Go

1997 Toyota Camry

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 1063 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 37 38 39 ... 43 | Next

Reliable after 188k miles

By on Sunday, March 22, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased my 1997 camry 4 cyl LE in Sept 1996 brand new when my first child was born. My daughter is turning 13 this year and she may well be learning to drive it, if it can hold out a few more years. The only repair/nonmaintainence I've had is a thermostat replacement, and $330 for both CV joint boots repaired. I still have the original rear drum brakes on it with a little life left in them and currently have 188k miles. I change the oil every 5k miles. It drives as well as the day I left the dealer lot. My mechanic says he has a couple late 90 camrys with over 300k he services-he said they are some of the best built Camrys. I still marvel how this car has last both body and mechanical wise. I live in MN and cars take a beating up here. The only complaint I have is the suspension does rattle when it gets below freezing and I guess this is a known design defect where the front struts mount."

All around great car

By on Thursday, March 12, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love my car, it's the best car I ever had. It is absolutely reliable and safe, it's never let me down. Even though it is a 2000 and is now 9 years old, it doesn't look outdated, everything wears really well. Gets great gas mileage. There is a lot of interior room so every passenger is comfortable, even tall people. Love it!"

Great car

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had this car for 10 years & 180,000 miles. I have taught two kids to drive manual transmission with it. It was what I expect form Toyota; a great, reliable car at a fair price that I don't worry 'when is she going to die?'"

By on Sunday, February 8, 2009

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, February 6, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, January 30, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

smooth

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"had this 98 for 11 years now. very pleased with it. at 41000 miles the transmission went 3 days before the powertrain warranty expired. i was very very upset thinking the worst. i was borderline ready for a strait jacket. but they replaced the trans and the car slowly became my friend again. it's a 2.2 liter and it's smooth and quick and gets excelant gas mileage. 21 in the city and 28 to 34 on the highway. i do my own maintanance and i have to say it's very easy compared to others. had to replace the starter at 70000 and even that was a breeze beings it's up on top.i don't put much miles on so i hope to have it another 11 years. only thing wrong with these cars is the price tag. a little expensive for how little ya get. felt like crying when a friend picked me up in a hyundai sonata that he bought for 5 grand less with the v6,sunroof and cd changer."

By on Monday, January 26, 2009

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Purchased my 99 camry new and just hit 60K. I am mainly pleased with my old buddy, but have had a few ongoing issues, squeaky steering and clutch, pinging in cold weather, a wierd "water" sound when the heat is "wide open", and about to get 3d set of tires. Overall that is not too much to complain about when this car has hauled loads of bricks and gardening materials and 3 large kids and stuff with no particular effort. I hate to consider changing up, as this is the most comfortable driver's seat I have been in in 15 years. I'm 6'1" and not slight, and this car has plenty of room for me."

no problems here

By on Saturday, January 24, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"good motor, good transmition,nice car, low maintenance, average milage per gallon is 26 with aggressive driver"

Good commuter car

By on Saturday, January 24, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I bought this car in Sept 08 with 158000 miles on it. I've had it for four months and now has 162000 miles on the odometer. The only things the car really needed at time of purchase, were new struts ($1000 for all 4) and a windshield (it was badly pitted). I did however, replace some other things, since I plan on keeping this car for a while. I got 4 new tires, and an alignment. Replaced the timing belt and water pump, but only for preventative maintenance. This car gets 27 MPG in mixed city/HWY driving, with a best of 32 MPG HWY. Things I don't like about the car: Driver's seat is not very comfortable. It's more a "chair" than a seat. Although it's power adjustable, it doesn't seem to help. (I'm an average-sized man at 5'11" and 195 pounds.) The driver's seat belt is slow to retract after use. (A minor issue, not safety related.) The factory CD player skips sometimes. Things I do like about it: Good MPG. Very smooth running drivetrain and, so far very reliable......like all Toyotas, I suppose. Good braking and handling for a 4-door sedan. I feel safe in it. Easy to use and responsive cruise control. Things I'm not so sure of: Boring looks (could be thought of as an "anti-theft" feature!) and since the weather isn't hot yet, I haven't really tested the air conditioner. This is a nice commuter car though, and it really gets the job done. Well done, Toyota!"

Camry means forever

By on Wednesday, January 21, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"178,000 miles and running.. great value and performance."

Love My Camry

By on Saturday, January 17, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"My 2001 Camry has over 100,000 miles and I've done nothing but have regular service maintenance. It's a 4 cyl. I drove a 6 cyl and couldn't tell the difference in acceleration. Wonderful gas mileage in city and on hwy. When gas went to $4 a gallon and everyone was trading to get better gas mileage.....I have been driving a 30+ mpg for over 7 years."

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Not Lucky

By on Monday, December 15, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have owned my Camry for 8 years, and in the last three I put in in over 3,000 dollars in repairs. I am told that the repairs I required (two major ones, ) don't normally happen until a Camry is over 100,000 miles, minehappen under 65,000."

best deal on best vehicle

By on Sunday, December 14, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great car has driven me around longer than any other car ive owned."

By on Friday, December 12, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

11 years of bliss

By on Friday, December 5, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought my 97 Camry in 2000. Never had a speck of trouble w/it,and got an average of 40 mpg the whole time. Drives ok in the snow,w studded snowtires. A terrific car. Not very comfortable on long long trips,but the money you save on gas gets a better hotel room. Just replaced it w/a brand new Corolla. Hope its as great a car as the Camry was/is. The Camry has 165+k miles on it,and still going strong.Needs a bit of tweaking, but will be running for a long time yet..Truly,the best car that Ive ever had...."

old reliable

By on Sunday, November 30, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought a '98 Camry brand new in Feb 1998. Still runs great 150k miles later. Regular maintenance: 2 timing belts @60k & @120k, 2 batteries, 2 brakes, original 60k Michelins then 80k Michelins, semi-synthetic oil every 6k. Starts every time. Fantastically reliable car. Avg 30 mpg. In 2001, was rear-ended by an Explorer and pushed into a pickup truck (sandwiched). 6k in repairs, incl straightening the rails (frame). No long-term damage to me or the car. Very safe, and ABS standard in '98."

Great Value

By on Friday, November 28, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Always dependable, good gas mileage, excellent overall vehicle."

Reliable vehicle to have

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought this car in 1999 and keep it until now, 18 Nov 2008. I have no major problem with this car. I change oil/oil filter every 5 months or 5000 miles and replaced timing belt and water pump at 60K miles. Put on it 100K miles and still running smoothly. The only thing is this car does not equip with cabin air filter so it is little uncomfortable during the summer here in Phoenix."

Good, Reliable Car

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"We purchased our 99 Camry new and my wife drove it for 7 years. When I retired 3 years ago and turned in my company car I purchased wife an 06 Honda Pilot and took the Camry for my own use. The only money I have ever spent on the car was normal maintenance, belt replacement, 2 batteries, and new tires. The AC is still ice cold and the auto transmission shifts like a new car. Also, the 35 mpg on the road is nice too. I find my wife using the Camry for trips to visit her family a couple of hours away while the Pilot sits in the garage. Overall, a great little car which I plan to keep for another 115,000 miles."

By on Saturday, November 15, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, November 6, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

You know what they say...

By on Wednesday, November 5, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Toyota's run forever! Mine is a 98 V6 and it has had to have hardly any work done to it since i got it and the engine still runs fantastic with 189000 miles!"

By on Wednesday, October 29, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 37 38 39 ... 43 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Camry near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement