Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1997 Toyota Camry

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 1028 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 103 | Next

The greatest car anyone could have...

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks Great and Runs Great"

Cons: "Don't have any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Camry is a wonderful car...Still runs great and still is very good looking...a classy car...Have had 3 different people say they want it when I get ready to get a new one...but, my car is still very reliable and wonderful...I could have a new one any time I want to...but see no need for one..."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned!

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Finally just bought a brand new 2015 Toyota Camry and still love the old one! My 1997 rides almost as good as the 2015!"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

My Camray review

By on Friday, November 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and fuel efficient it's a great car"

Cons: "If you don't use synthetic watch out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my '99 Camray LE new and during the 100% coverage period the only thing that needed repair was 2 lines in the rear window defroster stopped working. They were polite and quick on the repair. In 2005 apprx 89000 miles we had moved from Portland to Boise ID when the timing chain broke but did not hurt the engine and only cost $150 to repair. Shortly after I read about the engine was known to be prone to sludge about then mine started putting out a little bit of smoke. After a little research I switched to a 50/50 synthetic oil and the smoking stopped. To this day it runs perfectly and smoothly. My next car will be another Toyota and I'd highly recommend it to everyone."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

TOYOTA CAMRY

By on Friday, November 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "GREAT CAR"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"THIS HAS BEEN A VERY GOOD CAR. I HAVE KEPT IT IN GREAT SHAPE AND EVEN WITH 240,000 MILES,IT IS A GREAT RELIABLE CAR. EVEN WITH NEW PAINT AND ALL THE VALUE DOSENT SEEM TO BE MUCH THO"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Toyotas are fabouslessly reliable vehicles

By on Sunday, November 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Reliable Car"

Cons: "Engine perhaps needed more PEP like Honda Accord."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The Only negative aspect of Toyota vehicle is that it is somewhat underpowered lacking torque when one needs it on high MPH for overtaking."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best purchase!!

By on Sunday, November 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ride and handles great."

Cons: "No Mp3"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car from my brother in law almost 4yrs ago. I have never had any issues out of it, other then the typical upkeep(Oil change, Tune up, Ect.) I would recommend this vehicle to anyone. I plan on always keeping my vehicles in the Toyota family, because they are absolutely amazing cars."

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

car is very good car will last you a long time

By on Saturday, November 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,550

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Car is great very dependable has cup holders, just"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car runs perfect no dents , only needs tires and one hubcap , very clean ."

Keeps on going strong!

By on Monday, October 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 271,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Mom sold this car to me 3+ years ago. She took good care of it. Never had it given me any problems. Except of course the usual, battery, alternator. other than that, darn car has been super good to me! love it!!!!! thanks mom."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

VERY COMFORTABLE

By on Saturday, October 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "HANDLES VERY WELL"

Cons: "NO SUN ROOF :-("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love the Toyota Family. I have had different Toyotas and Lexus'. I highly recommend them."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Good, dependable, easy to drive and economical

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortqble dependable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car and bigger than expected on inside. Super mileage 40+ on highway and pretty good around town 22-24. Reliable, very comfortable and easy to maintain."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 103 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Camry near Honolulu. See local deals