Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1997 Toyota Camry

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 1011 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 203 | Next

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Saturday, December 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new, and I am amazed at how well it has held up over the years. I have never had to add a quart of oil, EVER. At 111,000 miles I drove it across the country and had no problems with it. This is the first car I have ever owned that was still running past 100,000 miles. Congratulations to Toyota for a quality product."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very Impressed With Car. Especially Quiet Engine

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Dependable."

Cons: "When I turn fan on sounds like a shrill screech"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The seats are very comfortable which is important to me. I bought car at 43000. miles. Just got headlights plastic sanded and look like new. At first I thought something was wrong with them. I faithfully get oil changed every 3,000 miles. I wish it had a wiper on back window and wish the top of the dashboard was flatter shaped. Impossible to put even mail on top after picking it up - slides right off to the floor. I am trying to figure out if I still want to keep full coverage. Wish drivers door opened more - knees would be happier."

Comfortable and reliable

By on Sunday, December 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "solid, comfortable, reliable into high mileage"

Cons: "Higher priced, door handles break."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Although this particular car had a weird electrical thing, and now is leaking 3 kinds of fluids, I still think its a reliable car. I haven't found the perfect repair shop, so didn't keep it up as well as my brother in law before me, and now its time to sell it to someone who will. Still I drove it 6 years, and its a very comfortable ride. He also drove it 7 years, and his wife had hers well over 175,000 miles."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

The greatest car anyone could have...

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks Great and Runs Great"

Cons: "Don't have any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Camry is a wonderful car...Still runs great and still is very good looking...a classy car...Have had 3 different people say they want it when I get ready to get a new one...but, my car is still very reliable and wonderful...I could have a new one any time I want to...but see no need for one..."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned!

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Finally just bought a brand new 2015 Toyota Camry and still love the old one! My 1997 rides almost as good as the 2015!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 203 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Camry near Honolulu. See local deals