Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1998 Toyota Camry

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 1017 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Love this car!

By on Tuesday, January 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fabulous all around"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It has been the mist reliable car I have ever owned in my 25+ tears of driving and owning cars!"

Great car. Great shape and care.

By on Saturday, January 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Outstanding vehicle"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car is 1 owner. Garage kept. Low miles. Always serviced. Has TDS theft deterrent system. Gets great milage and is rock solid dependable."

LEMON. MANY MAJOR REPAIRS AT 90,000

By on Wednesday, January 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,500

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "GOOD GAS MILEAGE"

Cons: "DOES NOT LIVE UP TO REPUTATION"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"AT 94,000: 2 WATER PUMPS/DRIVE TRAINS (NOT UNDER WARRANTY), BROKEN DOOR HANDLES, HEADLINER FELL,ETC. ETC. ETC. LEMON!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best car ever!

By on Sunday, January 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "This baby goes forever"

Cons: "No reason to ever replace it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everyone that knows me, knows how much I love my car. I have had the oil changed as recommended, rotated tires and had the proper maintenance done at the proper times. This car is and has been such a reliable car. As a single woman, I have driven from Missouri to Georgia then on to Florida a number of times alone. Never have I felt unsafe or worried that my car was unable to make the trip. I have sang the praises of my Toyota for years. The only problem I have ever encountered is that it sits pretty low to the ground. I recommend the Camry and can't say enough good things about it, this year my car is old enough to drive!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

15 yrs. & 210,000 miles I still love my Camry

By on Tuesday, December 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "plenty of room in a small car & parking is easy."

Cons: "The odometer isn't visual at all times."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I bought the Camry based on it's good reputation & have been well pleased--am planning to buy a new one soon--have no complaints!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very reliable. Only minor repairs.

By on Tuesday, December 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Still runs good. Have had no major problems."

Cons: "13 years old. Never sell a used car to a friend."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Other than regular maintenance, only in shop once for major repairs. Still very reliable."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Saturday, December 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new, and I am amazed at how well it has held up over the years. I have never had to add a quart of oil, EVER. At 111,000 miles I drove it across the country and had no problems with it. This is the first car I have ever owned that was still running past 100,000 miles. Congratulations to Toyota for a quality product."

13 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Very Impressed With Car. Especially Quiet Engine

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Dependable."

Cons: "When I turn fan on sounds like a shrill screech"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The seats are very comfortable which is important to me. I bought car at 43000. miles. Just got headlights plastic sanded and look like new. At first I thought something was wrong with them. I faithfully get oil changed every 3,000 miles. I wish it had a wiper on back window and wish the top of the dashboard was flatter shaped. Impossible to put even mail on top after picking it up - slides right off to the floor. I am trying to figure out if I still want to keep full coverage. Wish drivers door opened more - knees would be happier."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Comfortable and reliable

By on Sunday, December 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "solid, comfortable, reliable into high mileage"

Cons: "Higher priced, door handles break."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Although this particular car had a weird electrical thing, and now is leaking 3 kinds of fluids, I still think its a reliable car. I haven't found the perfect repair shop, so didn't keep it up as well as my brother in law before me, and now its time to sell it to someone who will. Still I drove it 6 years, and its a very comfortable ride. He also drove it 7 years, and his wife had hers well over 175,000 miles."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

The greatest car anyone could have...

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks Great and Runs Great"

Cons: "Don't have any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Camry is a wonderful car...Still runs great and still is very good looking...a classy car...Have had 3 different people say they want it when I get ready to get a new one...but, my car is still very reliable and wonderful...I could have a new one any time I want to...but see no need for one..."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Camry near Honolulu. See local deals