Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1997 Toyota Camry

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 1007 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 41 | Next

Best car I've ever owned!

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Finally just bought a brand new 2015 Toyota Camry and still love the old one! My 1997 rides almost as good as the 2015!"

My Camray review

By on Friday, November 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and fuel efficient it's a great car"

Cons: "If you don't use synthetic watch out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my '99 Camray LE new and during the 100% coverage period the only thing that needed repair was 2 lines in the rear window defroster stopped working. They were polite and quick on the repair. In 2005 apprx 89000 miles we had moved from Portland to Boise ID when the timing chain broke but did not hurt the engine and only cost $150 to repair. Shortly after I read about the engine was known to be prone to sludge about then mine started putting out a little bit of smoke. After a little research I switched to a 50/50 synthetic oil and the smoking stopped. To this day it runs perfectly and smoothly. My next car will be another Toyota and I'd highly recommend it to everyone."

TOYOTA CAMRY

By on Friday, November 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "GREAT CAR"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"THIS HAS BEEN A VERY GOOD CAR. I HAVE KEPT IT IN GREAT SHAPE AND EVEN WITH 240,000 MILES,IT IS A GREAT RELIABLE CAR. EVEN WITH NEW PAINT AND ALL THE VALUE DOSENT SEEM TO BE MUCH THO"

Toyotas are fabouslessly reliable vehicles

By on Sunday, November 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Reliable Car"

Cons: "Engine perhaps needed more PEP like Honda Accord."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The Only negative aspect of Toyota vehicle is that it is somewhat underpowered lacking torque when one needs it on high MPH for overtaking."

Best purchase!!

By on Sunday, November 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ride and handles great."

Cons: "No Mp3"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car from my brother in law almost 4yrs ago. I have never had any issues out of it, other then the typical upkeep(Oil change, Tune up, Ect.) I would recommend this vehicle to anyone. I plan on always keeping my vehicles in the Toyota family, because they are absolutely amazing cars."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

car is very good car will last you a long time

By on Saturday, November 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,550

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Car is great very dependable has cup holders, just"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car runs perfect no dents , only needs tires and one hubcap , very clean ."

Keeps on going strong!

By on Monday, October 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 271,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Mom sold this car to me 3+ years ago. She took good care of it. Never had it given me any problems. Except of course the usual, battery, alternator. other than that, darn car has been super good to me! love it!!!!! thanks mom."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

VERY COMFORTABLE

By on Saturday, October 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "HANDLES VERY WELL"

Cons: "NO SUN ROOF :-("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love the Toyota Family. I have had different Toyotas and Lexus'. I highly recommend them."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Good, dependable, easy to drive and economical

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortqble dependable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car and bigger than expected on inside. Super mileage 40+ on highway and pretty good around town 22-24. Reliable, very comfortable and easy to maintain."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love Love Love this car!

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Super reliable, rock solid, great gas mileage"

Cons: "Expensive to buy but WORTH it!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car with 120,000 miles on it and have owned it for 4 years. I had no major repairs with this car. It has been a GREAT car and I can't seem to find any available at the price I paid for it 4 years ago. Apparently I got a GREAT deal. Every Toyota I have owned has been excellent - they are super solid cars. Even driving it through Michigan winters...this car has NO rust! I would highly recommend Toyota to anyone and I'm looking for my next one!"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Build Quality, Great Engine, Great MPG!

By on Wednesday, October 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "V6 Engine/Great Build/Low Cost Maintenance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car brand new in 1998. Had it for 16 years almost and have only needed to replace the radiator. Driven 240,000 miles on it so far and expecting 240,000 more! The V6 Engine still offers great acceleration and still gets around 20 MPG in the city! Definitely would buy a Toyota again!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

has had major repairs consistently

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,500

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
4/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "good gas mileage"

Cons: "leak under glove box during rain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"OUT OF WARRANTY REPAIRS: Two drive trains, 1 at 60K and 1 at 80K; 2 broken door handles; headliner dried up and fell; door gaskets leaked at car wash, windshield sprayers broke, catalytic converter failed, many other minor failures. Have records."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

ok

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good"

Great family Car.

