Go

1996 Toyota Camry

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 640 Ratings for the 1992 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 26 | Next

Wonderful Car

By on Friday, October 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Have had my car for 11.5 years and have 130,000 miles on it. It has been a wonderful car. My other friends have Audi's and BMWs that always seem to be in the shop. Not my little Camry. It keeps on going... I'm looking for a new car now and hate to give up the Camry. After reading the other reviews, I think I might just keep my Camry for my teen to drive. I just know my next car won't live up to my '96 Camry."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

unreal

By on Friday, September 28, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i bought my 93 camry in 2000 with 115,000 miles on it. i have 195,000 and it is awesome. i went to look at other vehicles but everybody told me to keep it and give it to my kid when he drives in a few years bc you can't find a better, more reliable vehicle. i told my boy, 'chicks dig camrys' so he's looking forward to driving it!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Toyota = Quality

By on Thursday, August 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought our 1993 Camry LE used in 1998 w/ 80k, and now car has 210k. Good ride, excellent space in the cabin, excellent mpg 24 city/33 hwy. Routine repairs like tuneups, brakes, etc., no extraordinary expenses. Sure it is not a Benz or Bimmer, but it runs forever, completely dependable and cheap to maintain. We have two newer sedans but this is the car we take on the road due to xcellent mpg and comfort!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Should have been better

By on Monday, August 13, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"Bought this 1994 in 2006--highly recommended. I love Toyotas but this engine died in about 9 months with 155,000 miles. $600 for new distributor so it would start. No compression in two cylinders. Also have a 2003 and I love it. Guess I got one of the few bad ones in the 1994."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Value,Economy,Comfort

By on Monday, July 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We bought our 96 Camry in 98. 150,000 miles, ice cold air, 35.2 mpg at 70 mph, outstanding comfort. The only repair was right front axle (cv boot came apart). She looks new and will be with us for years to come. Word to the wise change water pump when you change timing belt. If your mechanic is worth his salt he will do it for the price of the water pump. Would buy a new one but why?"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Built to run forever

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"With 183K miles on it, this car is more dependable than ever. Only normal maintenance needed for this model to run forever. Not a sports car but very well made, comfortable, depedable, stylish and great value. Only major work was changing CV axles twice and normal breaks changing. Cooling system works perfect and AC is super cold."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My family has owned this vehicle since it came to the dealers lot. I am the third driver of it. We all loved it. It is a 2.2L 4 cylinder, with a 5 speed manual. It will be a shame when we get rid of this car in the fall. since i cant have a car on campus for the first year, it will not be needed anymore. :("

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned - love it

By on Friday, June 7, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, handles well, Toyota dependability"

Cons: "out of production :("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this Camry wagon used with 76,000 on it. It's at 218,000 now and going strong. I love this car. If I ever buy another car, it will be a Toyota (Lexus, if I win the Lottery!). The only drawback has been that replacement parts have tended to be pricey - even aftermarket. But it handles so well, is so reliable, and gives me the space I need to haul horse-related stuff (150 lbs of feed, saddles, etc.) without having to go the SUV route, I have to overlook that. Have I mentioned that I love this car? As old as it is, I love the styling, the interior is very comfortable. It passes emissions first time, no problem. The only thing it's missing: new car smell (LOL) !!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Perfect second car.

By on Thursday, April 4, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I own this car. Purchased the car from a friend. Bought this car from a friend. His wife drove it only for shopping trips and lunches. The car had only 34500 miles on it. I put new tires and brakes so they just have about 11000 miles on them I just replaced the battery and starter. It's great transportation, smooth riding power car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The Best Camry EVER!!

By on Wednesday, May 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 234,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Pleasure to drive, good gas mileage, reliable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Family members keep telling me that it's time for a new car. BUT I can't part with my Camry! Still love the way it handles on the road - it's always been a joy to drive. After reading these online reviews, I realized my car has many more miles in it. So, I just bought a new set of tires today and away we go!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A great car!

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable to drive, excellent gas mileage."

