Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1997 Toyota Camry

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 975 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 37 38 39 | Next

Great Value

By on Saturday, August 11, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I've owned a Camry LE since 1999 and haven't had one problem with it since I purchased it. Of course, I keep up with the recommended service, which is not unreasonable. It costs me less to service this vehicle than my other vehicle, a Ford Ranger, and the service at the local Toyota dealer is exceptional, unlike the Ford dealership. I will most likely replace this Camry with another one when the time comes."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good overall vlue

By on Saturday, August 11, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I will recommemd this reliable car to any one"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

disillusioned in Hawaii

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"Our second Camry, Bought this 1999 XLE new off lot, not at all impressed with Toyota customer service or legendary Toyota Quality Our 1993 Camry with 160,000 runs quieter and has had fewer failures that this XLE in its first 10,000. Gas mileage no where near the EPA marks, our XLE 4 cylinder gets less mileage than the EPA mark for the 6 cylinder Part of our experience was dealer induced, as it took national intervention to gain satisfaction in repairs. Customer satisfaction is as much of the experience as product, and with this XLE, Toyota failed in our minds. After our 2 experiences 1 excellent one failure, We would be hard pressed to try Toyota again"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"A WORK HORSE AND VERY RELIABLE...CAN STORE THINGS THAT ARE LONG DUE TO THE 2ND SEAT FOLD DOWN..NEVER LET US DOWN AND MOVED KIDS TO MANY COLLEGES 100'S MILES AWAY"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

"The engine siezed on this car making is valueless at 98,000 and less than 8 years old. This is not the first Camry about this age that I have heard the engine siezed on. The mechanic says Camry's made in this era have an "oil sludge problem"."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

plenty of problems

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"This vehicle was well taken care of. It was the 3.0 v6 automatic model. At 100,000 miles, two motor mounts needed to be replaced. Two weeks, later, motor mounts were getting worn again. This was due to a very expensive transmission issue. This car was fast, and reliable for the most part. As gas prices went up, it was easy to drop $60-70 per tank of gas"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Not good looking but very reliable

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased this car because of its well known reliability. My car was 5 years old when I purchased it and I've using it for almost a year. Till now I have never encountered any problems with engine, drive train, brakes or anything else. My car really makes 30 mpg on highway, and 28 mpg if I use the a/c all time. It is not a very beautiful looking car from outside but quite comfy inside. It has a weaker engine compared to new cars, so it accelerates slower during highway entry. If you like zigzagging in the highway or enjoy taking over abusively, this car is no good for you."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, August 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good car, few issues

By on Sunday, August 05, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"My uncle drove vehicle since new, 5spd manual. parked when bought mercedes. handed down to me. besides replacing oil pump seals (20$ in parts), clutch, and 4 struts and cv axles, car still gets 32mpg at 70mph with 180K on the clock. rides decent, good room, air works great. oil stays clean on 3K oil change intervals. this is the 4cyl 2.2L, change oil seals and t-belts and they run forever!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Camry - THE only car for me!

By on Friday, August 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned nothing but Camry since 1988 and plan on keeping it that way. Bought this 2000 used and will pass it on to my daughter as her first car. If you want room, mileage, good ride, and reliability....you want a Camry. Best cars made for the money. All I do is change the oil every 3000 miles and normal maintenance. Have 160,000 on a 1997 I bought new and it is only getting broken in. Engine is quieter than other brands new cars. Have sold most of my friends on Camry. Nothing but Toyota for me!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

97 Camry

By on Thursday, August 02, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Dependable, comfortable, roomy, love the big trunk, the fact that the back seats fold down and I love my moon roof!"

I love my Toyota

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this car in 2001 because I had a toyota tercel that I had for 15 years and thought that I would get another Toyota. That is basically all we have ever owned. I like the gas mileage they get and performance. One thing though, when you start having trouble, you have trouble after trouble. Then it is time to let it go (sell, trade or whatever). I have several friends who has the same car (99 Camry), They had the same problems I had. The canister above the gas tank and some sensor valve messed up, theirs did too. So this tells me that those items should have a recall on them. Too many people I know have had the same problems. Other than that I love Toyota."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

#1 car

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I cannot really give it a 5 stars since I bought it used with 52,000 miles in it. So far, I have not had any problems.... knock on wood."

99 Camry

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"What a great car. I have the V-6 and the power it has it great. Never had any problems with car. Drives and rides great!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, July 28, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 13 found this review helpful

good running vehicle

By on Friday, July 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"good running, great gas millage, handles great, comfortable seating front and back,"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Reliable car!

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've driven my Camry LE for 6 years now and with regular maintenance it hasn't given me any problems. The comfort is excellent , front and back. Rides smoothly and quietly. Gas mileage is a plus. Would definitely buy another Toyota!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"I just bought this car in june, has 56,000 miles on it. Runs like a dream.. quiet as can be. no problems whatsoever. Compared to previous car (97 grand prix) much smoother, way comfortable.. and air blows so well in this thing. Runs great in the concrete jungle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Camry

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Best ever,"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 37 38 39 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Camry near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details