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"All the comforts for a car when I bought this Camary, 18 years ago. The trunk is hard to carry loads in, especially boxes of any larger size."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great little car

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great MPG"

Cons: "None for me"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the most dependable car I have ever owned. I am 78 years old and have owned many cars. I have owned Cadillacs,Lincoln Towncars, Mercury Marquis, Ford,Chevrolet, Oldsmobile, VW, Toyota, Renault and Citroen just to name a few of the more than 120 cars I have owned since my 16th birthday. I replaced my 1994 Buick Park Avenue Ultra with this Camry. Very happy."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Super car!

By on Sunday, August 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability, ease of drive"

Cons: "humble looking exterior and interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been driving for about 50 yrs. Had many different cars, including Mercedes, BMW, Lincoln Mark VIII, etc. This is absolutely the best car I ever had."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

most reliable vehicle I ever owned

By on Saturday, August 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfort reliability"

Cons: "needs a little more acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had 11000 on the ODO when I got it in 1999. Has 187000 now. One repair at 183000 was the only repair. Had I followed scheduled maintenance[replace fuel filter and O2 sensor] there would have been no failures at all!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Rides smoothly

By on Thursday, August 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good for younger person"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Don't need a second car. Nice tan color."

Cant Imagine ever buying anything else!

By on Thursday, August 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great gas mileage, reliable, roomy, durable"

Cons: "no electric seats or lumbar support, 4 cylinders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This my first car, so I don't have anything else to compare it to. However, I know that I have put 65,000 miles on this car and I have barely put any money into it. Other than routine maintenance, the only thing it ever needed was to replace the catalytic converters. This car has been extremely reliable and runs smooth. Gas Mileage is great!! Never had any problems with this car. Based on the experience that my friends and family have had with other makes and models of cars, I would never buy anything but another Toyota Camry."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

good car,water pump the only replacement part .

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "economical car"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"bought new,rides and drives as good today as it did when new.The only thing is the drivers seat feels like it is breaking down.I hope the new ones are as good as this one is!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

you get out of auto in what you put into it

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Bought Lexus LS 400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I sold for top dollar $4500.00"

Cons: "they quit making the body style"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

better than 2007 camry

"Toyotas are great dependable you keep up on maintain it will last had 145000 miles new owner wanted dealer to inspect and they couldn't believe condition of the car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

better than 2007 camry

dependable

By on Saturday, August 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 224,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
6/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
6/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "cheaply made interior."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I bought this car used in 2002. Some small interior problems to begin, wind visor peg broke, two cup holders missing, very minor things. Car has been through a couple accidents, one where I was hit full speed in the side,- thankfully - Glory to God we were all safe! We've been ramed in the back- very hard but car still looked good. Probably in 2005 my fan belt broke in engine causing it to overhead and lock up. Sooo I purchased a used engine so I am not sure on how many miles my car has. Figured it would be cheaper to buy a 2 or 3 thousand dollar engine rather than a new car. Other than that I haven't had too many repairs, aside from problems from potholes. Car has been excellent in that wise. Now the problems- -back seat belt needed replaced - locked up - back window needed fixed -problems going up and down -front door window off alignment- probably thanks to my foolish days- but never has been fixed right -Back door window does not roll up all the way- its stuck -front seat belt wont click in- its broken, so I can't fasten my seat belt -DOOR HANDLES BREAK TO EASY!!! ( the one in my front replaced once already and broken again"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable, Comfortable - Best Car I've Had

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 273,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, great to drive"

Cons: "No side air bags"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2000 Camry has been the best car I've owned. Tons of cargo and passenger space. V6 engine has plenty of power when my Thule roof racks are loaded with kayaks. It has been a solid and reliable vehicle - and so comfortable to drive. I much prefer it to the new rental cars I've driven. Hope it lasts another 100,000 miles."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

excellent car

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 370,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fanastic vehicle for vaue comfort overall"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very good ownership experience"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

best car you will buy or look into buying

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, amazing speaker system"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a super reliable and consistent vehicle. Worth way more than 4,000. More like 8 or 9,000. please check measures before you downgrade or overlook such a superb automobile"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 41 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Camry near Honolulu. See local deals