toyotas are great dependable you keep up on maintain it will last had 145000 miles new owner wanted dealer to inspect and they couldn't believe condition of the car"

better than 2007 camry

dependable

By on Saturday, August 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 224,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
6/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
6/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "cheaply made interior."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I bought this car used in 2002. Some small interior problems to begin, wind visor peg broke, two cup holders missing, very minor things. Car has been through a couple accidents, one where I was hit full speed in the side,- thankfully - Glory to God we were all safe! We've been ramed in the back- very hard but car still looked good. Probably in 2005 my fan belt broke in engine causing it to overhead and lock up. Sooo I purchased a used engine so I am not sure on how many miles my car has. Figured it would be cheaper to buy a 2 or 3 thousand dollar engine rather than a new car. Other than that I haven't had too many repairs, aside from problems from potholes. Car has been excellent in that wise. Now the problems- -back seat belt needed replaced - locked up - back window needed fixed -problems going up and down -front door window off alignment- probably thanks to my foolish days- but never has been fixed right -Back door window does not roll up all the way- its stuck -front seat belt wont click in- its broken, so I can't fasten my seat belt -DOOR HANDLES BREAK TO EASY!!! ( the one in my front replaced once already and broken again"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable, Comfortable - Best Car I've Had

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 273,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, great to drive"

Cons: "No side air bags"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2000 Camry has been the best car I've owned. Tons of cargo and passenger space. V6 engine has plenty of power when my Thule roof racks are loaded with kayaks. It has been a solid and reliable vehicle - and so comfortable to drive. I much prefer it to the new rental cars I've driven. Hope it lasts another 100,000 miles."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

excellent car

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 370,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fanastic vehicle for vaue comfort overall"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very good ownership experience"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

best car you will buy or look into buying

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, amazing speaker system"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a super reliable and consistent vehicle. Worth way more than 4,000. More like 8 or 9,000. please check measures before you downgrade or overlook such a superb automobile"

Mileage states all.....

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 317,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The look may not be of a sporty car, however is the most reliable vehicle I ever had.....still running very strong."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Really great car

By on Sunday, July 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "pleasure to drive"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Overpowered for the size but if you want that passing edge then this is your car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very reliable and dependable, served me very well.

By on Sunday, July 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and dependable. Great paint finish."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Likely the best car I have ever owned. Would buy again."

I will hate to lose this one

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 201,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been solid for over 13 years. With some routine TLC it has taken everything a family of 5 has thrown at it. I will hate to eventually trade this in. But I expect to get 250,000 miles before we reach that point."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very reliable, gas saver, smooth ride."

Cons: "no cons for my car, I love it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My car engine has no leaks as I saw in previous page. I, have not had any major problems with this car. Work done on car are mainly basic needs. Very reliable. When asked what year it is, they can't believe its a 1999 because of how clean and how good A/C works."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

2000 Toyota Camry XLE

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Durable"

Cons: "Serpentine belt needs changing every 100,000 mi."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best car I have ever owned. I have had it for all 14 years. I have had very little major maintenance to do, most of what was done was due to age of vehicle. The 6 cylinder engine is great. It is a comfortable car for me. The only thing I would like is a telescoping steering wheel, because I am short. And I do not have the proper permanent mounts for my grandaughter's car seat. I owned several Oldsmobile Cutlass' and a Chevy Monte Carlo. I practically had to rebuild those cars during the 10 years I had them. I would not hesitate to buy another Camry. :-)"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Like a swiss watch

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lack of road noise, reliability , freezing cold ac"

Cons: "Interior is a bit dull, but very fucntional."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great balance of quiet cabin/road feel, this car has been like a swiss watch for over 12 years, very little trouble. I have had amazing results with pre 2001 Nissan's as well."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Body and design

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great style"

Cons: "mechanically junk, engine wise from the beginning."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"The engine was a constant problem, owned it from the beginning and had nothing but engine issues. Timing belt 4times,water pump, and oil pump to name a few. Finally blew a chunk out of the engine block, with only 81,000 miles on it. The body was perfect, but the thousands invested every year, was a major disappointment, I hated to let it go, because it was so great looking, but the maintenance was killing me and I was not putting another engine in it, even if it was free !!!!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Large trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased this car off the showroom floor and am still driving it 15 years later. It has been completely trouble free, much more reliable than my previous Honda Accord. I am very pleased with my experience with this Camry."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Near flawless car

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, quiet, economical"

Cons: "Only gets 30 mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My '99 is the third Camry I've owned, and though they've all been great, this one is the best. I only have 102,000 miles on it so far, but I've never had to pay for anything other than normal maintenance. There are two minor issues: the driver's seat belt takes a few extra seconds to roll back up now, and there is a slight whistle from one of the dash vents that is easily corrected by adjusting it. Other than that, it has always been trouble free. It still rides and handles beautifully, and all systems function now as well as the day I drove it home from the dealership. At my age (65), I expect to be driving this car until I quit driving entirely or else die."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

the best car

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great prize and excellent to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the best car i ever drove for the prize in last 35 years better than my 5 year old lexus is if u see any 2001,2002,2003 toyota camry buy it"

Best Car I ever owned

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quiet, comfortable, nimble in traffic."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"200k miles, used daily to commute 56 miles, and not one problem. Regular scheduled maintenance only. Quiet, comfortable, cruises easily at 80. Cold AC even on 100+ degree Houston days. Garage kept so paint is like new. Usually get 27 mpg."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This is a very reliable car

By on Friday, June 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Runs excellant"

Cons: "Electric window go bad and doorhandles break off."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It requires minumum servicing. The door wll fall off before and before the engine fails. It continues to hold good value even after15 years. Quality car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This car runs great from 1997 to now 2014!!!!!!!!!

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is great from the day I received it. Seventeen years ago!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Extremely reliable car.

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 252,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, Low cost to maintain, lots of storage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 99 Camry in 2007 with 134k on it. I have since put almost 120k on it. In Non-scheduled maintenance I have put less than $300 into the car. I have driven this car in extreme conditions from mountain dirt roads to sliding on ice and snow in Missouri, it definitely shows its age from use, but mechanically it is still in great shape"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Camry near Honolulu. See local deals