Cons: "There are no cons to this car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new in 1996, and have had remarkedly few problems. I had the steering rack replaced at the 85000 mile mark with no prolems since. It's comfortable, easy to maintain, and most important to me, excellent value for money. I'm sure it has another 100,000 miles left. Everytime I think about selling it I take it for a spin and change my mind."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

car crash

By on Monday, February 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas milage great safety great ruuning cars"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"we walked away from a could have been deadly car crash with cuts bruises whipblash bumps bad headaches ringing in ear knees hurting and our bodys killing us but we are alive thats inpressive since we got hit with a guy doing at least 60 miles per hour from behind when we were stopped.Didn't even see it coming when we stoppped i looked in side veiw mirror from passenger side of car and he was a least 2 miles back and in maybe 5 to 10 seconds later changed our lives a car driven by a guy not paying attention hit us from behind we spin in circles cross the center line into oncoming traffic by gods grace didn't get hit by anyone coming the other direction. but the car suffered servere damage to the trunk and it was into the back seat where my daughter was sitting and the back window shattered.he hit us so hard it knocked the ashtray open and the keys flew out of the igination into the ashtray and knock the stirring column off and some trim off inside the car also broke both front seats but yet car was still running after the accident the fire police told my husband to shut it off cause of gas tank but it wasn't leaking even after get hitting that hard i been driving toyota's since the 80's and this is the second time i got rearendedand this was the far worse accident i was in and still lived to talk about it i loved my toyota camry before that i had a toyota corrolla station wagon and got rear ended in the 90's at 45 miles per hour didn't do hardly any damage. the overall safety of this car is very impressive and runs forever if u take care of the oil i had 500,000 on my corrolla and the motor was still good but the boby rusted 20 years later thats all i'll ever buy anymore is a toyota"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Fantastic car!

By on Tuesday, January 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 275,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very economical to drive"

Cons: "no CD player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the car,used,in 2001, and it had 70,000 miles on it. I drove it 450 miles most every weekend for 5 years to visit my elderly parents. In the last 6 years, I have spend only $700 on it, above the cost of regular oil changes, etc. I love this car!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Amazing car!

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Wanted a newer car.

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Durable, reliable, comfortable."

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I haven't a single gripe about this car. It never let me down, not a single time. I had a 1995 Camry V6 LE."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable and runs great

By on Friday, December 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 253,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great MPG, sturdy, reliable, runs great!"

Cons: "Vibrates at stoplights"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my first car, I have had it for about a year, but my father owned it before me since 2000. Even after 253000 miles, it still runs better than some newer cars. Though a few things have gone after its 18 years in use, there has never been anything huge that needed repair - just a new starter and small part in the power steering most recently, but never any of the lovely expensive repairs in the engine. It still gets a wonderful 28-30 MPG and mechanics are always impressed at how well the engine runs for its age and miles. The Maine weather can destroy cars - cold weather, salt on the roads, potholes - but this car takes it all in stride and has never let me down in bad conditions or experienced damage from bad roads. It is also the perfect size for most people - my 6'2" father fit in it comfortably, and so do I at only 5'6". It is big enough to feel safe and sturdy, but small enough to be manageable and easy to maneuver. I would recommend this car to anyone looking for a reliable, comfortable sedan. I full intend to keep this car "alive" for as long as I can because it can easily go for many miles more, and because I feel this car is the best value and quality, as well as the best fit for me. I think this car is better quality than MANY expensive, new cars and wouldn't trade this car for anything. LOVE IT!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent value in a car

By on Sunday, November 6, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very smooth to drive, comfortable"

Cons: "It gets dirty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this 1995 Toyota Camry in 2000, already five years old. It has been my main source of transportation now for 11 years. I am now on my second battery and second set of tires. My driver's side window did have to be repaired when it failed to go up or down. I have 120,000 miles on it. Over my husband's objections (jealousy?), I recommend Toyota to all my relatives and friends."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best used car I've owned!

