Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1997 Toyota Camry

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 995 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next

Excellent vehicle

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "nothing negative to say"

Cons: "as above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Runs like new, a/c very cold, new tires. Only problem, rear left door doesn't lock automatically when started,that's why interior rated 7/10. Can be fixed, but haven't priced repair."

Excellent vehicle

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "nothing negative to say"

Cons: "as above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Runs like new, a/c very cold, new tires. Only problem, rear left door doesn't lock automatically when started,that's why interior rated 7/10. Can be fixed, but haven't priced repair."

Excellent vehicle

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "nothing negative to say"

Cons: "as above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Runs like new, a/c very cold, new tires. Only problem, rear left door doesn't lock automatically when started,that's why interior rated 7/10. Can be fixed, but haven't priced repair."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "nothing negative to say"

Cons: "as above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Runs like new, a/c very cold, new tires. Only problem, rear left door doesn't lock automatically when started,that's why interior rated 7/10. Can be fixed, but haven't priced repair."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

loved this car

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: gave to friend who needed car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, easy to drive, confortable,"

Cons: "had to replace window motor and door handle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Easiest to own car at a finaminal price!"

Great Vehicle for someone maitain the small stuff.

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, great gas milage."

Cons: "High mileage, small dings and dents."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"New transmission, new tires, detailed, inside and out. Power sunroof power steering. New head lights, new tail and break lights. New engine block. Front wheel drive very good in light to moderate snow."

Love this car !

By on Sunday, March 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and comfortable."

Cons: "Short turning radius on parking."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Can't believe it's value is only $4500 - runs and looks like new at 120,000. Love this car!!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Just won't die

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,600

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Keeps going, easy to handle, lots of visibility"

Cons: "Has needed repairs. Not great on gas (about 16mph)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've owned this car for 2 years now and It has it's ups and downs. Ups: keeps running for a long time. Good visibility all around, engine runs smoothly. Cons: it's fwd and low to the ground which makes getting stuck in snow easy. Is prone to having multiple small oil leaks. Has needed repairs on brakes, exhaust, and the engine twice (all in 2 years) not a strong engine and the stock radio only plays CDs and am/fm radio. All in all it's a real good beginners car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Most amazing car I've ever owned

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, smooth ride, handles great, good pick up"

Cons: "Cassette player only--its a 1997"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My late husband leased this car new and then bought it before we were married. He died at an early age from cancer and THANK GOD for this car because rough times have followed. It now has 160,000 miles on it and drives like a dream! This car has traveled long distances. I owned it in NYC, suburban NJ and now rural NJ...its always great. This past year I had to put some money into it--brakes, exhaust, wires, timing belt, spark plugs, a few hoses etc but that's what you expect at 160,000 miles. The pick-up is great. Its a smooth comfy ride with great handling. The power door locks have some quirks now and the cassette player recently died (hey its a 17 year old car!) but it drives like a dream. A friend of mine drove it recently and says it has better pick up and handles better than her 2011 car. They just don't make them like this anymore. Only reason I hope to get somethng a little newer for my teenage daughter is cars didn't come with side impact airbags or handsfree bluetooth stuff back in 1997. Otherwise, I think this is one of the smartest well priced used cars you can find. I know someone with a 1998 Camry (also the 4 cylander LE) and she loves hers too! I dream of getting a newer car but maybe I will just get big high tires (these models ride low), paint it pink and be crazy old Camry lady for years to come!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Meet My Baby

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is almost as old as me and is a trooper. I've driven lots of other cars, but only owned one, and that's for a reason. When people say camrys get 300,000 miles easily I believe them. It's been a wonderful 250,000 and the drive keeps getting better. My interior is starting to fall apart a bit, but it's nothing a little glue can't fix. I may be biased because I have an emotional attachment to this car, but Camrys are reliable, easy to drive, and extremely long-lasting from my experience. If you're looking for an all-around good car, you can't go wrong with this one."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very reliable

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Door handles break"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have owned car for 14 years. Been in for necessary repairs twice, once while under factory warranty. Would buy a Camry again but with a V6 engine next time. 170,000 and running strong!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

BEST car EVER made for Reliability Comfort & Style

By on Saturday, March 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "AC/heater work to ideal temp in minutes"

Cons: "Needs deeper & wider expandable cupholders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car when it had 67,000 miles from a dealer. We used it as a second vehicle to commute. I've owned it since Spring 2005. Just did a road trip to PA and back to CA last summer, 2013 and got 31MPG at times. We were thrilled with that. I have always changed the oil regularly at 3500 miles, and kept up with all other regular maintenance for tranny, belts and hoses. We did replace the struts last year and front suspension along with a new set of radial tires. The car ran beautifully. I have herniated disks in my lower back and I never had a problem sitting the entire trip. It's the most comfortable car I've ever owned. I'd buy another one in a heartbeat."

1997 Camry LE V6 -- 197,000 miles and counting

By on Monday, February 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and an excellent value for the money."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased my Camry LE V6 brand new in 1997 and I've racked up more than 197,000 miles since that time. The car is still going strong after 17 years and I fully expect to get another 50,000 miles out of it. The car has been super-dependable and it's only failed to start ONE time in the past 17 years! (as the result of a minor battery issue). Definitely got my values worth out of this car."

Best car on the market, no complaints.

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "beautiful car all ways around."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Their is nothing to say but it is the best car for its value."

Very efficient reliable car

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great vehicle to own and drive"

Cons: "No side air bags."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"-I am very happy with this car build quality and relaibility. -Compared to my 2007 camry this one is built better and feels sturdy. -Very comfortable to drive and enough power."

These Camrys are everywhere and for good reason

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, well built, car."

Cons: "Some in every lot. Not very cute styling."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

Best Camry in town!

"I bought this car used in 2006 on the recommendation of my girlfriends dad (I had been driving a VW bug that was always in the shop!) He owned Toyotas for years and swore they were the best reliable cars ever. Plus we needed an automatic she can drive too. In 7 years and 80 thou miles(close to 200thou overall) I have had no work done to this car other than regular maintenance. This was important to us as we wanted a reliable car and worry-free car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Camry in town!

Most dependable car in the world;

By on Monday, February 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,001

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, powerful, agile"

Cons: "Seat controls not user friendly, not good in snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"220K and still going strong.. No major issues other than engine seal replaced at 200K. Powerful, fun to drive.. comfortable on long trips.. drive it anywhere.... UNLESS there is snow on the ground... then she ain't going anywhere.."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellent

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, good gas mileage"

Cons: "Cant think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I've ever had by far. I've only had one problem other than regular wear and tear type maintenance. Had to have the EGR vacuum switching valve replaced when the Check engine light came on. Other than that, only had the brake pads replaced once and regular oil changes and tires are all i've had to do to it. Wayyy better than any vehicle i've had in the past. Only car i've had with such few problems. I plan on driving it a few more years to at least 200k."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

A Truly Great Car

By on Monday, January 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Could possibly last forever"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My parents drove my mother's 2001 Toyota Camry from Kentucky to California back in the summer of 2008 and left it for me as a gift (they flew back home to Kentucky). What a gift! The 2001 Toyota Camry has been the best car I've ever owned. When I received the car from my parents, it had about 70,000 miles on it. I've put over 80,000 more miles since 2008. The only repairs I've dealt with: I replaced the timing belt at around 130,000 miles (first time it ever needed replaced), and got some new tires put on it a couple years ago. I also had the motor on the driver's side door window replaced (the window went down, but not back up, so I had to get that fixed). What's amazing is the air conditioning still works at 150,000 miles and I live in Southern California and use the A/C about every day. I'm also 6'3 in height and there's plenty of leg room. The CD player still works great and has great sound. I'd recommend this car to anyone if you can find it. Great gas milage too, and I love the look of the vehicle."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

The best car I have ever owned

By on Monday, January 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best car I have ever owned. I will never own anything other than a Toyota Camry in the future. Extremely reliable and everything you could want in a car!!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

great car

By on Monday, January 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best car i ever had"

a wonder car to own.

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good"

Cons: "ok"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good car overall"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great solid car

By on Friday, January 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,618

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very likely"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Car I have ever owned

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice on hiway and in town"

Cons: "A bit difficult to get in and out of if tall."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My camry has absolutely been the most reliable car I have ever owned. The only service other than that required, was to replace a motor in one of the windows. Fuel efficieny is great. I would recommend this car to anyone!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

a good quality car for the money

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"we bought this car new the only repairs was a water pump and brake pads. it has 96000 miles on it and it still drives as good as a new car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Camry near Honolulu. See local deals