By on Wednesday, November 2, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 238,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You can drive it like a rental, and wont ever give a bit of fuss. I bought it off a second owner 6 years ago at around 175000 for 2000 cash, the only problem EVER had is the window motor in all but drivers side has called it quits. i currently drive it from Fort Worth, Tx to North hollywood every other month. LONG DISTANCE through desert at 80-90 constant! as well as a daily driver. WORTH EVER CENT!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome vehicle!

By on Thursday, October 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything!"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"owned this vehicle for 4 years and it has 265,000 miles on it now with no engine or transmission work. Love it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Drives like an imported sportscar.

By on Sunday, October 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,305

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "For darting in and out of slower-moving traffic!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A rock hit the oil pan while driving, lost all oil and engine ran several thousand miles before locking up. I had an engine from a 1995 Camry (with a wrecked rear end and 80,000 miles on it, installed in her, as well as the entire cooling system from the upscale 1995 Camry. This car starts on the third revolution, if not the first. Totally outrageous take-off from dead still start with the option to push a button and get higher rpm shift and speed for quick getaway. TO DRIVE? WHAT A BEAUT, WHAT A HOOT !"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent Value/96 Camry V6 Le

By on Tuesday, November 16, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Door handles tend to break with age. Bought 1.5 years ago with 144000. just turned 160000. Runs strong. fairly quite, front rotors turned and warped within 12 months. 5th Toyota owned 2nd Camry. Would buy another but would much rather have a timing chain than belt, at 600-1000 bucks to replace belt, you can see why. !st V6 Camry and like it better than the 4 cylinder and worth it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, November 2, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"got this as my first car with 250,000 miles on it, over a year later it has 270,000+ and its still going. wouldn't ask for a different first car"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

very reliable

By on Sunday, September 5, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car in minneapolis, when I was a student. it had 115K already. Since then I drove it from MN to NY, where I went to grad school. Drove back and forth from NY to CA. Now, it has 190K. Still going great. Great car. Highly reliable."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

super ugly

By on Saturday, July 17, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 92 camry in 2004 and I can't remember how many miles it had on it then. But now it has 219,xxx. The A/C died right after I bought it and couldn't be fixed even after taking it to 2 different mechanics. That's my only real serious complaint- actually it's not, but it's hard to complain about an 18 year old car having issues. In '08 the battery, starter and alternator all died at the same time. I replaced them myself but it still cost me over $400 (not terrible). What is terrible is that two weeks ago all three things died again. Luckily the parts were under warranty so I replaced them again, this time for free. While replacing those parts I discovered a cracked radiator- sweet! Oh did I mention the paint has been peeling off for the past couple years. There's a hole in the exhaust that would be a $300+ repair, the E-brake got stuck on, which caused the brakes and rotors to need to be replaced. The car is beyond ugly. It's trying really hard to die on me. My goal was to get 225,000 mi. but I don't think it's going to happen. It gets great gas mileage. For a 4cyl automatic the acceleration is just ok. Overall it's pretty reliable car that I've had to do little maintenance on over the past six years. Almost all of these issues happened in the past 2 years. When I mean little maintenance I mean that I haven't changed the oil in 15,000 miles. I'm secretly trying to kill it but it keeps fighting. Just die you stupid old car! (Peering out the window at it as i write this)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good Car

By on Wednesday, March 31, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought this car brand new in 1996. Never has let me down. Friend has Ford SUV (2005) and has had his break down several times with fairly large problems. Never happens to my Camry. Have 3 Toyota's currently all great cars. Camry has lots of room. Went from Niagara falls to Toronto and back over 200km every day, and still is working Great. Would buy again without thinking!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

AWESOME CAMRY!

By on Wednesday, March 31, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Test drove on today ( 94' Black Camry LE) Has 184,000, on it, but runs beautifully! Thinking about purchasing, after my mechanic has it looked over, runs very smooth, and has quite a bit of pwr for a 4 cyl. GREAT JOB TOYOTA! :) Probally going to be my first car! :)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 26 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Camry near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement